We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colonial club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

spent the day enjoying these facilities.The staff were very helpful and enjoyed my lunch very much. a big thank you to Sarah Higgs who leads by example and is very courteous .i would recommend this and am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

An excellent stay in a lovely friendly hotel. Extremely comfortable bed with good quality thread count linens, plenty of lovely hot water and fluffy towels. Excellent dining and first class breakfast with efficient pleasant staff. Loved the welcoming fires in the reception area with comfort seating and also in the lounge area. Would recommend definitely.

Room Tip: I booked at the last moment but was lucky as I'd requested a double bed and got an excellent roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have for the past 12 years been engaged as a Keyboard/Vocalist at the Parkway Hotel and the main reason why I have made the round trip of 135 miles to entertain at the Parkway is that simply it is a very top quality hotel, and I should know I have played in many hotels around the UK and abroad and also entertained on the QE2 for a couple of years. The Parkway Hotel has stood the test of time, and I may add has improved over the last 14 months, the decor, the staff, and management have all improved on the previous years high standard.
And yes!! I have stayed at the Parkway for a week-end with my wife and grand daughters as paying guests, who were visiting us from the UAE and the girls were also impressed with the hotel, and that is high praise because the have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the Middle East. So very well done The Parkway Hotel you are doing OK!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception for a ultra quiet slumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinTwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Firstly my wife and myself pulled into a car park with ample spaces,so no frustration here trying to park your car.The entrance into the hotel lobby was spacious and offered a free and easy relaxed feeling.The girls on the desk checking us in were professional effecient friendly and good fun! Our room was clean with comfortable beds.We made our way to the bar to watch the rugby and were made to feel welcome by a number of other hotel guests.In the evening the food in the restaurant was superb at a reasonable cost.Sunday morning breakfast was just as good.We then decided to use the swimming pool which was a very pleasant experience.With easy access to Monmouth West Wales and England this hotel was a superb pit stop for us.We will definately return to this hotel.Steve & Carol Cardiff

Room Tip: I should imagine all the rooms are good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Roman1962,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent break with us, we look forward to welcoming you back the Parkway very soon.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed as a birthday treat, hotel is lovely, big, warm and quiet at night. However the room had a whole list of silly niggles, like the kettle wouldn't switch off, only one bathrobe, faulty TV etc, which put together spoilt the trip a little.
Evening meals expensive and bar prices unbelievably high. £9.60 for two bottles of cider!
Breakfast poor, the chef can not do scrambled eggs. It was more like a very thick chopped omelette, considering that this is one of the specials it was poor. Service at breakfast also needs fixing, for three mornings we sat without our dirty dishes being cleared.
Shame because it's a nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

room was very clean appropriately heated and all facilities within the room worked
only ate breakfast there and it was, as previously, excellent in all respects
potentially quite pricey but if you search around can be an absolute steal to stay here and enjoy the leisure facilities too
if you have stayed here and not enjoyed it
1. mention it at the time as all the staff are very accommodating and will do their utmost to help
2.try staying somewhere else next time and you will probably appreciate how good your stay at the
Parkway actually was when you look back...very easy to recommend this hotel

Ian

Room Tip: if you are easily disturbed from your sleep ask for a room well away from reception as guests retu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Excellent facilities - room superb, nice Spa facilities too. Only thing that let them down was the restaurant. Evening meal average and expensive & breakfast poor. I would probably stay again if I were convinced the food would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing