We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cross Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have never stayed there as its local to us but, as a pub the staff are very friendly and the food is A1 quality and we would never be afraid to recommend this place for eating to anyone. Absolutely fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear elaine j,
Thank you for the fantastic review!
We are very glad you enjoy yourself with us and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went to the Cross Oaks for lunch with my mother and both of us really had a lovely time. Both had the Islwyn chicken with fresh home made chips It was delicious. The chicken is so moist and the cheese, bacon and leek sauce so creamy and yummy. Then the most smooth and creamy cherry panacotta for afters this is the best I have ever tasted. And trust me I have tasted a lot over the years in a lot of very fine restaurants. Even my mother who has never tasted panacotta tried some of mine said it was gorgeous and would have it next time. The atmosphere is always very welcoming, warm and friendly as well are the owners and their staff. I would advise anyone who is looking for proper good home cooked food to give this pub a go. I think once you do you will keep coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear moblie,
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear you enjoy our panna cotta, we will make sure we have plenty in the fridge for your next visit!
See you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I visit this pub once a month, usually on Thursday night for the pub quiz.

Very nice food and friendly staff. Thursday night pub quiz is a lot of fun and all the regulars are friendly!

Rooms are very good value for money.

Homemade desserts are really very good too!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank craigsjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear craigsjames,
Thanks for the great review, your feedback is much appreciated!
We are glad you enjoy our homemade desserts and our weekly quiz!
We look forward to seeing you again next month and good luck with your next quiz challenge!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & All the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We try and attend the Cross Oak pub quiz when we can on a Thursday (Team Bazinga!) and must say, this is a lovely local pub. The quiz is always lots of fun, and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Dave the Landlord is always very welcoming.

The food is very nice - proper pub food! Large portions, very flavoursome and good choice! The desserts are stunning, especially the Pavlova and the homemade Rice Pudding ;)

Very recommending if you are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBrosnanJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear LauraBrosnanJames,
Thanks for the excellent review!
We are glad you enjoy the quiz night and our homemade desserts!
Your comments are highly valued and we will see you soon for some more quizzing and rice pudding!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & All the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, Gwent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here on a few occasions recently. The service is excellent and the food great quality. The manager is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. have recommended to friends, as a great place to eat, at a reasonable price. Will definately keep returning as long as the standard remains the same !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Landlord at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mark S,

many thanks for your comments, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here with our 2 small children. The room was modern, clean and very well appointed, the beds were comfy and there was a fantastic selection of biscuits which my kids loved lol.
But the thing that we were most impressed with was the attitude of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were so friendly. We have family living nearby so would definitely stay again next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powell1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Powell1507,
Thank you for leaving great feedback!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and glad the children enjoyed the biscuits!
We hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from a trip to wales for a family wedding.

Stayed 2 nights at this B&B and would like to say how great this was.

Very nice rooms, nice garden area excellent food and everybody was very friendly and helpful.

Can't praise the place and people enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbaceous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear herbaceous7,
Thanks for a great review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwood
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
5.5 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
7.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#6 of 6 in Blackwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Oak Inn

Property: The Cross Oak Inn
Address: Penmaen Road, Blackwood NP12 0DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub with a warm friendly atmosphere. A menu with a wide variety of meals both British and from around the world. Large beautiful gardens to relax in with our real ales and exquisite food. Along with bed and breakfasts at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Oak Inn Blackwood, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing