We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly, but corporate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Think very big carpets indeed, and uniformed but polite receptionists, a Sunday carvery and corporate service (I mean that the staff are very young and inexperienced, and have all had a brief induction which did the job, but only just). The hotel is modern and has almost no character, of course, as it is what it is. You could do a lot worse for the money, and we had no complaints

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,189 reviews

A Best Western traveler
1
Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I did not stay the night on this occasion, just visited for lunch as it is very local to me. A friend and myself ordered the soup of the day and it was lovely- the Parkway's soups are always delicious ,but lunchtime is the time to have them as I find them too filling as a starter to an evening meal. Service was good, tho we did have to wait a long time for our coffees. As ever, there was a vibrant atmosphere. This hotel is a firm favourite with locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcla_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay taking in the rugby league World Cup. We have stayed in Best Western properties before and can honestly say this is the nicest one yet. Our room was clean and nicely furnished, with all the usual amenities you would expect but with little extras, for example a cafetiere as well as the expected kettle, and decorated mugs and glasses instead of the usual plain mass produced ones. These little touches made all the difference as they reflected the character of the place. The public areas were warm and cosy and and again, clean and well maintained. Yes the decor was a little old fashioned but had much more character than some bland, featureless hotels we have stayed in. We ate in the hotel both nights, once in the restaurant where we had the carvery, which was faultless, and the selection of vegetables was excellent. We ate in the lounge bar on the second night which was also very enjoyable. Breakfast was very good quality with a good selection of cereals, fruit, continental and cooked options, including 3 choices of eggs - scrambled, fried or poached - as standard. All the staff in every department were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful, from checking in at reception, to the chambermaids, to the bar staff and the restaurant staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel - couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipflopsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A large impressive hotel in a beautiful setting, enormous reception with open log fire an leather couches, friendly efficient check in, spacious room ( a bit 1980 but clean and well maintained) plus a beautiful pool and spa.Breakfast was lovely with all the usual items and at a good price too.Well done Best western Parkway a lovely surprise! My only grumble was it does smell a bit , well, stale or musty ...but I am fussy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheesenpickle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Using the menu from the bar meals an ice cream sundae was ordered. What a difference in a dish, we now received a great ice cream sundae with fruit and sauces, an enormous difference in the product, so it was well worth using trip advisor, as this Hotel has taken notice.
So with the great service, and the improvement in the product, we have no complaints only credit where credit is due.

Sumptuous breakfast snacks, it doesn't stop at bacon rolls either, there is a great and wide choice.

Delicious afternoon tea, the Welsh cake and scones were marvellous.

Quality at Ravellos carvery, you don't need the quantity that is thrown to you at Toby, just the quality of the carveryt at the Parkway is satisfying enough. If it is not what you fancy, they can be most accomodating, the table next to us just wanted some strawberries and ice cream for dessert, they were served a glorious strawberry sundae.

This can all be topped off with a coffee to finish in the lounge.

FANTASTIC marvellous value for money and time well spent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojord1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during the last Abergavenny food festival. It is less than 20 minutes away so nicely located for that. The service is not only good but friendly. Everybody from the reception to the restaurant and cleaning staff greater us with a warm smile. We ate at the restaurant on the second night. The food was good, but the prices were a bit steep. The room was very hot but we figured out how to turn the radiator off at the wall and it was better after that. We did not enjoy the beds. They were rock hard and we did not sleep very well at all. Unusual for this chain so we mentioned it on the way out. Apparently they are all brand new, so if you are anything like us, you might want to wait a while for them to soften up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.6 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
479 reviews
12.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $109 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing