We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Business trip”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here with my husband first for a leisure break before a business trip and it was so good that I now always try and book this hotel if it has availability. As a lone female traveller I find the hotel safe comfortable, warm and the staff are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Spa facilities are good especially after a long drive you can relax in the pool etc, and unwind before having a drink and meal in front of a real log fire or an formal meal in the restuarant. The food is great, my only complaint would be that breakfast, especially the bacon could be a little more crisp but that's a personal preference and I could ask for it to be cooked some more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the car park if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LGround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    273
    108
    42
    25
See reviews for
221
349
16
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked the hotel for a family Birthday party for our 78 members and there were no problems from start to finish. The hotel produced a wonderful buffet on 27th December, and they arranged seating for us in the lounge ,moving all the furniture as we required. The bar staff were friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. Our own family members provided the entertainment , singing and games and the hotel residents enjoyed it too. The hotel was decorated beautifully and it meant a lot to several branches of the family who had lost members during the year. The toilets were beautiful, and the staff happy to bring tea to anyone who required it. They cut up my Christmas cake for me and distributed it and nothing was too much trouble for them. Everyone enjoyed themselves and expressed their gratitude for the choice of location. Indeed the plus points were a short distance to the car park, the hotel lounge is all on a level so elderly and disabled had really easy access. The lounge had a roaring log fire which was lovely for everyone. A room was set aside for one of the guests, a lady with dementia, who could have had problems, but did not attend in the end. Attention was paid to all sorts of requests and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for its food (we have eaten in the restaurant as well as the popular low cost lunches in the lounge)as well as the surroundings. The cheerfulness of the staff is a hallmark of this cosy and friendly hotel

Room Tip: We did not actually stay at the hotel as we are fairly local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Me my partner and our daughter Abigail stay at this hotel at least twice a year, we always find the staff very friendly and helpful. When we stay we always use the pool at least twice a day and it is very clean and tidy even though the childs bubble thing didn't work when we were there last but hey u cant have everything lol (Abigail said can u plz bring back banana and jam sarnies lol ) c u in march x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked accommodation, a restaurant table and informed the staff that a number of surprises would need there help. Everything went to plan and their early check-in efforts helped maintain the surprise.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various rooms at different times and no room was worse than the other. Very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at the above hotel over Friday night, Saturday for a business meeting. The hotel was well laid out, the meeting started with lunch which was well presented, and there was plenty of it for the number of people.
The bedrooms were well presented, and the one that I had the theme there was almost Edwardian, it had large prints on the curtains, and a cushion, the bed had a blanket on the bottom of it rather than a bland colour blanket which was a nice touch.
There was a iron, and ironing board in the wardrobe. There was a the usual drinks tea, coffee making, and an additional nice touch there was a Cafeteria in with the hot drinks, along with a small packet of ground coffee, so you could make your self a cup of proper coffee, this is the first hotel that I have come across this. The hotel certainly made you realise that you were in Wales, the mugs had Welsh emblems on the front of them.

Dinner on the Friday night was well presented, and due to it being a business meeting not sure what the price was but it would have been well worth it. Breakfast was great, and there was plenty of it.

If you wanted to go swimming the pool was open all the time along with the Jacuzzi, which are added advantages. Only down side I see to the hotel is where it is placed, it would be great if all the facilities were actually in Cwmbran and not on the outskirts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SotonDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I have to say that the christmas party we attended on the 14th dec was fantastic. The music was excellent and reminded me of all the old songs I used to love !!! Everyone in our group joined in with either singing or dancing and we didnt want to leave. The food was superb too and there was plenty of it!! Well done to all the staff who organised and joined in with it !!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cookie7298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
364 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing