We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only visited again due to hunger induced hysteria of child”
Review of Frankie and Bennys

Frankie and Bennys
Ranked #41 of 80 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“only visited again due to hunger induced hysteria of child”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

expensive for what it is, little vegetarian choice, non-helpful staff, making for mediocre meal out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank santasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    53
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Here”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A typical Frankies and Bennys where there was great atmosphere and great service. The food was fast and we really enjoyed what we had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beccaevans17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“I've only just joined”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've only started going to franki and bennys for a couple of months and the best is the early bird and the 3 course witch is £10:95 witch is great and you get full as a pig! Staff are friendly and it's lovely and warm in there, they always say hello when they are busy and they are so welcoming, can't wait to go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coreey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“steaks and chicken over cooked”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

steaks and chicken over cooked room for inprovment staff nice and friendly menu can be pricey but sometimes worth it for good food thats if its done correctly my wife had a steak that she wanted medium that was so dry and well over cooked one bite that was it the fries are always to over done personally if u have pizza or and burger u cant go wrong there

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darrious F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My son and I and my friend and her two sons ate here before bowling. We arrived at 1pm which we thought would give us plenty of time before bowling three doors up an hour later... The waitress was lovely but unfortunately they were so under staffed that we had to wait long periods of time before we could order, then I had to approach the waitress to collect the children's dessert order and again for the bill. We even had to ring the bowlplex and explain we had been held up and. Would therefore be late for our reservation. They desperately need to put more table waiting staff on. The staff they had were great just not enough of them! The food was fantastic and absolutely no complaints there.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie and Bennys also viewed

Cwmbran, Torfaen
Cwmbran, Torfaen
 
Cwmbran, Torfaen
 

Been to Frankie and Bennys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing