We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and worth a look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarxien Temples

Tarxien Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.91*
and up
Malta Prehistoric Temples Half Day Tour
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great value and worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are looking for burn some time before your allocated visit for Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum then this place is certainly worth a visit. The complex was built between 3600-2500 BC making it one of the oldest structures on the island. The site is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the largest on Malta.

There is an elevated walkway that gives visitors a decent view of the remains without further damage. Note there is some restrictions on wheelchairs and pushchairs larger than 62 cm wide, but they may have a wheelchair available onsite if requested.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    136
    97
    29
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit before Hagar Qim/Mnajdra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went to Tarxien on Tuesday and Hagar/Mnjdra on Saturday. I really liked these temples,and enjoyed walking around the site. I had been to the Archaeology museum the day before in Valletta, so had some background knowledge, but I can understand the unenthusiastic views- compared to some of the other sites Malta has to offer, I can see how Tarxien may feel less impressive as you walk around a raised platform and look down at the ruins, whereas at other sites you are impressed with the tall walls and the experience is a bit removed at Tarxien.

As for the location, with some planning you can enjoy the site and others nearby so it doesn't feel like a wasted trip; we visited the Hypogeum on the same day, which is walking distance from Tarxien, and we got the bus to another reasonably nearby site, the Ghar Dalam cave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CMW322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were unfortunate in that there were 3 large parties of visitors blocking our way at every turn but we still enjoyed looking around this site. The information boards presented just the right amount of reading matter and everything was clearly labelled. We managed to get ourselves there on the bus without any difficulty even though we went on a Sunday. It was a pleasant way to spend a morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank The2Hoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value, interesting location, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Malta has a lot of pre-historic sites and one can get a bit blase about "just another temple" but Tarxien does deserve to be included. As it is slightly later than many of the other temples you can see continuity and change plus seeing where some of the wonderful carvings were in context gives you a better understanding of how it could've been.

Reasonably priced, 5/6 Euros. I'd have preferred a bit more information on the boards but that's a personal bugbear I have about many of these places.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointing - Not the best historical site to visit on Malta”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was the 2nd historical site we visited on our vacation to Malta and found it disappointing compared to the others.The entry fees were excessive and for a family of three, came to some £20. Bearing in mind there is very little wow-factor to this location, kids will get bored very easily.

Likes:
<Can't think of anything specific>

Dislikes:
- Overpriced entry fees
- No audio aids provided
- Small site
- Not all that much to see
- Very exposed to the elements

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank llyryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarxien Temples also viewed

Qrendi, Island of Malta
Qrendi, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tarxien Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing