We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to have it back”

The Castell Y Bwch Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Castell-y-Bwch is a traditional family run pub offering good bar food at reasonable prices. we also pride ourselves on our choice of real ales changed weekly. this pub is a little gem far from the jungle of supper pubs. log fires, beams and a lot more.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I and 4 year old daughter went today for lunch. Was quiet which is a shame as the place has an amazing old school pub feel. The smell of the real log fire is intoxicating and it is a pleasure to spend time there relaxing. Stunning views and great food to boot and a very nice and chatty (but not too chatty) waitress all combined meant that we booked a table for ten for Sunday dinner tomorrow. Well worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gabe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

so pleased you enjoyed your visit, your kind words make it all worth while Bev+BILLY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 595 of 601 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on holiday and had our little dog with us. The pub more then welcomed us. We ordered steaks and I was pleasently surprised. The service was good and in good time. The steaks were great, we thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SuePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review kind regards Bev+Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

For a long time the Castell Y Bwch had been run down and forgotten, Until this year when new people have taken over and have restored the Pub and given it a new lease of life, attractive traditional interior complete with stone flooring and log fires. The menu is good old pub fare and the bar is well kept. It looks like a lot of time and effort has be put into this place. Back in September a group of my friends met there for my birthday for drinks and all had a very lovely evening, I am a fan of traditional, looked after, well run proper pubs and the Castell Y Bwch in my opinion is exactly that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ScreamingKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your visit ,hope to see you again soon Bev+Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

As a local adult welsh tutor teaching in both Risca and Cwmbran, I chose the Castell for our end of term get together (as it was sort of Central -ish!) there were 15 of us, we spent the first hour or so in the bar drinking (and socialising in Welsh - the bar staff were really cooperative and willing to play along with letting them order in Welsh and practise). We then sat down to food which was great, and several of the dishes had been fussily altered for us (one didn't want this, one didn't want that)... Which was great. Everyone enjoyed they're meal and the place had a lovely atmosphere. We'll be going back for our Christmas bash for sure...I had one complaint from the class about the price of coke - but that was followed by 'you don't mind paying for it though in a nice place like this'. I dropped a score in value just for that!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TeachMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your custom glad a good day was had by all.oh and we have put the coke down 20p a pint just for you!! see you at christmas regards Bev+Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We live in the nearest town an have recently started eating out at the castle I used to go there years ago and as it has re opened under new ownership we thought we would try it out the food is great meals are big the place it self is clean and friendly has a great feel being just outside the town it's like going into a differant place log fire lit very cosy will defiantly be returning an recommending compared to other near by pubs :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Davesamwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, kind regards Bev+Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castell Y Bwch Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The Castell Y Bwch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing