We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly family farm :-)”

Greenmeadow Community Farm
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greenmeadow Community Farm has been a working farm for over 250 years. Set in over 120 acres, we have a wide range of pedigree and rare animals which you can come and meet up close. Nestled in the heart of Cwmbran, this is truly a Community Farm in every sense of the word, working closely with and serving the local community and welcoming visitors from far and wide. Our cosy farmhouse cafe, Cafe Cwtch, offers kids favourites and a selection of homemade specials. We aim to use as much local produce as we can, supporting local farmers, growers and suppliers. The farm shop is full of tractors and animals to take home after your visit. There really is something for everyone. We would love to see you soon! Please note we are open 10am - 5pm (last entry at 4pm) seven days a week, whatever the weather! The farm is closed for deep cleaning and maintenance from 24th December - 31st January each year.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Been to this farm many times usually with work taking families out.
Staff are friendly and there's a variety of different animals there. They have shows and tractor rides throughout the day at certain times. Tractor rides are very popular so ensure you queue 10 minutes before otherwise you will be waiting for a while.
The park hasn't changed a bit since I was little. Not suitable for young kids. Could do with a couple of baby swings and climbing frame. There is a sand pit and little ride on tractors near the restaurant also a play room inside the top barn.
Could do with a few pony rides and let those chickens and ducks roam around freely like they used to. :-)
Will definately be back with some more families and hope to see the farm grow.

Thank whiteywifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenmeadowNP44, General Manager at Greenmeadow Community Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we are very glad that you are able to regularly enjoy the farm...we too would love to have pony rides and let the chickens and ducks roam free but have to operate within staffing capacity and comply with the Code of Practice which restricts animal contact. We would also love to add more toddler suitable activities and are consistently working to obtain capital to invest in such additions, onwards and upwards! We look forward to seeing you again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visited Greenmeadow Community Farm today on the day of the annual farm show, what a fab day! Who cares if it rained a bit, farms are supposed to be muddy, that's half the fun! What a great event today was, probably the only farm show accessible to the masses due to location. Favourite bits were the Giant rabbits (real life rabbits of a giant variety, bigger than a small dog!), baby goats and piglets that will feed out of your hands and the newborn calf, it could be spring there are so many baby animals to see! The actual show itself was great fun with lots of exhibits to enter, stalls to browse and games to play...pig racing anybody? This farm has been a firm favourite of mine for years, and of many others judging by the amount of good reviews on here. May it continue to be treasured by the community and all those who visit it. If you are yet to pay a visit do it now, where else can you milk a life sized plastic cow!

Thank Emja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenmeadowNP44, General Manager at Greenmeadow Community Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thak you for your lovely review! The whole staff team work really hard to bring the show together and it is always lovely to receive feedback such as yours as it makes it all worthwhile :-) Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very resonable price to get in there. You have to buy the animal feed, but at 60p we didnt mind. My son was a little scared feeding the animals but got into it in the end. We watched a cow being milked. We could feed nearly all of the animals there. Would go back.

Thank dontoneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After travelling from Birmingham to visit nearby family we decided to take a visit. There was my husband, mother, 3 kids and myself as we arrived at the farm we were a little worried as my mother is in a wheelchair. On entrance to the farm we were greeted by a very helpful lady who was more than happy to answer any questions we had. As you enter the farm you pay your admissions in the farm gift shop which we thought was very well stocked with a variety of childrens books and toys. It was great to see that they were also selling farm fresh produce in the gift shop. Reasonable admission prices which is what we expected anyway. Plenty of animals too see large and small alike with exotic animals aswell. The farm is very flat with hardly any steps though some steep bits in places and if you are taking a wheelchair there like I did then it is fab for a wheelchair. We were amazed by the meet the african animals which is where you get to meet and learn about the farms very own selection of african animals. The young man named Sam I believe who was running the activity was happy to answer any questions we had and if he was unsure of an answer he would check for us. Also as meet the african animals was held upstairs in the exhibiton barn there were steps but not to worry there was a stair lift for wheelchairs and the young man was very helpful in the operating of the lift. The arts and craft we all enjoyed and made animal puppets which the children thought was brill. The milking demonstration we thought was amazing very educational and the kids loved being part of it. The tractor ride was one of out best parts of the visit though a little bumpy in places it is great fun. Big adventure playground with loads to do. Lovely food and drinks and very helpful staff. The only let down was that you couldn't walk down to north paddock which I remember being able to do on my last visit. Also the wildlife walk in eye paddock was a bit of a let down as we didn't see much but this wouldn't stop us from visiting again! Great day out and great value for money!

Thank brummy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenmeadowNP44, General Manager at Greenmeadow Community Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for this lovely, thorough review! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and particularly the Meet the African Animals session as this is a new activity we introduced this summer...I will pass on your comments to Sam who is a valued member of our team :-) Hope you can come back again some time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Green Meadow Community Farm is an old farm that has been in Cwmbran for over 70 years now fully refurbished and turned into a community farm that has an abundance of activities to keep all the young ones entertained. there is plenty of animals and birds to see and there is a
building where every body is informed on the art of milking the cows along with a full demonstration. there are tractor rides and events laid on in the education centre for the children and familys there is a shop on site which sells a vast array of items along with a café where you can get your cream teas and the home made cooking this is well worth a visit for an enjoyable day out. Having lived in the area I have seen this attraction grow over the years and it has been quite full on weekends and during the week so an early arrival may be required.

Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenmeadow Community Farm also viewed

 
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Greenmeadow Community Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing