We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 The Valley B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have traveled around the world. Decided to stay there for my 50th Birthday. The staff treated me like I have never been treated before. Asking them where things are on the Island, they didn't know. ask them to get you a cab.They don't have a number. They asked me questions as if I lived there and knew my way around.Got a lot of I don't know!.Be very careful you will not get the rate you see advertised. I had standing water in the shower and mosquitoes in the room that bit me. I left after my second night stay.Ruin my Birthday I don't think I would ever return back to Anguilla because how I was treated a Lloyds Guest House. you are not a guest.

Room Tip: Don't stay there find some other you will be happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
31
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned from 10 days on Anguilla (and 3 in St. Maarten). Lloyd's is a centrally located GuestHouse (GH) that served our needs perfectly. While not on a beach, we knew this in advance and had a rental car anyways so we loved being right in the middle of a residential district at the top of Crocus Hill. The staff was amazing, especially Merline and Hosapha, preparing amazing breakfasts for us everyday and going above and beyond in every hospitable way possible. The owner, Vida Lloyd, even met us on our 9th day at the GH to express her thanks for choosing to stay with Lloyd's and we chatted for a few minutes about our visit to the island. I have been to MANY 'tropical' places - Thailand, Venezuela, Trinidad (where I worked on and off for 2 years), St Kitts, Antigua, St Maarten, Barbados, Hawaii, Mexico, Dominican Republic, St Lucia......while they all have their individual charms, Anguilla just stands alone above the rest of them. The perfect blend of amazing friendly generous welcoming people, stunning beaches, perfect weather, world-class food, and a quiet unassuming attitude throughout the island. Take a bow Anguilla - you are world class!....as is Lloyd's GuestHouse. Can't WAIT to go back!! Dean, Michelle, Kealan (6 yrs) and Ainsley (1 year).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontoOutnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just spend a night here, as it was much easier and cheaper to fly from Anguilla to St Kitts instead of St Maarten at that time. Didn't have a reservation but they had a nice room for me. Very friendly people, very clean and very good breakfast at affordable rates. Ok, it is not on the beach, but it's nice to be staying in a more typical town on Anguilla isn't it? Next time definately will consider this place again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

we spent 7 nights at Lloyd's at the end of february. The guest house is very cozy and extremely clean . Rooms are equipped with tv , fan and A/C.
Staff is very friendly,polite and helpfull.
You will need a car to explore the island, but don't worry , no matter about it, because Lloyd's will directly provide you with their own cars.
breakfast is good with fresh fruit, French toast, eggs, pancakes, tea , coffe and juices and is served every morning at a " social table", which allows you to meet the others guests of the B&B,and then exchanging with them opinions , experiences and advices .
prices are affordable and reasonable.
I' sure you will love Lloyd's guest house!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The very friendly staff at Lloyd's made our stay special and the breakfast was a treat every day. The rooms are clean and comfortable and provided us with a perfect and affordable base to travel to all parts of this beautiful island. The central location is ideal to get to the best beaches on the island as well as shopping and restaurants nearby. Much helpful information was exchanged every morning at the breakfast table and especially the advice and direction from the great staff was very much appreciated. The reservation for our holiday at Lloyd's was made easy by a very helpfull office staff making our stay at Lloyd's trouble free and very enjoyable. If we get the chance to get back to Anguilla we will definately stay at Lloyd's again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Georg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door Co, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've just returned from our 4th visit to Anguilla and 3rd stay at Lloyd's B&B and it truly holds a special place in our hearts. Lloyd's is centrally located on the hill above Crocus Bay in a more residential neighborhood, a short walk or drive down a steep hill to where you'll find a lovely beach and wonderful, casual restaurant (Da'Vida Bay Side Bar & Grill) for lunch with beach chairs & kayak rentals; as well as a nice, upscale restaurant (Da'Vida Restaurant) for a special dinner by the sea. There's a great little art gallery (Savannah Gallery) around the corner on Coronation Ave. to explore, as well as small grocery within walking distance. Lloyd's has small, but cozy and well-appointed rooms ---each with own en suite bathroom & different Caribbean influenced decor -- accessible with an old-school skeleton key.

Lloyd's is a real gem in that the staff and owners Vida & David truly strive to make your stay relaxing, enjoyable and offer true Anguillian hospitality in every way. Made to order breakfasts are nicely presented and delicious. Merline is always interested in what beach or adventures you may explore each day as she serves the morning meal, at your leisure whenever you arise. Breakfast here is a time to connect and meet other guests, both short-term and long-term travelers to Lloyd's. We have met many interesting people at the Lloyd's breakfast table, a mix of young & more-seasoned travelers, which makes the start to the day quite memorable, as well as helpful when sharing Anguilla info on what to see, do or more importantly, where to eat. Lloyd's also has a communal roof top deck that is a quiet, nice place to bring up a nightcap to see the Anguillan night sky. They can provide beach towels, travel cooler, phone for local dinner reservations, & arrange for car rental -- Merline and Hosepha are always so helpful.

Only draw-back: no, it's not ON the beach, but within a 3 min. walk down to Crocus Bay beach. Having a rental car will ensure you can explore the other fabulous beaches of Anguilla, a must-do.

The common-area breakfast tables and living room space are great places to sit & feel the trade winds while you read a book or chat with other travelers...and Lloyd's has WiFi now, so you can be plugged in to your smartphone or ipad if need be. You know you've found a special place when you leave and hug the staff with a "farewell" until next time. We can't help but feel we have a lovely, safe and calm home base in Anguilla when staying at Lloyd's & are glad to share the "Lloyd's secret" with others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascha17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice little B&B with small, but cozy rooms and good aircon. The staff is a bit stiff sometimes, but it may be the British heritage, it is okay. The Guest House is located in the middle of the island, you need a rental car. But you can get to all the beaches from here in a short time and a good grocery store is nearby. Breakfast is nice, you share it with all the other guests in the community room, which has a nice atmosphere. We would definitely come back. Anguilla is superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Valley
3.5 mi away
Sydans Apartments and Villas
Sydans Apartments and Villas
#3 of 4 in Island Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.1 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Vue
La Vue
#1 of 1 in South Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ferryboat Inn
The Ferryboat Inn
#1 of 2 in The Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 52 | Crocus Bay, The Valley, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > The Valley
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in The Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to LLoyd’s Bed and Breakfast where traditional charm and Caribbean elegance define a truly memorable vacation. We understand hospitality because we have been perfecting it for almost 50 years!Perched on Crocus Hill in the Lower Historic Valley, Lloyd’s B & B opens up to panoramic views of sun-drenched Anguilla while offering insights into vibrant village life. Venture out in the crisp coolness of morning to witness the day’s haul at Crocus Bay; or in the golden aura of the evening, stroll alongside wine-drenched placid waters that commemorate the closing act of another wonderful day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lloyd`s Guest House Hotel The Valley
Lloyd's Bed & Breakfast Anguilla/The Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing