We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place !!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmbran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cwmbran B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights.,,,,.,what a lovely place way up in the Mountains........
we felt very welcome here......Charmaine and Chris were the nicest people you could meet, nothing was a bother to them......place was spotless and the bedrooms beautiful and bright,
bedding was spotless everything looks brand new loved the furniture ..,.....and Charmaine makes a mean breakfast!!!! home made sausages to die for!!!!! you name it it's on your plate!!!! and we loved the hen (Margaret) lol who strutts about all over the place even jumped in our car for a nosey lol ....,.would definately stay here again.:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samjackben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a pleasure it was to find this B&B and meet the couple who own it. I did have a few troubles locating it at first, mainly due to finding it difficult to accept word for word the accurate directions I had received and giving in to the dreaded "it can't be up this way" feeling-my first time to this part of the country and my old car straining up the hills didn't help me much. However, worth every bit of effort when I got there. Lovely people, beautiful views, good food, clean and comfortable rooms, all soon made me feel at home. They just couldn't do enough to help me during my stay. Who should make a "bee-line" here-everyone in short, but especially those who like to be away from it all and wanting something different that is very good value for money. As if that's not enough reasons, add a friendly pub at the bottom of the access lane called "The Queen" which have good beers, do great food except Mondays and have an African Grey parrot. All in all a pleasure I intend to repeat. Roger Paling

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a superb view over lower Cwmbran
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerPaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you want to sample a piece of fairy tale Wales then this is your pick of picks!
The road twists and turns up the mountain to reveal a hidden away, beautiful farm house/cottage. With mountain walks all around, beautiful views and wildlife, it makes you fell like you are a part of the community there... Just without doing any of the hard graft!

Chamaine is there to Meet and greet you when you pull up with her warm smile and great personality. She makes the best breakfast and actually makes and prepares the sausages and bacon from stock on her own farm. If you are brave enough you can even find out their names! You don't get much more organic and natural then that!

The room we had was beautiful. Very clean, modern -but in taste with the farm house, good sized and cosie. The bed was addictive and was very difficult to leave in the mornings. Chamaine is very laid back and has no rules and conditions to taint a good experience. She has good knowledge of the area from various walks to the pubs down the road to towns and villages around South Wales to visit. She has many a good story to tell to an open ear and I urge you to push her for some stories. The mornings with Chamaine kicked off our day to a happy start with smiles and giggles from the off!

There are two great pubs close by which are friendly and welcoming. We went on a few walks around the area and even found a track that was used by the ancient pilgrims on route to St. David's! Some of the views were breath taking and we could even see over the water to England. My partner is Swiss and even she was impressed!

I can seriously recommend Gelligravog to all. There is something for everyone up here. If you want to experience a mountain retreat which isn't too far to get to then you are very lucky to have this available to you.

Thank you so much Chamaine, you gave us the perfect retreat that i could only have dreamed for. I hope you don't give up the farm house any time soon. See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hi dai. Hope you got back to Australia okay, thank you very much for your lovely review. Im glad that you both enjoyed the farm and hopefully will see you both again some time in the future.
P.s if you need any recipes for the sausages, you know where I am!!!

Best regards Charmaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were staying here for several nights while visiting family and friends in Cwmbran. We were explicitly looking for a B&B on the mountain and were not disappointed by the amazing location of Gelligravog and an excellent view.It felt like being far away from the town, but was only a short drive up the hill. The farmhouse and the lovely room decoration made us immediately feel like on holiday and the friendliness of Charmaine made it just perfect. Her big breakfast sorts you for the day and her homemade sausages even convinced me - a usually non sausage eater. The service was great and the room and bathroom very tidy and spacious.
We will definitely be back at Gelligravog Farmhouse when we visit Cwmbran!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascaleSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear PacaleSt, thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you here. Hope you got back to Switzerland safely and hope to see you again next year. All the best for the future.

Regards Charmaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked to attend a wedding nearby. Gelligravog is situated in a beautiful quiet setting with wonderful views. Charmaine was very welcoming and everything was perfect, really homely and comfortable. Excellent value, we highly recommend it and wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombola56, Owner at Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you both it was pleasure hope you enjoyed your walk and hope to see you agien .
Regards Charmaine .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Gelligravog Farmhouse over the Jubilee weekend. We are very well travelled and we usually stay at hotels but on this occasion we wanted to try something different. We looked at other Guest Houses in the area and I knew some of the others by sight and to be honest we weren't too impressed. This one looked by far the best and it was for us. My wife, daughter and myself stayed in the family suite and we found it perfect for our needs. It had a double and a twin room with a flat screen television in each. It also had an ensuite with a bath and over shower and a sitting area with chairs, a small fridge and more than enough tea/coffee with fresh milk. Everything was spot on. The breakfasts we had were the best we have ever had at any four or five star hotel in any country. Such a quiet and peaceful location with views over the valley. What made it even more special was our hosts Chris and Charmaine. From the time we arrived with such a warm welcome to the time we left they couldn't have been more friendly and hospitable. This made our stay even better. Thank you Chris and Charmaine for making it a special stay. We would give the Gelligravog the highest of recomemendations to anyone wanting to visit the area and we would like to give it more than five stars!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddlingcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombola56, Owner at Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much Leighton, Ina and Christina for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you again soon , all the best for the future , enjoy your travels abroad Christina .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Charmaine and Chris are so welcoming. Real personal service from the nicest couple you could hope to meet. The rooms are spacious, tidy and clean. Massive breakfast with homemade sausages. Overall great value. Location is out of town with great views and plenty of piece and quiet. Second time we have stayed and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombola56, Owner at Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you guys nice to see you all agein , thanks for your nice comments . Charmaine and Chris .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B

Property: Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B
Address: Gelli-Gravog Farm Belle Vue Lane | Upper Cwmbran, Cwmbran NP44 5AT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmbran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh longhouse circa 1610, set in 32 acres, part woodland, tranquil setting with superb views over Monmouthshire countryside. Hill walking is a must with numerous walks over Myndd Maen mountain and adjacent forestry. The Cistercian Way adjoins the farm, which once was an old Roman route with links to King Arthur's time. Cwmbran shopping and eating out nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gelligravog Farmhouse B & B Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing