We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Darkwood Beach
from $136.89
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
289
138
23
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
289
138
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant bar taxi driver few hours cruise ship soft sand rent chairs an umbrella galley bay jet ski island tour rum punch water sea sunbeds bucket playground shells
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 461 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I think a number of the reviews here are actually referring to Turners Beach (next beach to the south), which can be busier, and has far more properties on it.

Darkwood, whilst very changed from the days before the hurricanes of the mid-90s and very much a victim of sand mining, remains one of my absolute favourite local beaches. The beach bar/restaurant, run by Mrs George, is a little gem - it may look rustic, but the kitchen's immaculate and it's fantastic value for a quick lunch - don't forget to try some local juice as well as the usual bar offerings. Chairs and shade are available if you want them, and the water is clear and has very little swell in normal weather conditions. A lovely place to stop for a snack and a dip, or for a lazy day on a gorgeous beach.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank mizgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I returned to Darkwood after several years, with the vivid memory of gently lapping turquoise waters, against a huge expense of powdery white sand beach. Gorgeous, huge conch shells collected at my feet as I strolled the long, and generally uninhabited beach (save for the occasional stroller). A quant beach bar sat at the south end, where sailboats could be seen anchored nearby, so that their passengers could paddle in for lunch or libation. Finally, a boutique hotel, called the Blue Heron added further ambiance, and added to the exotic charm of this rendezvous.
However, I was shocked to see only a ghost's echo of the previous outdoor bar/restaurant, with only the trace outlines of rusting steel frames of the palapa style roof. A new nestaurant stood where the boutique hotel had been, but looked like it too had seen better days, was shabby, dilapitated, and in need of many fresh coats of paint.
The beach itself was severly eroded, so much so, that one could no longer walk comfortably on flat ground, but on a slant (very awkward). The turquoise colour of the water was still there, but the surf so much rougher that the white water wave action obscured the calm serenity which gentle motion once brought to the scene. A large new development at the north end of the beach marred the previous gentle and curved outline of the beach's direction, with harsh, linear obstructions. Gone were the swaying palms and sea grapes leaves. On top of it all, the beach was anything but serene: several cars parked between the road and the beach, further blighted the former munifence.

Date of experience: March 2012
3  Thank Melvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The beach itself was average, but incredibly overcrowded. As I arrived in my rented car, two busloads of people pulled up, and my hopes of finding a secluded paradise were duly smashed. The restaurant is interesting, if by interesting you mean greasy and unkempt. The food was average, surprisingly. Overall, I would take the time to branch away from your hotel bus tours, rent a car, and strike out on you own. Believe me, it is much, much more enjoyable.

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank Giles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Darkwood beach is a very great spot you have to go. The public bus drives direct to the beach. There are also two restaurants with drinks, food and toilets. Also you can rent sunloungers. The beach is always "very crowded" when we visited the beach there were about 20 people on a half mile of beach!!). The water is calm and good for swimming!

Date of experience: January 2012
2  Thank DomRep4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great beach 17 mils south of cruise ship port. Not crowded as the Northern beachs are in St. John's. There is a bar for drinks and food available. Beautiful waters, and I mean beautiful. Lots of white sand, and just a great place to relax if you want something different from the ship and poolside. Suggest getting a small group and hire a van to drive you down. Nice countryside views and small towns to see what local life is like on the way. Don't miss this beach, and don't tell the other 2000+ passengers on the ship. You want this beach all to yourself. Enjoy.

Date of experience: February 2012
5  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews