We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darkwood Beach

Ranked #8 of 118 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent beach for snorkelling and beachcombing.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
300 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent our beach time here again this year, January 30, 2014. Our cab driver also suggested Coco beach just down the road but it was not nearly as nice. Turner's beach was too crowded too. He drove us back and we made camp for the day. The beach covers are by no means fancy or resort style, but they do keep the sun out and you stay dry during the brief rain showers. Although the surf was calm that day, the water was not as clear as we hoped. Food from the local restaurant was good quality and reasonably priced. One of our favorite beach ladies was there selling her wares. Not many shells and coral on the beach this day even north towards the bridge. Bathroom facilities, free, are fine. Great picture location for those "Corona Beer" commercials. Can't wait for another day there! Strongly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    77
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of my favourite beaches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I love when I drive down the road then suddenly I see the flash of turquoise and the white sand,its delightful. Parking is not a problem at all unless its a public holiday or there are lots of cruise ships in that day. The sea is soooooo clean and clear, it's absolutely perfect. Food and drink can be purchased at the Darkwood Beach Bar and Restaurant which has had a lick of paint recently and looks much nicer these days. They can also rent you a lounger and shade is available on the beach by way of static umbrellas. The bar also has changing facilities and bathrooms. This beach is gorgeous and needs to be visited and if you are into snorkelling then take your equipment. There may be a steep step when getting into the water but once you are in its like being enveloped in silk. The beach is very picturesque and very beautiful so take your camera to snap a photo so you have a memory of your trip. Its definitely one to visit and on my list of top ten in Antigua.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is one of the nicest beaches anywhere. The sand and water were beautiful and picturesque. It is not too big and not too small. We were there twice, both times it was uncrowded but not deserted. We were able to rent chairs for $5 each and there were public bathrooms. The little restaurant had delicious food and ice cold beer for $3

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited many beaches in December '13 and Darkwood was our favorite. Perfect turquoise water, soft sand and the bar restaurant was reasonable and tasty. We did see some local tour guides dropping off some groups there, but there's plenty of room and shade.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“O.M.G. Stunning is not a good enough start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent a stunning day at Darkwood Beach in Antigua. It was the beach recommended by our taxi driver. And he was right. It looks just like a typical tropical beach. There's a bar selling tasty food and drink, toilets and changing facilities. Sunbeds and shade are plentiful. White sand and blue/green water. A slightly steep sand step to the water was the only slight down side. No Halley Berry moment here. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsReillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darkwood Beach also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Darkwood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing