We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allow 2 hrs for meal & have a biscuit before you leave home !”

The Castell Y Bwch Inn
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Castell-y-Bwch is a traditional family run pub offering good bar food at reasonable prices. we also pride ourselves on our choice of real ales changed weekly. this pub is a little gem far from the jungle of supper pubs. log fires, beams and a lot more.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well .... Ordered meal at 7.35pm main meal arrived at 9.15 pm !! & a meal short due to forgetful chef !! 1 of the starters was wrong too - good job pub wasn't too busy as may have been waiting longer & we weren't the only ones complaining poor waitress Angie was run ragged & taking the flack as the landlady had taken the night off & was sat in the beer garden enjoying the sun ! Pity the sun had gone in by the time we could enjoy the beer garden !! Will not be returning in a hurry I'm afraid !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank slwStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Business owner at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I am sorry to hear your visit to us was a bad experience , and i can not apologise enough for that. we now have a new chef who is doing really well. on the other hand i think your comment about me(The landlady) was a bit unfair and misleading , i have been recovering from an operation that left me on life support for several weeks in a coma. that is why i employ a bar manager to manage my business for me, you also mentioned a waitress called Angie to say she was run ragged, strange that as like you said the pub was not busy ,and there were four other waitresses and bar staff that evening, once again i am sorry your visit was not a good one you can obtain a full refund on all your meals for that evening. kind regards Castell-y-Bwch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 601 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a family meal, varied menu with a good choice of food and reasonable value prices, be prepared for a wait if there are more than one table ordering food, ordered basic meals, waited over 45mins, with no apology, when the blonde waitress cleared our table, she asked if our meals were ok, we replied,not really, our mash was cold and the gravy was cold, she replied well it wasn't worth waiting 45 mins for then was it, and she walked off, then started moaning about us to her colleague,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank joncot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley H, Manager at The Castell Y Bwch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

we are so sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. since your visit we have a new chef who is doing well, also please let us apologise for the attitude of the bar maid i no there is no excuse for behavior like that. we value all reviews good or bad, if you would like a full refund on your meals it can be arranged. please accept our sincere apologies Tel: 01633 876293 Bev+Billy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castell Y Bwch Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The Castell Y Bwch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing