We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding weekend.”
Review of Oak House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak House
Ranked #3 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our family of five stayed in the wonderful Oak Suite whilst our extended family stayed in rooms on the floor below. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, Denise and Martin and were really impressed with the decor of the suite especially the consideration given to providing quality bed linen and toiletries in the stylish bathroom. The lay out was perfect and we were able to throw open the windows as the weather was glorious. We enjoyed tea and coffee with the wonderful complimentary Brownies. The breakfast was delicious and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Nothing was too much trouble for Denise and Martin and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Oak Suite has one king sized room, one twin bedded room and a large sofa bed in the living room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Oak House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed locally and had two wonderful meals delivered. There was a good choice of menus and the food came exactly as ordered, ready to heat. Deliciously fresh tasting "home-cooked" food. It mad the weekend wonderfully relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wilma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Contact arrangements via email were efficient and thorough. We had three rooms including the Oak Suite which were a wonderful suite of rooms for our daughter and her family to stay and for the wider family to congregate. The continental breakfast of locally sourced foods was wonderful, even our son in law, who is a bacon and eggs man, was suitably impressed. The owners made us feel very welcome. The rooms are very well appointed and include some little extras. We would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PeterSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stay at Oak House on a fairly regular basis when visiting our daughter and family in Bruton and couldn't wish for a better, or more convenient, centrally located "boutique" B&B with parking. The rooms are all very comfortable (lovely beds and immaculate white bed linen, duvets, etc.) with (proper) coffee/tea making facilities and a great jar of delicious, homemade cookies. The bathrooms are state of the art (especially for shower lovers) with good quality and thoughtful toiletries provided. We have stayed in the Oak Suite a couple of times and have both agreed that we could happily retire there as it had absolutely everything we would need!

The breakfasts are superb - a delicious cold collation of meats, cheeses (locally sourced), breads, preserves, cereals, including homemade muesli, fruit and pastries, fruit juice and good tea/coffee.

Best of all are our hosts, Denise and Martin, friendly, helpful and very efficient. Any query or request is met with an instant response. We couldn't want for a better place to stay in Somerset!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been very comfortable, but for a party of three or more, the Oa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DiamondLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Oak House. Everything was perfect and our hosts Denise and Martin could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were in the Oak Suite...lots of space and very comfortable. Great location just 3 minutes walk from the high street. Delicious breakfast with local produce. Would highly recommend. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Runninghorses74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent a very nice weekend at the Oak House, from where we could visit the area. It is conveniently located in a quiet street near the town centre (Bruton) and has a private parking. Very clean room, including large bathroom. Denise and Martin served a broad and fresh selection of breakfast buffet. We even received home-made brownies daily in our room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Thank you so much for a great nights sleep, beautifully clean room and everything was thought of. Breakfast was an amazing spread. Would highly recommend you. Hopefully we will be back to see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House

Address: 21-25 Coombe Street, Bruton BA10 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary accommodation in the heart of Bruton. Four ensuite bedrooms and a two bedroom suite all with Complimentary wifi, Hospitality tray, flat screen tv and dvd. Locally sourced buffet style breakfast. Relaxing lounge with coffee and tea available throughout the day. All with friendly and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing