We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Three Blackbirds Inn
Ranked #46 of 81 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Three Blackbirds is a large pub located on the outskirts of Llantarnam, within a mountainous area, attracting walkers who are made very welcome. We have a fantastic food and drinks offer which has something for everyone! We hope to see you soon.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for the third time in as many months. Lovely carvery and desserts. Very friendly, polite and attentive staff, great value for money and will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    70
    47
    48
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and Beer”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good welcome and excellent service and only a short walk from the Parkway Hotel. The lane leading to the Blackbirds is very safe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PensionerWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Staff did their best but not good enough”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited on a busy Monday night. The two young boys working were excellent but they needed help. Only one working behind bar meant unacceptable wait to order. Food arrived in reasonable time but fairly tasteless and appeared to be just reheated. Desert on the other hand was lovely. Wont be rushing back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran S.Wales UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Three Blackbirds Cwmbran”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Every now and then we take our neighbour out for dinner, grand dining isn't her forte. So we tried this place, I read the reviews firstly and really wasn't expecting too much. Glad I wasn't! Firstly the place was quite full, luckily we managed to get a table at the front, as I thought that the seating arrangements further into the back were to cramped no room between tables, when you go out you don't really want to be sitting practically on top of strangers, well I don't anyway. It's one of those places where to order at the bar and pay straight away. The starter didn't take to long and was quite edible, the main course took for ever to arrive, hardly surprising really as there was only one waitress serving about 45 people, way to many, the food eventually arriving not really worth the monies, okay I suppose. The wait for desert was even worse and the poor girl was told off by the manager, it wasn't her fault really. The deserts aren't that bad actually what can go wrong which something that has most probably been defrosted. As mentioned by other lady the toilets are not the best and could do with a good clean and painting. Would only visit again if dragged by the hair and paid to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“usual pub food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went there with family on Friday June 14 2013. There was 10 adults and 2 children so the accommodated us well. The food was good and great value for money. The children aged 6 and 4 ate every bit of theres and enjoyed it. It was the usual pub fayre but good. The young boy we had as a waiter was excellent and couldnt do enough for us was very impressed with him dont know his name but he never stopped all evening and the pub was full. All in all a very good night was had by all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Blackbirds Inn also viewed

Llantarnam, Torfaen
 

Been to Three Blackbirds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing