We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry night has changes”
Review of The John Fielding

The John Fielding
Ranked #13 of 81 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Curry night has changes”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We used to like the curry night but since they have discontinued the prawn option we no longer go there. Still good value for food and drink and friendly service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    51
    26
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a very good experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bought Rose wine. Got an unusual Cloudy and odd tasting Zinfandel. After bar staff very reluctantly taking it back, I get given a rose (not the rose I ordered but a house one) in a glass with 2 lots of lipstick on the edge. Took that back and ended up with a refund. One unhappy ex customer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donauworth, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food and ale”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Typical Wetherspoon's . Good service and friendly staff. Convenientt for a break during the shopping. Good offers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wooks_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good pub grub !”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tuesday is steak night here and for £6.99 you get a very flavoursome steak and a drink of your choice. Service is pretty good once you get served - the bar always seems busy. In fact, the whole place was busy so that must be testament to both the food and the drink. We did have a hiccup with our order; they had run out of Aberdeen Angus steaks. The manager, Marcus, came over and apologised and dealt with the situation very efficiently-we cheekily asked for more chips and he cheerfully obliged. The food was really tasty-lovely smokey flavour on my sirloin and the Shiraz was good. Contrary to a previous review, I do find it a bit dark inside and noticed the tables around the windows were all full, but, you get used to it.
So, I will definitely be going for steak night again-see you there ???

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPonthir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not family friendly, and rude staff at cwmbran.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

a nice evevning so decided to walk to wetherspoons in cwmbran, 3 mile walk to get there to be served with only one alchoholic drink, because we had our 7 year old son with us. staff there told us we are not allowed anymore alcohol because of the child. we was then told, that if we ordered a meal for every person on the table, which would of cost us around £40 to £50 for the party, we would be allowed to have more alcohol..... this apparently is thier policy...NEVER HEARD OF THIS PATHETIC EXCUSE IN ANY OTHER PUB OR RESTERAUNT I HAVE BEEN TOO. anything to get you to spend more of your money there. so if you have children and decide to stop off at wetherspoons after a day out you will only get served with one drink. no other pub in cwmbran does this, and are all family friendly... UNLIKE WETHERSPOONS. definatley not a family pub, more like spend your money in here or leave.... this seems more like thier policy....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Fielding also viewed

 

Been to The John Fielding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing