We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful country hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Primrose House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Primrose House
Ranked #2 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wedmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful country hideaway”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew Primrose House would be special. Even though this was just as quick night away from the kids we were made to feel as if it were a special occasion. Devi and Helen are incredibly welcoming and hospitable, and nothing is too much trouble - for example Devi kindly gave us a lift down into Bruton that evening. The room (King Alfred's) is lovely - very comfortable and with all the facilities you need. Despite having eaten a big meal the night before (At the Chapel, Bruton) we couldn't resist the beautifully prepared and cooked breakfast. It was like being a house guest rather than a B&B - and all the more special for that! Will be back!

Room Tip: King Alfred was great - 4-poster bed and lovely bathroom - but they all look good on the website! Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenMossBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Stephen
Thank you for your review! we were pleased to accommodate and look after you, I hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Kind regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
107
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After having spent two glorious nights at The Primrose House, I can honestly say that our experience could not have been any better. Owners Devi and Helen are superb hosts. The home - new by UK standards - is beautiful inside and perfectly manicured outside. Breakfasts were delicious.

Sometimes when Trip Advisor reviews seem over-the-top in praise of a venue, one might wonder about their authenticity, but believe me when I say that everyone's correct. If you're looking for a flawless B 'n B experience, do consider Primrose House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuntownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello GintownBob,

Thank you very much for your very kind review! It was a great pleasure looking after you. We always strive to be excellent and when we continue to have lovely people staying with us, it just becomes so easy to serve and assist you in any way that makes your stay more enjoyable. We would love to see you again, and take care in the meantime.

Very kind regards

Devi and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I went to Primrose house this morning after a 4 mile walk, Helen was very welcoming and led me through to her treatment room which smelt gorgeously of incense and candles. She left me there to get ready and when she returned she explained how she uses the lava shells . She rubbed lovely smelling oil on my arm and then proceeded to massage it with the lava shells. It was absolutely fabulous , the shells are so warm and run smoothly over your skin . I loved it particularly the attention she gave my knees and she ended up with my back which was just divine . I felt so relaxed and refreshed and can't wait to have another one. Thank you Helen

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank susieroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wow, I am overwhelmed at how good my massage was when I came to primrose house. I've never been so relaxed! Beautiful music, candlelight and Helen was so professional and fantastic-she knew exactly when she was doing and more. Completely amazed and so so relaxed! Thank you so much Helen x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahgrace21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Primrose House following a mix up with a booking at another B & B and 100% landed on our feet. Having travelled for 2 hours, Devi and Helen were taking a break for the weekend but on hearing of our plight ( no room at the other Inn) set up our room and welcomed us with open arms. Tea on arrival, a listening and sympathetic ear and a great sense of humour. Our room was absolutely beautiful - modern and elegant with a large and very comfortable bed, huge bathroom with both shower and bath,lovely finishing touches like candles all around the bath, big bottles of bubble bath, huge fluffy towels and lovely tea and coffee facilities in the room. Nothing was too much trouble and Devi willingly drove us down into Bruton to meet friends that night to go to a ball and the next morning to meet the RAC at our car which had also broken down. A wonderful full English breakfast the next morning, home made toast, fresh fruit, yoghurts and fresh tea and coffee really helped us to get over the hassles and enjoy our stay in Bruton. To boot the house is based at the top of a hill with the most amazing views over the surrounding beautiful countryside. We felt very lucky to have landed with Helen and Devi and didn't use all the facilities they have on offer (Helen does massages etc and they have a gym too). This is not just a treat to put your head down if visiting for a ball / wedding but somewhere to be pampered and enjoy as a destination in its own right. We will be back ! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulF1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Primrose House for a wedding weekend. We were in the large, four-poster bed room, which was really lovely - lots of space, nicely furnished, gorgeous bathroom. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious. The house is set in beautiful grounds with a stunning view. It's located just outside the main area of Bruton - about a 5 minute drive away. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stopped with Helen and Devi (the very welcoming owners) on our first trip to Bruton for a family wedding.

This must be the best B&B I've ever stopped in. Stunning rooms, a beautiful home, and excellent food. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

I simply cannot recommend this place enough.

Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
937 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
1.5 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose House

Property: Primrose House
Address: Primrose House Creech Hill Road, Bruton BA10 0QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose House is a 5 STAR GOLD (with Breakfast Award) modern Georgian style property with 2 large en suite bedrooms. Situated 1 mile out of Bruton on top of Creech Hill, we have fabulous views over Stourhead and the Mendip Hills, coupled with the peace and quiet of the countryside. There is ample free and safe parking for up to 15 vehicles. A hearty full English breakfast awaits you with cereals, fresh fruits and more! Devi and Helen extends a warm and friendly welcome to all who visit Primrose House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing