We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay, just nicely out of the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are staying in South Wales on business then I can recommend the Parkway as a pleassant and well situated hotel. Just 5 minutes off the M4 and pleassantly tucked away from the busy town and city centres. Park and ride for Cardiff is a ten minute drive from the hotel.
Excellent leisure facilities and welcoming staff, to boot!

Room Tip: The car park to the front of the hotel can busy and a bit noisy in the evening if there has been a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear EastYorkshireFing,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you found our hotel to be "a good place to stay" and your lovely comments about our welcoming staff are really appreciated.

We sincerely hope you visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by some very polite and pleasant staff.
The evening meal was delightful as were the staff. We didnt feel rushed to leave the table. Ellie was a delightful young lady who couldn't do enought for us.
The room was a little dated but we had everything we needed.
The lesure facilites are very good.
We then went for breakfast!!!!!.......There was a young lady called Kate who was rude obnoxious and it was clear she didnt want to be there. Im not sure if she has a set of teeth because not once did the smile. The rest of the staff were very hard working and jolly people and the food was to a high standard.
As I have said in my review title - one person lets the whole place down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank English_couple187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first impressions was good liked what I saw. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. Our room was lovely but our bedding quality was terrible it was like sleeping in a crisp bag which kept me awake most of the night so I had a terrible nights sleep. The bed was good but the bedding or quilt cover was cheap quality very noisy. I enjoyed the leisure part very impressed. I had a drink at the bar and the bar staff were very friendly. loved the roaring fire it gave the hotel a nice warm feeling very cozy.
Breakfast was terrible it was cold and had been sitting around for a long time, no apologises. Did not see the little notice on the tables saying we could have freshly made breakfasts it was too late and the waitress did not let us know that was another option, if I had known I would have gone for that than the over cooked and cold buffet breakfast. I know it was in the week and we came down for break at 8.55am but we were on holiday so we should of been catered for. At a certain time the buffet should be taken away and freshly cooked should be offered to avoid disappointment. I would recommend that you dont go for the breakfast option go to whetherspoons it would be cheaper and fresher. I told the receptionist when we checked out but she did not seem very concerned.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeybug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear honeybug88,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us during your recent stay at our hotel. We are now under new ownership and many changes have already been made to how we serve and present our Welsh Breakfast.

I am pleased that you were impressed with our leisure facilities and that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating.

I sincerely hope you visit us again in the near future and see the many improvements our new owners have made.

Kind regards

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the most wonderful birthday last march,the room was amazing the relaxing pool area is fantastic, The staff were very nice, in the restaurant some of the staff were a bit upsetting as they brought my cake out after my husband asked twice and then they just stood there it up too the other guest to start singing,yet the night before was fantastic al la carte evening, going back in september as enjoyed it very much,we are taking friends

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 349Han52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with friends the night before a wedding. Food on the restaurant was great, the atmosphere in the bar was good (although the barman was clueless on making cocktails and couldn't recommend a gin for the G&Ts). The room was big enough to get our travel cot in and was clean and comfortable. The spa and swimming pool were excellent - lovely big pool which was warm enough for our 4 month old to swim in and excellent jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. There's also a bar right by the pool and loungers but unfortuately we didn't get a chance to try them out, We would definiteky stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kind42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice on the Internet and were not sure what to expect but it far exceeded our expectations. We were warmly welcomed and found the staff to be helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable if a little dated in decor. The restaurant food was very good, especially the Carvery option in the evening, although we felt the breakfast selection and food quality had some room for improvement.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and will revisit when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lujesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you love a nice snack at lunchtime for £6.75 this is the place to go.

Nice choice and as much salad, pasta and sauces etc as you like. Linda Sweetland served us and could not do enough for us and I would hope that the hotel recognises excellent staff.

The only thing is that they charge £0.90p for a bread roll and butter, which is very over priced !!!

No hassle and no rush to vacate the table, but it does get very busy, so be prepared to wait for a table to become available,but you will not be disappointed.


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LyndaP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Lyndap10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch in our lounge and your kind comments regarding Linda are very much appreciated.

We sincerely hope you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.6 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
479 reviews
12.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $109 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing