We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be forgotten!”
Review of The Burrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burrow
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarxien B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have just returned from staying at The Burrow. It is the beautifully restored 500 year old home of Frank and Chiara and their delightful children in the quiet locality of Tarxien. Around the breakfast table in the morning there are guests from various parts of the world, drinking excellent coffee and enjoying Chiara's first class home-made marmalade. Interesting and animated conversation was to be shared too and a good amount of laughter and this was also to be had over a delicious and healthy dinner on the roof top at night. I found Frank and Chiara caring and interested people, fun yet sensitive to the various needs of all who stayed. Doris, their helper, is a particularly warm presence, and the house is spotless. If you want an interesting experience and to stay with a lovely Maltese family, this is the place. Janina - Exmouth, UK

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely fantastic this beautiful home, lovely family you felt like part of the family because you were made to welcome. I am sorry I did not come to this area sooner. Chiara and Frank could not have helped more - had an absolutely beautiful meal with the family on the roof top. This is one place I shall definitely return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Absolutely recommended!

While booking you should consider that it's a family-run guest house - as for us, much more intersting place than a five star hotel.

Not for petty-minded finicking people jiggling the staff all the time but respectful ones who are rather curious to a wonderful family living in Malta too.

Whenever returning to Malta we'll choose them again. Tho we don't have other experiences with accomodation in there, are sure that it just can't be better.

Besides, Tarxien is an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at The Burrow in April and loved it! A beautiful house run by the lovely Frank and Chiara. Tarxien is pretty quiet, away from the busy tourist spots but this was perfect for us. The bus stop is very close to the house and a regular service meant getting anywhere was easy. I really had the best night's sleep I had in ages at The Burrow, the bed was awesome! The house is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. We enjoyed ample breakfasts and the marmalade was to die for! Thanks for a lovely stay :0)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The house is well decorated and fully renovated. The family are very friendly, welcoming and obliging. A great place to relax and a good base to get a taste of the real Malta, away from the tourist hotspots with good bus access to the whole of the island.

It's a bit like the Tardis, small on the outside but deceptively roomy inside

There was nothing I didn't enjoy about my stay at the Burrow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinb1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Advance contact was made with me by the hosts, with helpful suggestions and advice. The Hypogeum is nearby, and you will be reminded to book early. Several courtesies were offered over and above the expected hospitality. Any needs were responded too quickly and well. It was nice to be in Tarxien. I enjoyed meeting many friendly Malta residents in the streets, in shops and on public transit. The Burrow's renovations are well done. Its host family is super. And it is a comfortable retreat from whatever the day has otherwise offered the traveler or tourist. You will be well-located for activities throughout the Island of Malta.

I was very pleased with my stay at The Burrow. My needs were fully met.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

So glad we picked this really unusual guest house for our last night of our holiday in Malta. Our hosts were so welcoming and made you feel at home as soon as you walked over the threshold. It appears small from the outside but as they have 5 children and I think there were at least 10 guests this is deceptive. You could have dinner if you booked at a very reasonable price and was excellent. We sat down with 8 other French guests and had a very entertaining evening as they spoke very little English and we spoke about the same amount of French. Our room on the ground was very big all in stone with arches and an inglenook fireplace. The only thing that could have been better were directions. We spent time going round and round the maze of one way streets. However the owner said he was intending to get signs put up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
1.3 mi away
Julesy's BnB
Julesy's BnB
#1 of 2 in Cospicua (Bormla)
142 reviews
6.3 mi away
Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants
6.3 mi away
Artemisia B & B
Artemisia B & B
#1 of 1 in Mosta
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Palazzo Violetta
Palazzo Violetta
#1 of 14 in Sliema
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Lodge
Harbour Lodge
#3 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrow

Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarxien
Price Range: $74 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrow Malta/Tarxien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing