We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Oak House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak House
Ranked #3 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Oak House hotel is fabulous we were upgraded to the Oak Suite which was wonderful. It was beautifully decorated and yet remained homely and cosy. Denise the owner was lovely and really helpful. The breakfast was great with lots of locally sourced cheeses, meats, yogharts and fruit. We were supposed to go walking the following day but the weather was so bad we had to cut our stay short. You would think I would be disappointed but it just gives me the perfect excuse to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottiegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
33
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at the Oak House for 1 night in November 2011 being in Bruton on business.
I was really impressed of the friendliness and efficiency of the owners when I made the reservation. Then I was pleased with a very comfortable room with of a 5 star bathroom with high quality toiletry, fantastic tasty complimentary pastry and marvelous bedding!
Breakfast must be mentioned separately. That day I was the only guest in the property and apart from this fact – plenty of choice from cereals to strawberry were available in Oak House including fine local salmon, ham, soft creamy cheese etc etc.
Thank you indeed for the perfect level of hospitality.
I highly recommend the place to everyone!

Room Tip: stayed at Chapel - very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

What a wonderful surprise The unpretentious exterior belies the exceptional interior design.Denise and Martin have created a seriously special ambience of modern design with so many unique and clever touches in the bedrooms each having a different character,whilst the common area is splendid.
Having stayed in numerous hotels around the world there is nothing to beat the breakfast spread which greets one every morning All the goodies are prepared by Martin and Denise in their spotless kitchens using local produce.We were members of a family group which stayed 2 nights in the spring of 2011.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but the top floor suite is absolutely fab !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Loads of attention to detail make this the most luxurious B&B I have stayed in.Bruton is a lovely place for a weekend , good restaurants, beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently spent a brilliant weekend in this new hotel, its modern and has a cosy and traditional feel about it. The bedrooms are certainly to the standard of a five star establishment !! Denise and Martin Botterill, the owners, have created what can only be described by us a "GEM" of a place !!! The village of Bruton is fantastic it's like discovering an English village that has been lost in time, with the hotel being so central to so many wonderfull Somerset sights !! Finally the breakfasts are of the first order and plenty of it. We will certainly be going back and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodturner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here with a bunch of friends in March'11
The rooms are lovely . The food even more so! Such a choice for breakfast and plentiful. Television in each room.
You must buy some Choc Brownies!!
Nothing was too much trouble for Denise and Martin their local knowledge was invaluable and very hospitable.

Room Tip: stairs to negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently discovered this Somerset Gem !Our expectations were of a typical B&B we couldnt have been so wrong . This is a definately a boutique hotel , from start to finish the service was amazing. On arrival Denise the owner made as very welcome showing us to our room which we were delighted with as began to see that was not what we expected at all ( we hadnt seen the website before we booked ) ! The shower was lovely and decor pleasing and contemporary. The small details made the difference who can't be delighted with home made brownie in the room along with a good selection of teas and coffee.
On the advise of the owner we managed to get a booking at The Chapel a great advantage to have that on the doorstep. We slept really well( despite being a light sleeper) our room was at the front of the building but didn' t hear any noise. Breakfast was excellent all local Somerset produce even asked where we could buy the local yoghurt as so yummy ! Overall we loved our stay and will be back .... a great location for stopover or for longer as lots to do in the local area which is why we will be going again .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House

Property: Oak House
Address: 21-25 Coombe Street, Bruton BA10 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary accommodation in the heart of Bruton. Four ensuite bedrooms and a two bedroom suite all with Complimentary wifi, Hospitality tray, flat screen tv and dvd. Locally sourced buffet style breakfast. Relaxing lounge with coffee and tea available throughout the day. All with friendly and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing