We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Antigua.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buccaneer Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay in Antigua.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in February 2013. We had a top floor apartment (there are 16 apartments + 2 beachside cottages) overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens. The apartment consists of a kitchen / living room with balcony and air conditioning, a bedroom also with a/c and a nice bathroom with step in shower. TV is available but we didn't use it. There is free wifi which I used for e mail and internet. This occasionally wasn't available, but only for short periods of time. The apartment was very comfortable with plenty of equipment for food preparation, although we mainly eat out - mostly at the beach restaurant which is adjecent. The apartments are quiet with very little extraneous noise and we both slept very soundly every night. Most of the noise is from the local birdlife !

The clean beach is 50 metres away - beautiful soft golden sand and a clear, turquoise sea. There are free beach loungers and several beach bars and restaurants nearby. The Sandals resort is next door but this had little impact on us at all. The Buccaneer Beach Club is approximately 3 miles outside St. John's, the main town on the island. There is limited public transport so you will need to use taxis or hire a car. We did the latter - it costs ~ US$80 per day for a Suzuki Vitara jeep. The hotel will organise this for you. The roads are relatively poor with lots of ruts and potholes, but driving is very easy and we toured the whole island. People drive slowly and other drivers are generally very considerate. Driving is on the left, as in the UK and all cars are right hand drive. Just watch out for Americans on the wrong side of the road.

The hotel has mountain bikes which we used to visit St. James fort which is well worth a visit. I would say it is generally too hot for long cycle rides - even in the winter when it is still 30 degrees.

Lastly, the staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, from the gardener upwards, but this is also reflected across the island. Everyone is extremely welcoming ! They want you to have a good time on their beautiful island. So if you want to visit Antigua (and why wouldn't you ?) - and want a small hotel experience - I would thoroughly reccommend this hotel, both for a beach style holiday and as a centre for touring around. Just go there and see - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on first floor with nice outlook over pool and palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    58
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
178
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My first ever Tripadvisor review as i don't really do technology but the service my husband & I got from the lovely people at the Buccaneer Beach Club has to be recognised and shared.

Our welcome on arrival was just fantastic - friendly but also incredibly informative covering everything we needed to know about Buccaneer Bay and what was around.

If anything their web site undersells the quality of the rooms which were more spacious than we expected. The setting is lovely with a wonderful garden with helpful signs explaining about the many different types of Palm trees and birds.

So close to the fabulous beach that it made me smile when i read about all Sandals rooms being Ocean Front - Ocean view maybe but with binoculars ! We liked walking past Sandals etc but far preferred our own virtually desserted beach next door. Unlike Sandals WiFi is included at Buccaneer Beach Club

All of the staff - cleaners,front desk,the manager and security were just great - it really is "service with a smile" - but when they really shone was when we had a problem.

My husbands back gave out on him on the morning of our departure. Finding an emergency Physio in Antigua on a Saturday is no mean feat and we would have failed without the help of the young lady on reception & the manager. ( I am ashamed that i can not remember our helpers name but she knows who she is & will be used to us Europeans being unable to pronounce her name)

We had already been given our room until 2.00pm free of charge this was immediately extended until we had to leave for our flight.

We had a great time at Buccaneer Beach Club and thanks to their concern & prompt action it didnt end in disaster. The physio was great too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our first time in Antigua & we wanted somewhere to chill out with another couple with whom we had just finished an 19 day adventure in other parts of the Carribean . After so long together we wanted individual suites otherwise we would have opted for the fantastic absolute beach front cottages. Even then we almost wavered :)

We are extremely fortunate & travel extensively throughout the world and were immediately impressed by our welcome on arrival. The friendliest welcome ever but also the most helpful in terms of providing all the information that you could need.

The friendly receptionist was not a one off - taking their lead from the lovely Italian woman who I assumed is the owner - all the staff were friendly & extremely helpful. The guy at the front desk was very good at sorting out an excursion and our car hire.

One reviewer said it was 3 minutes from the beach - that must be if u walk backwards! The beach is lovely - the nearest restaurant is 15 paces from the back gate & the more casual Mexican style one is 5 mins tops.

The individual suites vary a little with some having a slightly bigger lounge but a smaller terrace - ours was room 8 with the other configuration & we liked the larger terrace.( where I am sitting right now writing this review using the great free wifi)

This is great example of how helpful tripadvisor can be to travellers & hoteliers so many thanks to all at The Buccaneer Beach Club & to all the previous reviewers who were responsible for helping us make the right choice for our Antigua chill out

Dickenson Bay is great but for me the best bit is that so far there is no development at all on one side of BBC - virtually your own private beach. Great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in November 2013. First of all the staff makes you feel so welcomed, they help you in every way possible, if you request a service you are dealt with promptly and with a smile. The rooms are cleaned and linens changed daily, if you left the room without washing your dishes they are taken care of. You have a medium sized fridge, microwave, television in bedroom and living room and AC. The beach is a three minute walk, with Sandals Hotel approx a 10 minute walk on the beach. There is a swimming pool with lounge chairs for those of us who want to relax without the sunshine. We highly recommend this Beach Club. We will certainly return there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff at the Buccaneer Beach Club really make the difference. All are friendly and offer to help if they see that you may be in need from the front desk staff, to the cleaning staff, to the maintenance staff, I mean ALL staff are friendly. The beach is just steps from every room, the condo is cleaned each day, towels are available at the front desk and there are free laundry facilities available. Each room (bedroom and living room) is separately cooled, the bed was comfortable, and the grounds well maintained. Additionally, perhaps because the staff is so friendly, everyone I encountered while staying here was friendly as well. The only "con" if you can call it that, is that there is not a restaurant on sight and because Sandals is so close, the restaurant choices near the hotel are limited, but good, and for a few nights there was a weird beeping sound from a neighboring property. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the beach in a quiet, relaxed setting.

Room Tip: Coconuts restaurant serves up a great jerk pork! Also, ask for the "orange drink", I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent 10 days at Buccaneer Beach in December and were not disappointed at all. We wanted a vacation that was not an all inclusive resorts with hundreds of guests and large dinning rooms and this one fit the bill on all counts.. The condos are clean and well kept, the grounds are very beautifully landscaped and the beach steps away from your room. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we felt very secure at all times. We tried a few local restaurants, two right on the beach and two others within walking distance of the hotel and the food choices wer very good.
The hotel will also arrange for a package of essentials (food) to be in your room for your arrival but we made our way to the 1st choice supermarket along the way from the airport and found everything we needed for our stay. There is also a small snack bar at the front office where you can pick up snacks & water and use the internet free of charge. The hotel also offers its guests use of their laundry facilities and this is included in your rental so this is another great feature we did not know about when we booked.
If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with a beautiful garden, a pool and a beautiful beach look no further.. Buccaneer Beach is the spot in Antigua.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the ground floor and a few steps away from the pool where we had our breakfasts on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dornvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the best choice if you are looking for something very familiar and discrete. Amazing location just on the beautiful bay in a gorgeous tropical garden. It is close to everything and its position allows you to explore the island easily. The owner is from Milan and she is very helpful and kind. Forget the awful big resort/american style like Sandals... This is just perfect and cheap! When in Antigua, don't miss the beach at "The Nest" ... Amazing and unforgottable colors! I would recommend and go again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
7.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Club

Property: Buccaneer Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay | P.O.Box 327, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneer Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Buccaneer Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing