We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
$123
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel(Newport)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveler rating
704
318
123
47
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
318
123
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakesafternoon tealog fireleisure facilitiesbar areawedding partylovely hotelevening mealbirthday treattom joneswaiting staffmember of stafffunction roomfood was lovelystaff were very helpfulduty managerovernight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Think very big carpets indeed, and uniformed but polite receptionists, a Sunday carvery and corporate service (I mean that the staff are very young and inexperienced, and have all had a brief induction which did the job, but only just). The hotel is modern and has almost no character, of course, as it is what it is. You could do a lot worse for the money, and we had no complaints

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
1
Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I did not stay the night on this occasion, just visited for lunch as it is very local to me. A friend and myself ordered the soup of the day and it was lovely- the Parkway's soups are always delicious ,but lunchtime is the time to have them as I find them too filling as a starter to an evening meal. Service was good, tho we did have to wait a long time for our coffees. As ever, there was a vibrant atmosphere. This hotel is a firm favourite with locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcla_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay taking in the rugby league World Cup. We have stayed in Best Western properties before and can honestly say this is the nicest one yet. Our room was clean and nicely furnished, with all the usual amenities you would expect but with little extras, for example a cafetiere as well as the expected kettle, and decorated mugs and glasses instead of the usual plain mass produced ones. These little touches made all the difference as they reflected the character of the place. The public areas were warm and cosy and and again, clean and well maintained. Yes the decor was a little old fashioned but had much more character than some bland, featureless hotels we have stayed in. We ate in the hotel both nights, once in the restaurant where we had the carvery, which was faultless, and the selection of vegetables was excellent. We ate in the lounge bar on the second night which was also very enjoyable. Breakfast was very good quality with a good selection of cereals, fruit, continental and cooked options, including 3 choices of eggs - scrambled, fried or poached - as standard. All the staff in every department were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful, from checking in at reception, to the chambermaids, to the bar staff and the restaurant staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel - couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipflopsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A large impressive hotel in a beautiful setting, enormous reception with open log fire an leather couches, friendly efficient check in, spacious room ( a bit 1980 but clean and well maintained) plus a beautiful pool and spa.Breakfast was lovely with all the usual items and at a good price too.Well done Best western Parkway a lovely surprise! My only grumble was it does smell a bit , well, stale or musty ...but I am fussy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheesenpickle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews