We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congress theatre Cwmbran”
Review of Congress Theatre

Congress Theatre
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Cwmbran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a community based theatre, which is well used by all walks of the community...
We need to keep this theatre here in Cwmbran so,that many more people will use it and value it's amazing diversity of entertainments.
Thank you to the management who really strive to keep this little theatre going also lets not forget the volunteers, without which it would not be able to keep going.

1  Thank mambach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongressTheatre, Manager at Congress Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. i will pass your comments onto the rest of the team and volunteers, as feed back like this is always very incouraging.
kind regards Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We are lucky to have a theatre available to us in Cwmbran and although the theatre looks a little tired , the patrons are doing their best to attract a good selection of entertainers at reasonable prices. Currently working to obtain funds to renovate seating etc. I went to see two shows in September and during November I went to see Max Boyce. On each occasion it felt a little cold in the theatre but not a problem as I kept my coat on until the show got going and the room seemed to warm up. I expensive selection of drinks and snacks offered during the intervals and served quickly and efficiently enabling plenty of time to enjoy drink before the show restarts.

1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongressTheatre, Manager at Congress Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank you for comments and bearing with us at this time, the heating is one of the planned areas scheduled when we get all the funds for the improvements. i'm glad you had a good visit and we hope to see you here again soon.
kind regards Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is really a lovely little theatre which I use regularly. It's value for money and I don't have to travel too far and parking is free too.

1  Thank GeneGenie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongressTheatre, Manager at Congress Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank you for your comments, i am so glad you enjoy your visit was enjoyable, as we strive to get more higher profile names into the venue and at affordable prices for the people of Torfaen.
Many thanks Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a wonderful venue to experience a show. Only around 300 seats but they all have a great view because they are on a pretty steep slope. Convenient location in the middle of the shopping centre with ample free parking within easy walking distance.

1  Thank JohnDEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongressTheatre, Manager at Congress Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank you for your review, i'm glad you enjoyed your visit - what a great photo of the Auditorium. hopefully we will see you again soon. kind regards Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The theatre needs an update,its the same as when it was built. In the winter ,you always have to ask them to turn the air con off? Its OK nothing more

2  Thank lyndondavies12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongressTheatre, Manager at Congress Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we agree the Theatre is looking a little tired, we are in the process of applying for grants to improve the building including the seats. i will be speaking to the evening staff about the aircon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Congress Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing