We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darkwood Beach

Ranked #8 of 118 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent beach for snorkelling and beachcombing.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful little beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We drop the kids (all (21+ years of age) off at the beach to enjoy some sun and sand while my wife and I drove over to Devil's Bridge for a few hours. When we returned we spent a little while at the beach with them. It was very clean (as all the beaches we attended were) and the locals were freindly and helpful when we asked questions. There were a couple of girls offering massages onnthe beach but we declined so I'm not certain of the cost. I would definitely go to Darkwood again if we returned to Antigua

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    77
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of our favourites: peaceful, quiet, beautiful sand and water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

After having explored Antigua in depth, we can confidently say that Darkwood Beach was one of our favourites.

Why?
1) It was very quiet
2) Not many people from cruise boats
3) Gorgeous water colour; amazing sand

As reviewers mentioned, the highway does run along the beach, but you really don't notice it. We miss this beach already!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“darkwood, hawksbill bay, galley bay, deep bay and jolly harbor beach were my favorites beaches!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

we visited a lot of beaches and those mentioned above were my favorites. some of them you can go by public bus others by car rental or taxi. i think it's really worth to see them.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Darkwood Beach,Antigua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely beach with white sand and turquoise sea !!! only a few people there so lovely and peaceful. We hired 2 sun beds and a parasol for $20 USA. They also have a bar where you can buy lovely food, I had tuna salad!! And beers etc. Sea was lovely and warm. Perfect way to spend a few hours doing very little !! Road runs alongside the beach behind trees and shrubs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This beach is very beautiful including soft white sand and warm ocean water. We were the only ones on this beach we visited which was very relaxing, no one asking you to buy souvenirs ect. The only downfall was the highway which ran along side the beach. Lots of butterfly's :)

Helpful?
1 Thank travelingcanucks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darkwood Beach also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Darkwood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing