We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but pretty good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Easy to find if you take the exit 25 from the motorway and keep following signs for Cwmbran. At a roundabout you'll see a small brown sign for the hotel, and a dirty great big one for the Llantarnam Park.

An hotel out in the country usually means no alternative restaurants in easy walking distance, and wedding groups on the weekends. At least when I was there the wedding parties were fairly unobjectionable.
Late 20th century building, but rather less depressingly characterless than most from that time. It has presumably had refurbs done regularly, as I noticed no worn carpets, scuff marks on walls etc. that are a too frequent sight in other places after a couple of decades.
A surprise was the lack of a lift. There is only one floor up, and one down to the spa, but surprising nonetheless. Assistance is available if asked for, maybe in a 4 star hotel porterage should be offered as a matter of course. If stairs pose a problem make sure you book a room on the ground floor.

Food? hmmm OK, not great. I couldn't criticise breakfast too much. A buffet means the usual problems of food kept warm, but the menu states that you may ask for your meal to be freshly prepared thus avoiding the usual rubber eggs. Meals in the bar tasted fine, but were disappointingly meagre. One expects traditional Welsh faggots and mash to be seriously ribsticking. They left me still hungry (admittedly I am a bit of a fat B.) A sandwich another day had a smear of filling.

Best bits? The staff, congratulations,- polite and helpful. Plus the value was good, a very reasonable price for a four star hotel.
William.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingwood-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

From the moment I arrived I experienced the Welsh hospitality and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especially Nicola on Reception. This was a first Best Western experience and if all the hotels are like this it won't be the last. Great food, wonderful swimming pool and sun loungers that allow for plenty of relaxation. The weather was the icing on the cake on Thursday too.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the ground floor reception area so it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights so that we could catch up with family in friends in South Wales. The room was very comfortable and the hotel had all the amenities we could have needed on our short break. And the breakfasts were fabulous.

The pool and spa make this hotel a great place to come back to after a day out and about to just relax.

Staff were friendly and helpful and there was a good atmosphere around the whole place.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Late booking for the weekend, used Best Western Plus having stayed in one of their hotels in Utah. Surprised at the standard including the evening entertainment and the selection of a roast on Saturday EVENING.

Shame about the false fire alarm at 01.10hrs on the Sunday morning, cause by someone from the wedding reception party leaning against the breakglass contact. This effected my sleep quality, shame, because up until then a good nights sleep, hence having to reduce my rating for sleep quality.

The grounds were impressive, easy to park although there was a wedding reception taking place on the Saturday evening.

Would recommend to anyone wanting a good standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rodc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel was recomended on a church website we were visiting in Cwmbran & we stayed for 2 nights - we have stayed at 4 & 5 star hotels all over the UK & Europe & can honestly say this beats the lot! - the gardens are beautiful - nothing is too much trouble for the staff & always with a smile - if we wanted a specific meal out of hours they always obliged & the meals were always good - breakfast was better than a 5 star we stayed in recently in N Wales - cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundayRoast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here on business for 4 nights and it was an outstanding experience. The rooms were well appointed and demonstrated attention to detail. The pool and spa were a welcome addition which I greatly appreciated. I ate in the bar every night and the standard/value for money was excellent. This property offers excellent value and I would have no hesitation in recommending it - I will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were really impressed when we arrived as the grounds were immacuate and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and welcoming, as was the whole hotel. The bed was really comfortable and so fresh. The food for the reception and evening was very good as was the breakfast.

I will certainly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a view at the back of the hotel overlooking a lawn. No noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing