We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we were expecting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Bruton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In a small rural town bereft of quality eating establishments The Bull Inn stands out as a place for travellers, tourists and locals to enjoy good food.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to eat here and was slightly disappointed. There are lots of reviews on here saying how wonderful the place is and how amazing the food.

We thought we would give it a go. The inside is very dated. Not to my taste but this does not impact on service and food so its not really important.

It seemed fairly busy but being a Friday that's understandable. The food once arrived was average. The names on the board were just posh sounding and the prices were not what I would call reasonable.

The staff didn't seem at all friendly unless it appeared you were local.

It was disappointing to say the least but you live and learn. We won't be coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank garret39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    27
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have visited The Bull on a number of occasions, both being small and large parties. At all times we have had a warm welcome and excellent meals. The Bull use local produce and all desserts are homemade, the food is served fresh, hot and you get large portions.......Try the Banoffee pie!! :) The staff are very helpful and are happy to meet your dietary needs. The Pub is a clean, quaint place with a pretty pub garden. I would advise to book as can get busy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TPink_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I live in Oxford but have family near Bruton, and we are so lucky to have such a fantastic place to eat when we come to stay.
I've never had a bad meal at the pub and always receive a warm welcome. Ann and Martin are wonderful landlords. There is a great range of local beers and ales, as well as a great wine selection. The menu always offers a good amount of choice and variety, serving delicious meals and generous portion sizes. A lot of the produce is locally sourced which is always something to value in a restaurant.
I love the atmosphere and the decor - it is a proper English country pub. I read another comment that called it dated, but it certainly isn't. It's freshly decorated and clean and comfortable - whilst retaining its original features and wonderful character.

I could not recommend this place more. I've been with groups of friends, with family, with dogs, and for romantic meals for two, and it is always a great experience - both Lunch and Dinner. The front and back beer gardens are spacious and beautiful - great for the summer, and the huge open fire in the bar is gorgeously cosy in the colder months.

It's in a great situation for local attractions and walks, like Alfred's Tower, Stourhead House and Gardens, Longleat. So anyone is visiting these areas should definitely make time for a stop by The Bull!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A short walk from Mullions51 where we were staying. The Bull Inn is a nice pub, with good service, well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Always a pleasure to eat the Bull with good food, reasonable prices and friendly staff. I can highly recommend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing