We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanboidy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We attended a wedding here at the end of September. Not sure what to expect I was really impressed with the whole weekend. The rooms and food were excellent. However the best part was the engagement and service from Amanda and her team, it was outstanding. Amanda was great and ensured everyone was catered for, from ensuring my 20-25 year olds did not overdo it the night before the wedding to getting their shirts ready so I could have some quality time to get ready. Given the guests for the wedding had taken over for the weekend it was great. It was isolated, really personal and intimate. A brilliant time was had by all and I would not hestitate to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seglen1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and kind words.
We take enormous pride in what we do whilst hosting weddings and understand that a lot of planning, money and thought goes into such an important day, so we do our utmost to understand the needs of our guests and make sure the day is as stress free and enjoyable as possible.
It's quite a difficult job to get everything right and satisfy everyone's needs so we are delighted to hear that all went well, despite you being too generous with me ......as I'm definately a below average shirt organiser !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    26
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
103
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was lucky enough to be taken here for my birthday, it was family run, personal and the people were fantastic especially Amanda. The visit was exactly what was needed, out of the way, quiet, isolated and romantic. The food was fantastic 5 star food and a 5 star room(suite) my steak was cooked perfect, we were treated to the nook as this was specified by my partner and it was perfect, they had it candle lit and it was out of the way. The room was prepared perfectly, heated up for our arrival and a lush cinnamon yankee candle which made the room smell all cosy and christmasy. Jabajaks themselves had some interesting history that John Adams the first president in the whitehouse was actually the great grand child of originally a welsh Llanboidy family who emigrated to america. Just a note to the people criticizing the prices, this place is not a wetherspoons, if you want wetherspoons prices then go there. This place is unique and personal, its not commercialized or franchised and it has been created from real welsh history and passion from a family idea which clearly works because me and my partner can't wait to go back but it will be for another occasion. Thanks Jabajaks

Room Tip: Specify the grain store suite this was a gorgeous cosy room with plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much Nick for your comments and taking time out to write a review.

You have described Jabajak as we would love others to understand it......... in a very honest light...for which we are extremely grateful.

You also have a great girlfriend........she's a keeper.

Thank you both for your visit ....Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I took my partner to Jabajak last week for a romantic over night stay on his birthday and we were completely wowed! we arrived quite late and it was very dark wet and cold so we just wanted to hurry up and settle, we didnt use the car park they were happy for us to park up front. We walked into the bar to check in which was very fast and laid back and we were taken straight up to our room, we stayed in the "Grain store suite" above the bar. Our room had been warmed up ready for our arrival and as soon as we opened the door we were wowed!! A lovely smelling yankie candle lit on the table, the flickering of an electrical log fire, electrical heater warming the room, under floor heating and bedside lamps setting the mood the place was just lovely and inviting. We had an area with leather sofas, large flat screen tv with digibox and dvd player, coffee table and log fire. A very comfortable king size bed, plenty of wardrobe/draws and an area with kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk, sugar and bottled water. We didnt need for anything at all. the bathroom was stunning large walk in shower which was nice and powerful free standing roll top bath, toilet, sink and lovely bath salts, shower gel, plenty of towels and bath robes for both of us. Our meal was gorgeous! i had pre booked the "nook" which is a secluded dining area tucked away on the balcony above the banqueting suite in the eaves of the restaurant, we were taken up to be seated and just wowed again it was completely stunning so romantic with candles lighting the whole area and just the 2 of us with a waitress who didnt fuss us or our table to much (pet hate) the food was to die for!! "Local Pont Gar caws ( cheese ) bruschetta marinated in basil, baked & served with leaves and a gooseberry & elderflower chutney" was so yummy we brought some of the chutney home and cant wait to get the cheese to try it ourselves, the steak was delicious and cooked to perfection, the wine was lovely lots to choose from. Full cooked breakfast the next morning was served in the bistro which we loved decorated lovely! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay all the staff were very welcoming and down to earth the grounds are stunning and we had a little nose in the Banqueting Room before we left, i can just imagine how beautiful their weddings are. Only downside for us was the cost of everything we would defiantly visit often if it wasnt so expensive, we spent £100 on our meal which was one 3course meal and one 2course meal with one bottle of wine we fine dine often and find these prices to high, other than that we completely fell in love with the place and would love to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: the grain store suite was stunning and defo recommend the nook for romantic meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallissaadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review and all your complimentary comments, which the whole team were delighted to hear.

We do understand that meals can seem a bit expensive, but our policy, despite wholesale prices rising dramatically this year ( not all of which we've passed onto the customer ), is to continue to provide the best quality cuts of everything - including fillet steaks at 10oz....... which I know you mentioned you thoroughly enjoyed.

We have honestly considered reducing portion sizes and even offering different cuts of meat to reduce customer costs but are stuck in the mind set that our menu is still correct and want to continue with our current buying policy as Jabajak is, as you mentioned very much.....a special occasion and even if not that often we would be delighted to welcome you back to Jabajak, anytime.

Thank you so much for spending time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was there for a wedding of a friend. Gorgeous cermony and just as good food. However a few things got us. The length of time between the cermony and then setting up for the meal was 2 hours. In that time we had drinks at the bar, you lot are having a joke. 1 glass of wine and a draft lager £11.50. How do you think you can get away with charging london prices in Pembrokeshire ? I will not be returning nor will i be recommending without a warning about the costs. People are on budgets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Roxie1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor as it is very important for us to receive customer feedback, particularly regarding costs, as costs are quite challenging for all in the current economic climate.

I can only apologise for your 2 hour wait between the ceremony and dinner but I'm afraid these schedules are pre-agreed with the bridal party. However I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner.

Our bar prices are reviewed regularly and are based on standard margins for UK licensed premises. However our buying in price is affected by the quality of product and quantity purchased from the supplier and sometimes we even have to reduce our margin below the UK average to try a remain competitive to the public.

We are rurally located, without walk in custom or high footfall and our main product is restaurant with rooms - so we struggle to compete with public houses on competitive bulk purchasing for the bar ( pints at £3.50 ) as our volumes are quite low. We also, as a vineyard showcase notable wine makers, grape varietals and regions so at entry level our wine starts at £4.50 ( 175ml ) and £6.00 ( 250ml ). We regularly do price comparisons with business' similar to ourselves and believe our prices to be very competitive. But maybe it's time to look again !

I'm very disappointed that on balance you only view us as a 2 star, but hopefully my respond has gone someway to explaining the circumstances of the business, the event you attended and our rationale on costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a great venue.......but access from where you park to veune is muddy and wet and pitch black - great for your best clothes! Not a light to be found in the car park and we nearly fell head first over a low steel fence.

Drinks at the bar are seriously over priced....£19 for a pint of shandy, A pint of bitter and 2 glasses of wine! Your having a laugh!

Such a shame as sensible pricing would encourage a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pembs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Here at Jabajak, we take customer dissatisfaction very seriously indeed. So we were very sorry to hear that you had difficulty in the dark. Hopefully this will be a 'one off'. We do have floodlights in the large carpark, but they had malfunctioned in the stormy weather in the early hours of that morning, so we were encouraging drivers to drop off passengers next to the restaurant - as most tend to do anyway. Although we are happy for any guest to park next to the restaurant during quiet evenings, wedding guests can have a longer route due to the volume of cars. Being rural, we are also at the mercy of the British weather on occasion, so we can only ask guests to be aware of this (bring a coat, etc). However we can also assure guests there are no metal fences between the carpark and the restaurant - only into the vineyard. So only guests walking down into the vineyard (away from the restaurant) should encounter these. We do allow guests to go into the vineyard, but would not encourage doing so in the dark. This would indeed be muddy. We are sorry if you were confused, but we had no other reports of this from other guests.
With regard to our prices, your comments, although negative, do enable us to clarify the cost of drinks in Jabajak. Jabajak is a five star restaurant, offering top quality food and service without pretension, so we do try to cater for those on smaller budgets in some of the products we offer. With regard to beer, we understand that our prices compare favourably with many local establishments who don't have the same costs (vineyard and grounds, etc), and our draft beer, lager and cider (at £3.50) is cheaper than some pubs - and cheaper than a soft drink in most cinemas! Our house wine (£4.50/£6.00 for 175 and 250 ml) is excellent quality - as any decent house wine should be - rather than 'cheap and cheerful' from wine casks, hence it is a little more expensive than you might have expected. Most 'short break' guests, corporate clients and external customers do tend to come for the food and ambiance, which we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed. On balance, we do feel, that a two star review is inappropriate if it is based not on the food, but on the fact the the drinks were a pound or two more than you expected. We were pleased that our overwhelming feedback from the wedding party was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thank you so much Jabajaks. My Father in law recently celebrated a major milestone birthday (which unusually none of us could join them). As my husband & I have enjoyed quite a few intimate meals with you (child free which is another super treat) we arranged to treat my inlaws to DBB for the night with you.
They used the voucher & booked the garden suite (with its own parking which was a great surprise) last Tuesday. They were thrilled & couldn't compliment you all enough on the service, quality of the room and quality of the meals.
You really made my FIL's birthday really special. Thank you so much
We're now having to watch 4 in a bed and wish you all the luck.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has its own parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Simon_Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We thought it was a great idea for a gift, and we were delighted to play our part in giving your in-laws a lovely time...and we enjoyed their company too, so it was very easy! Regarding the Garden suite, thanks for recommending it. It is a really popular room, being down at vineyard level and having a parking space outside. With its little terrace, we think it's really like being on holiday abroad when it's sunny, and it's certainly one we'd recommend for guests who like extra space to chill out, and who enjoy being close to nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We started looking for wedding locations a long time ago just by doing an internet search. This was one of the many places that popped up in South Wales. We decided to check it out by eating there first. As soon as we walked in to the reception/bar it became apparent that this place was special. The service and welcome was very personal and warm. Then the food, simply put, STUNNING! Amanda, Lorraine and their team are absolutely amazing, they have a passion for food and wine that comes across in the food. You will not find a finer steak anywhere else.

This sealed the deal and we decided to see about getting married at Jabajak. The date was free so we booked up immediately. Their expertise and professionalism made the planning process a doddle with the hardest decision to make was what to include on the menu.

The big day arrived and neither my wife to be or myself had to worry about anything. Amanda and Lorraine liaised with the registrar, best man and bridesmaids to ensure everything ran like clockwork.

Guests commented on the wonderful location, the amazing service and the quality of the food. This was even more impressive as they were cooking for 52 people once including vegetarians, vegans and a couple of toddlers.

I can honestly say that we were looked after like royalty and would recommend Jabajak to anyone for a romantic meal or a big celebration, they can do it all.

Thank you for all your hard work.

Stu & Fi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabajak, Owner at Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Well, what can we say?...It's always been a massive pleasure welcoming you to Jabajak (especially on your wedding day), and we very much hope you won't be strangers. You certainly love and appreciate good food - as do we - and we were delighted that you enjoyed your special day so much. See you soon, we hope! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanboidy
9.7 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
13.5 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coedllys Country House B&B
4.6 mi away
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
14.3 mi away
Hammet House
Hammet House
#1 of 5 in Llechryd
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms

Property: Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Banc Y llain, Llanboidy SA34 0ED, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanboidy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanboidy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful rolling Welsh Countryside and within its own Vineyard, Jabajak offers a 5 star Restaurant with Rooms in a location central to all the best of West Wales. Family ownership ensures personal service in a warm environment. The five star a la carte restaurant menu offers a selection of local produce all freshly cooked and a wine list carefully selected from some of the best winemakers in the world. Jabajak is fully licensed, with a cosy lounge bar for drinks before and after dinner. Alternatively, enjoy a glass of wine outside and watch the sun set over west Wales or perhaps red kites going home to their nest. You'll find us just off the A40 at Whitland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jabajak Vineyard & Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Llanboidy
Jabajak Vineyard And Restaurant With Rooms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing