We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 50th birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the most wonderful birthday last march,the room was amazing the relaxing pool area is fantastic, The staff were very nice, in the restaurant some of the staff were a bit upsetting as they brought my cake out after my husband asked twice and then they just stood there it up too the other guest to start singing,yet the night before was fantastic al la carte evening, going back in september as enjoyed it very much,we are taking friends

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 349Han52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with friends the night before a wedding. Food on the restaurant was great, the atmosphere in the bar was good (although the barman was clueless on making cocktails and couldn't recommend a gin for the G&Ts). The room was big enough to get our travel cot in and was clean and comfortable. The spa and swimming pool were excellent - lovely big pool which was warm enough for our 4 month old to swim in and excellent jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. There's also a bar right by the pool and loungers but unfortuately we didn't get a chance to try them out, We would definiteky stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kind42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice on the Internet and were not sure what to expect but it far exceeded our expectations. We were warmly welcomed and found the staff to be helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable if a little dated in decor. The restaurant food was very good, especially the Carvery option in the evening, although we felt the breakfast selection and food quality had some room for improvement.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and will revisit when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lujesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you love a nice snack at lunchtime for £6.75 this is the place to go.

Nice choice and as much salad, pasta and sauces etc as you like. Linda Sweetland served us and could not do enough for us and I would hope that the hotel recognises excellent staff.

The only thing is that they charge £0.90p for a bread roll and butter, which is very over priced !!!

No hassle and no rush to vacate the table, but it does get very busy, so be prepared to wait for a table to become available,but you will not be disappointed.


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LyndaP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Lyndap10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch in our lounge and your kind comments regarding Linda are very much appreciated.

We sincerely hope you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times on business recently, and both times had a decent night's sleep. Mattresses are extremely comfortable and the hotel is a fair distance from the main road so you don't have any traffic noise.
Its a modern building without much character. However this is compensated by the friendly and helpful staff (wifi gremlins fixed within 15 minutes), a decent sized swimming pool, and a huge lounge area with a real log fire.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

was very upset with the dinning room desperatly needed modernising. No tongs for serving when we went for breakfast told waiting for delivery of them had to dish up with spoons. Also booked as a group and when went for breakfast not allowed to pull tables together and sit and talk,even after arranging a party of 18 the night before and having to arrange tables for that as well. A shame really as hotel rooms and staff everywhere else very very helpfull

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Sandra e,

Thank you for your posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry you were disappointed with our dining room. We are now under new ownership with many improvements already made to our hotel since your stay with us in January.

Our breakfast buffet was one of the first areas to be updated by our new owners and we have had lovely feedback from our guests over the past few months regarding the changes we have made.

I sincerely hope you visit us again in the not too distant future and see the improvements made in our restaurant along with the many other wonderful changes throughout our hotel.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed for one night while passing through the area, the hotel had excellent reviews so we thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, the staff at this hotel provided the best service I have ever recieved, and believe me, I have stayed in a lot of hotels.

The hotel itself is situated next to a run of the mill industrial estate, strange location but apparently the building was originally supposed to be a college. Speaking of the building, don't expect anything grand, the architect isn't going to win any awards for this rather dull, pay attention or you'll miss it, effort at mid 90s industrial design. The carpark is massive and being able to drive right up to the front doors (literally) made unloading our luggage a breeze.

Once inside you will immediately notice the hotels worst feature, the interior design is straight out of the mid 1980s, in fact it looks not unlike your local community college reception area. To be fair though, there isn't much the management can do about this apart from major structural alterations. Happily you will then immediately notice the hotels best feature, the amazing staff. From the receptionist to the waiters, to the lady pushing the linen trolley, everyone of them a credit to the business. Rarely have I been surrounded by employees who came across as genuienly loving their work. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, if you run a hotel or guest house you need to stay in this hotel, I guarantee you will learn something about customer service. The above observation came from watching the staff interact with the other guests, we didn't actually have a need to request anything from them ourselves, apart from the usual food and drinks ect.

Speaking of the food and drink, what we had was superb, everything fresh, delicious, I recomend the steak and ale pie. Breakfast was equally appealing, a buffet, or if you liked the chef would cook yours to order. Best black pudding I have tasted apart from my mothers! In my opinion the bar food menu was better than the restauraunt offering but only because it had a little more variety, and possibly the seat next to the open fire had more appeal on a cold winter night!

The spa and pool area were ok but could do with a little improvement. No staff were present at the reception desk when we got there, a smiling and chatty fellow guest explained the towels procedure and showed us around. The whole area of the pool, changing rooms, sauna ect, looks even more outdated than the main reception. It all works fine, warm pool and steamy steam room but it wouldn't look out of place in an episode of the "Brittas Empire", anybody remember that? I did notice that the wood panelling around the exterior of the steam room was literally rotting, with large holes and a black rotten skirting board area. Surely this would be a cheap fix? The Jacuzzi is just about big enough to bathe a hamster.

Our room was spotless and came with all the usuals, no complaints there.

In short, despite the funny location and funny interior design we would recommend this hotel. If you want to experience what should be a benchmark for customer service, give it a try, I doubt you will be dissappointed.

I hope the management appreciate and value their staff, those boys and girls are doing a superb job!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.6 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
479 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range: $108 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing