We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in this area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in this area.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel for a dinner and dance function. Laura the events manageress is excellent. The function went off very well with all the staff doing a very good job in looking after us. We had a carvery for about 70 people without hitch. Nicola the receptionist was exceptionally pleasant in booking us in for the night, it is so nice when you meet a young person that can converse with you instead of just hello and goodbye!!!
This hotel has just been taken over and it is our local for Sunday lunches and weekday meals and I can honestly say I have seen a marked difference already with the staff. They seem more professional and pleasant in their approach to the job. The domestic staff looking after the bedrooms are even better dressed with new uniforms so are the restaurant staff.
I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cremegavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Cremegavenny,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review on tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent event with us and that you have noticed some of the changes to our hotel that have been made by our new owners.

We are delighted that you choose to dine with us so often and that you find our hotel to be one of the best in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    285
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
234
364
19
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the Parkway several times during January and February. I found the rooms to be of a consistent high standard and service in both the bar and restuarant to be excellent.

I would be happy to recommend and will use again if in the Newport area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Harley71,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you found our hotel to be of a high standard and that you were pleased with the service in our restaurant and bar area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the parkway from the middle of November 12 to the beginning of March this year whilst on a course.
I enjoyed my time there. I found the hotel to be comfortable, well appointed and well staffed.
The room was comfortable, warm, with a nice en suite and a basic range of hot drinks and toiletries, that were replenished daily. The lounge was spacious, with a reasonable range of meals available and a lovely log fire. Breakfast was super with a wide range of food available to suit all tastes. The leisure facilities were good, and overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
The final word goes to the staff. They were super. Friendly, helpful and pleasant. The hotel manager changed shortly after I arrived, and Ian, the new manager immediately started a modernisation programme. Nothing was too much trouble for him or any member of the staff. They made my prolonged stay a pleasure, and I would suggest they are this hotels biggest asset.
Brendan Hale.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Brendan Hale,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review. I am delighted you found our hotel "home from home" and your comments regarding our friendly staff ar very much appreciated.

We sincerely hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I visited the restaurant on Sunday evening, 3rd of March. I was very impressed with the service and the quality of the food. I would especially like to mention Sarah Williams and a young lady by the name of Dena (not sure of her surname). They were both very polite and atentative.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear KimJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

Your lovely comments regarding the food and service in our restaurant are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in near future.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Yorkshre
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Unfortunately we had to change long standing plans and needed a place to stay in South Wales so we asked at our Hotel reception in Portsmouth and James Mason of the Best Western in Southsea Portsmouth came to our rescue and sorted a two night stay at the Best Western in Cwmbran Wales to enable us to us to attend to the business in hand.
We were taken aback at the standards that the Parkway achieved in all disciplines that hotels should set out to achieve, This hotel ticks all the boxes. By coincidence it was Valentines Day night and there was music in the lounge with a very accomplished keyboard artist and singer. We thought that this was unique but learnt that music is live every weekend and there is a dace floor to twirl the ladies around! Food was excellent whether in the bar, restaurant or particularly at breakfast. All staff where very atentative and the housecleaning was spot on. Leisure facilities leave nothing to be desired and as a result of this we are looking at putting on and event there for 100 in 2014!
Well done Parkway and in particular the Best Western chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Silverlad,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments regarding Valentines night are very much appreciated.

I will pass on your comments to all of the team here at Best Western Parkway Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back and helping to arrange your fothcoming event in 2014.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 7 weeks whilst on a course located nearby. Over the period of time the hotel was undergoing renovations, none of which disturbed any of the guests and really helped the quality of the hotel. During the 1st couple of weeks, in my opinion the hotel would have been distinctly 3 star rather than the 4 star as advertised. Over the next few weeks the rooms were updated with new bedding, flat screen TVs and the gym was extensively upgraded taking this up to a good 4 star hotel. Throughout the whole period the staff were excellent, helping with everything from the little requests of an extra bottle of water in the room, help with what to do in the local area to the bigger things of making sure the adjacent rooms were the last to be sold out on the night before my final exams giving me absolutely no chance of being disturbed at such an important time for me. I really can't praise the staff enough especially Nicola on reception for her help. My work will be sending further people on similar courses and i'll be providing my recommendation for the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Chris D,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at our hotel over the last seven weeks and your kind comments are very much appreciated.

As you know our hotel is now under new ownership and we are delighted that you noticed the many improvements that were made during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We needed a hotel in the Newport area and this fitted the bill nicely.

We pre-booked online and got what we felt was a good rate for bed and breakfast but what swayed us was use of the leisure facilities the next day.

We arrived very late but the room was ready and check in simple, we even had time for a night cap as the bar was open. The room was clean and tidy with a double bed – slightly hard for our taste but perfectly acceptable. There was also tea making facilities. Breakfast is a choice of cooked or continental (or both) and staff were very pleasant. There was also free Wifi for guests.

The leisure area had a smallish gym but the equipment looked new, plus a reasonable size pool, steam room and sauna as well. There is also conservatory lounge area for light snacks.

At lunch time the bar area offers a good choice of food with plenty of seating. It seemed popular as locals also come in to eat. Prices for a hotel were also reasonable.

Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Scarybird,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
12.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing