We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-frills, value-for-money beach bar”
Review of Darkwood Beach

Ranked #4 of 85 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent beach for snorkelling and beachcombing.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Quite basic, but very shaded and about the only beach bar on the island where you can ask for a sandwich and get just that without fries, salad, coleslaw and stuff you didn't want. It's cheap.it's basic, it's on a beautiful beach (a bit steep at the water's edge) and it's a little gem.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bucket of beer"
in 6 reviews
"bar restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"local bar"
in 3 reviews
"taxi driver"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful white sand"
in 5 reviews
"cruise ships in port"
in 3 reviews
"small reef"
in 5 reviews
"calm waters"
in 5 reviews
"few hours"
in 8 reviews
"hired a car"
in 4 reviews
"rent chairs"
in 4 reviews
"low season"
in 3 reviews
"changing facilities"
in 3 reviews
"sandy bottom"
in 3 reviews
"galley bay"
in 3 reviews
"warm water"
in 3 reviews
"an umbrella"
in 4 reviews
Filter

285 - 289 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

I think a number of the reviews here are actually referring to Turners Beach (next beach to the south), which can be busier, and has far more properties on it.

Darkwood, whilst very changed from the days before the hurricanes of the mid-90s and very much a victim of sand mining, remains one of my absolute favourite local beaches. The beach bar/restaurant, run by Mrs George, is a little gem - it may look rustic, but the kitchen's immaculate and it's fantastic value for a quick lunch - don't forget to try some local juice as well as the usual bar offerings. Chairs and shade are available if you want them, and the water is clear and has very little swell in normal weather conditions. A lovely place to stop for a snack and a dip, or for a lazy day on a gorgeous beach.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank mizgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I returned to Darkwood after several years, with the vivid memory of gently lapping turquoise waters, against a huge expense of powdery white sand beach. Gorgeous, huge conch shells collected at my feet as I strolled the long, and generally uninhabited beach (save for the occasional stroller). A quant beach bar sat at the south end, where sailboats could be seen anchored nearby, so that their passengers could paddle in for lunch or libation. Finally, a boutique hotel, called the Blue Heron added further ambiance, and added to the exotic charm of this rendezvous.
However, I was shocked to see only a ghost's echo of the previous outdoor bar/restaurant, with only the trace outlines of rusting steel frames of the palapa style roof. A new nestaurant stood where the boutique hotel had been, but looked like it too had seen better days, was shabby, dilapitated, and in need of many fresh coats of paint.
The beach itself was severly eroded, so much so, that one could no longer walk comfortably on flat ground, but on a slant (very awkward). The turquoise colour of the water was still there, but the surf so much rougher that the white water wave action obscured the calm serenity which gentle motion once brought to the scene. A large new development at the north end of the beach marred the previous gentle and curved outline of the beach's direction, with harsh, linear obstructions. Gone were the swaying palms and sea grapes leaves. On top of it all, the beach was anything but serene: several cars parked between the road and the beach, further blighted the former munifence.

Date of experience: March 2012
2  Thank Melvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The beach itself was average, but incredibly overcrowded. As I arrived in my rented car, two busloads of people pulled up, and my hopes of finding a secluded paradise were duly smashed. The restaurant is interesting, if by interesting you mean greasy and unkempt. The food was average, surprisingly. Overall, I would take the time to branch away from your hotel bus tours, rent a car, and strike out on you own. Believe me, it is much, much more enjoyable.

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank Giles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Darkwood beach is a very great spot you have to go. The public bus drives direct to the beach. There are also two restaurants with drinks, food and toilets. Also you can rent sunloungers. The beach is always "very crowded" when we visited the beach there were about 20 people on a half mile of beach!!). The water is calm and good for swimming!

Date of experience: January 2012
2  Thank DomRep4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darkwood Beach also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Darkwood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing