We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casale Villarena - a perfect place to stay with your friends”
Review of Casale Villarena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Villarena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Once again I had an unforgettable stay at Casale Villarena, my 5th stay here. My friends asked me to organize a trip; we were going together on holiday for the first time in 25 years. The choice was obvious, Casale Villarena. The perfect place to “be together”. The week was also filled with activity from boat trips to Capri and Positano, hiking and shopping - all arranged by our lovely host - Gugielmo. The atmosphere at the hotel make is unique and the food is outstanding. Coming back in June, then with my family. Casale Villarena is the perfect place for relaxing, activities, sightseeing, eating and drinking good wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved it.

Authentic and charming.
Nice food.
Excellent service.
This all thanks to Guglielmo and his team.

Not to forget the panoramic view.

You can go with the boat to capri, with taxi or car to Positano, Amalfi, Ravello.
With the car or bus to Sorrento, from there to Napoli and Pompeij


Just book it and enjoy it

Belgium may 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANN8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Coming back to Casale Villarene after 7 years, and the place has been even better and more personally. Deliscius homemade food, first served at midnight after a long day by travelling all the way from Norway. The owner Guglielmo met us after breakfast in the first morning and asked us about our whises for this holiday. We got a boat trip to Capri, Proseco in the mountains, lunch by the beech,Tarantella show in Sorrento and cooking class.And when the weather changed, he changed the plans to the best for us. We will recommand this beautiful place whit this excellent and personaly service to booth people we know and people we don't know :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We're just back from a week at Casale Villarena. the owner Guglielmo and all of the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. We arrived after about 11 hours of travelling from Ireland, tired, stressed and with a narky 2 year old in tow. Guglielmo instantly had us seated on the terrace of the casale with a huge selection of local salads and two beers.

We stayed in Il Brigante. This was a comfortable, cool 2 bedroom apartment with a well supplied kitchen, a beautiful view of the sea from the balcony window and direct access to a shared terrace where we spent most evenings after out toddler had gone to bed, safe in the knowledge that she was only a few metres away from us at all times. There was a pool and also a really well equipped toddlers' play area, which kept us all entertained.

The absolute highlight of our stay, other than the very friendly staff, was the food. We are not usually the type of people who keep going back to the same place to eat night after night, but the food at Villarena was just so good and reasonably priced that it was hard to justify eating anywhere else. So we would do our culinary adventuring out and about during the day for lunch, but always finished up in Villarena at night for a feast of fresh, local fare. Each night we were told what was available that day, with a different array of food each night (not a set menu). We had various gorgeous antipasti, gnocchi, spaghetti alla vongole and one night we were treated to a whole salt-baked fish which was delicious. Guglielmo also has a really well stocked wine cellar and organises a wine school as well, so he really knows his stuff. Each meal was rounded off with a couple of glasses of homemade limonchello, made from the lemons growing in the grove which spreads across the gardens of Villarena.

When we weren't busy eating, we found Nerano to be a perfect base for exploring the Sorrentine and Amalfi coasts. We were equidistant between Sorrento and Positano, about 45 minutes to each. We took a day out and drove to Pompeii, which was fantastic.
Guglielmo organised a trip for us from Nerano direct to Capri, which was also a brilliant excursion. Marina del Cantone is a gorgeous little stone beach about a 20 minute walk from Villarena, again Guglielmo can organise a discount for sun loungers.
Nettuno Diving Centre are based in Marina del Cantone and I did my first underwater cave dive which is a must for any divers out there.

So, to sum up, if you love food and want to stay somewhere that isn't as hectic as Sorrento etc. then Casale Villarena is perfect for couples, single travellers and families alike.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmcg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had the best time in Villarena! The owner is great and makes you feel at home. Children are more then welcome and our daughter enjoyed the playground very much! Every evening we had a fantastic italian diner with dito wines :-). We visited the cosy beach of Nerano, Pompeii, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.... Beautiful! At Casale Villarena 'everything is possible' ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We returned from Casale Villarena feeling relaxed and happy that we'd found somewhere special.Casale Villarena is worthy of the praise it receives. Situated on the Sorrentine Peninsula it takes about 45 mins to drive to Sorrento, however ditch the stress and take the local bus, tickets from the trabbachi. It is an ideal base to explore the local area, Pompeii, Amalfi, Capri etc. The beach at Marine del Cantone is a 20 min wander through olive groves, the return journey is a fairly steep trek but we enjoyed it or catch the bus back. You can hire boats etc from here and Guglielmo can arrange this. Our children loved jumping into the water from the pier, there are bars, restaurants and ice cream too. Guglielmo and staff make you feel very welcome and the standard of food was superb. Dinner each night was delightful, salt crusted fish delivered to your table, fresh tuna,amazing pasta not to mention the range of antipasti dishes, they were a meal on their own. My favourite dish was the ravioli, mozzarella and baby zucchini served with a prawn and zucchini sauce. "Pizza night" didn't sound special, held in the beautiful cellar (of the ancient church above) we sat with fellow guests at a trestle table and were served the most fabulous selection of antipasti dishes, a selection of cured meats and several cheeses made by Casale Villarena. Homemade pizzas cooked in the pizza oven outside the cellar were served followed by desserts,lemoncello and a traditonal liqueur made from hazelnuts!!It was lovely to chat to fellow guests too. Guglielmo even managed to arrange a cake for my son's birthday. Oh and have to mention the tranquility of Nerano where we told the time by the gentle tolling of the ancient church bells.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Witchy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary at Casale Villarena. What makes this place truly special is the owner Guglielmo. Extremely service oriented - he really went out of his way to make this an unforgettable experience for my family. His place is full of charm, and the food was excellent! We will definitely visit his place again, and we have already recommended Casale Villarena to several of our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisselKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nerano
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Conca del Sogno
La Conca del Sogno
#1 of 1 in Nerano
224 reviews
25.1 mi away
Marina del Cantone Chalet
0.4 mi away
Olga's Residence Relais
Olga's Residence Relais
#19 of 42 in Massa Lubrense
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Villarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Villarena

Address: Via Amerigo Vespucci 13 | Massa Lubrense, 80061 Nerano, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Nerano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nerano
Price Range: $80 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casale Villarena 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Relais Villarena is an historical Villa located in Nerano, Casale Villarena is located in the more exclusive and more relaxing section of the Sorrento Coast that is rarely seen by visitors and guests. Although it is only a few kilometers from Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast, Nerano is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of neighboring tourist spots. Nerano is a small fishing village that provides privacy, tranquility, and exclusivity that surrounding towns simply cannot offer. This residence offers its guests a comfortable and independent apartments or rooms, available for daily or weekly rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casale Villarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing