We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well woth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent the weekend here for wedding we attended. Vey pleased with the standard of hotel, facitilies and grounds.
Didn`t do the spa thing but wished i had as it looked very inviting.
Hotel is set in very spacious grounds, rooms are very good in a low rise set up where you wont have problems getting a good nights sleep.
Easy acces to M4 where you can visit cardiff if you please.
Hotel is set away from any pubs, shops or any other resturants so you will have to drive or take taxis if you feel the need to get out.
Would recommend a visit and certainly go back.

Room Tip: I would use one of the booking websites to book such as booking.com, or hotels.com as you get a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerwynBlackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Gerwyn Blackwood,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent weekend stay with us, your kind comments regarding our facilities and grounds are very much appreciated. We hope you able to try our excellent Spa the next time you visit our hotel.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We held a two day conference at the Parkway for over 125+ each day, everything was well organised and ran smoothly thanks to Cath and her team. Delegates commented on the quality of the lunch and the helpfulness of the staff.
Nothing is too much trouble and last minute 'amendments' are handled with such ease and a smile.
Thanks Cath and team, we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Best nights sleep ever in a hotel. Bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. Lovely, clean hotel. Decor a bit old fashioned, but quite endearing. Lots of thought had gone into the extras, such as the biscuits, the toiletries, the dressing gown and slippers in the room. The fixtures were also good quality. Only gripe for me was the lack of a lift, especially when your luggage is heavy. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The food in the restaurant was lovely, especially the dessert. I didn't use the leisure facilities, but they looked good too. Would definitely go there again, even if it was just for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmerthyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Melmerthyr,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Your lovely comments regarding our food and the extra touches we put in our bedrooms are very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you wish to stay with us again.

I appreciate your comment regarding a lift, we are only 1 floor high with many of the bedrooms on the ground floor, we can arrange a ground floor bedroom for your next visit.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I very great hotel, friendly helpful staff. One of the few chain hotels with a resident area were you could relax, enjoy a game of boules outside on the lawn or like I did get there in time to watch the start of the F1. The bedrooms are really comfortable with good quality decor and amenities and the breakfast was a well presented buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked the Parkway for an Army re-union, with 40+ persons arriving from all over the UK, from the moment we walked in to the time we left we were treated like royalty. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble very polite and helpful. The rooms were superb whilst all other amenities were outstanding. A fantastic weekend was had by all. Only down side was the buffet on the Friday night was a little disappointing for the cost but this did not spoil the overall enjoyment, look forward to going back. Rob & John (organizers)

Room Tip: Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I have used the hotel on several occasions for executive courses and have generally found it very good. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Service is very good and they have a positive customer focus.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonjhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A group of us went for afternoon tea for my mother in laws birthday. It was very nice. Some of us had the full thing (selection of cakes and finger sandwiches) and some just cakes. The selection of cakes was good and they were all very nice. We were disappointed with the sandwiches however. For the extra £3 we had 3 small finger sandwiches. I would have expected more than this. The fillings were not great either as they werent really to our tastes and we couldnt choose something else.
We had to ask for more milk and cream for our tea and coffees as we were not supplied with anywhere near enough for our group.
My brother in law selected the sausage baguette from the menu but when it was received it was cold and had to be returned to the kitchen to be warmed up!
Overall it was an enjoyable experience and the staff were friendly and helpful. We will be going again, but I dont think we will be paying for finger sandwiches again!

Room Tip: We only went for afternoon tea. Have put review here as they arent under restaraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dawn977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Dawn 977,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent afternoon tea at our hotel and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the finger sandwiches. Please let us know when you next book which sandwich fillings you would prefer as we can arrange this for you.

We sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
13.7 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
17.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $108 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing