We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of The Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rock
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Turned up for a birthday celebration with 15 people dining.
Told to be there for certain time, seated at dining table and had to wait an hour for start of serving.
Meals were brought out in stages And without full accompaniments.
i.e. curry with rice and chips,the curry and rice arrived and the chips had to be requested twice before they arrived approx 10 mins later. Towards the end of the meals a lady came out and offered extra veg,when most people had almost finished.
Some meals were edible others were Luke warm.
Prices were mid range, but the service was appalling.
Although per-ordered it appeared that the staff could not cope with any more than two people at a time.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

awful everything is awful not very welcoming at all cod under cooked & i had the pork meal which i couldn't cut and it was swimming in cheese! and they call this a 4 star!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank henry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Food is tasty service great, but presentation leaves a lot to be desired. Had the award winning welsh sausages which were lovely, but the plate was swimming in gravy, much better if served in a gravy boat, where you can choose how much you put on. The cod in batter was very overcooked, and chicken was cut in huge chunks, not very appetising. Having said that, this is a lovely pub, if only they showed a little more finesse on presentation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarloWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We came around the corner and were met with a wonderful pub/hotel bedecked in flowers. We later learned that The Rock had won the prize for the best display in the area.
We entered and were welcomed by the Landlord in a wonderful local pub. The pub was spotless and we were even more amazed by the quality of the bedrooms.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Landlord and Landlady.
What a lovely spot and only 20 miles from Cardiff and the same distance from the Brecon Beacons National Park, and the Big Pit World Heritage Centre.
Thank you Paul and Jen for such wonderful hospitality.
My mother always told me that a place could be judged by th cleaniness of its toilets and if this is the case this must be a wonderful place.
Waiting to come again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byronthomas1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The owners are very attentive and the atmosphere was pleasant. I would stay there again on my next trip. Great food and the bar was full of locals that were very friendly.

Room Tip: There are only 5 or 6 rooms but they were very clean and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here as we had a wedding close by. We were made welcome by the hosts and had a pleasance stay. Rooms were newly redecorated/furnished and were of a decent standard. Overall a good, couple of night's stay.
Downsides, well the road outside can be noisy so it can be diffiuclt to sleep and you have to make your own breakfast - in itself a great idea and brill on our first morning there when we were first up, but when all the other rooms (5 or 6 maybe) have been in before you, then it was a bit of a mess and we found ourselves washing up a few things so that we had cutlery/crockery! Also, had to go downstairs to pub kitchen to ask for eggs.
Overall a decent stay, but so it should be for £75 per night for rooms above a pub.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeedonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Had a great quality meal here with my wife. The gammon was superb and the homemade chips were to die for. However, don't think about bringing kids here! I had such a good meal that i planned on bringing a party of 9 here to celebrate a birthday (2 children in the group; 10 & 11). I was firstly told that there was no kids menu and then and I quote, 'We are not interested in children.' A quote which beggars belief from someone working in the service industry! Needless to say we were more than happy to take our business elsewhere as it was very obviously not wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMcM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwood
2.4 mi away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#5 of 6 in Blackwood
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewers Lodge
Brewers Lodge
#3 of 6 in Blackwood
38 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gellihaf House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Maes Manor Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock

Address: Tredegar Road, Blackwood NP12 1DD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Paul and Jennifer Taylor extend a warm welcome to you here at The Rock. The former winners of the Enterprise Inns National Pub of the year competition have put their plans to emigrate down-under on hold. Having taken on the tenancy of The Rock in July, they have completely refurbished the entire hostelry throughout. We offer an elegant, well stocked bar, choice of real ales, interesting selection of wines and some old fashioned soft drinks which all catch the eye as you approach. The menu is comprehensive, predominantly fresh food based, catering for both those on the move lunchtimes, as well as those who prefer to linger. Our specials are innovative and changed regularly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock Blackwood, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing