We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place you will chose again next time ;)”
Review of The Burrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burrow
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarxien B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hello everyone,
I had opportunity to stay in Burrow in 2012(may) , that made my trip unforgettable and amazing ! In 2013(may) I was back again, because I used to come back to the places I used to love to.

I love everything about The Burrow, their warm hospitality, when my day is starting from breakfast with always a good company around. The food is always fresh and everywhere is clean , that what I really like about this place. Chiara ( the mother of 5 great kids) is an amazing cooker, the food is always so beautiful and tasty.
Fred who is a great composer will make your stay as interesting and musical as it possible.

The Burrow is my best choice which I highly recommend you ;)

Marina.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Burrows in Tarxien, with Chiara and her family. They managed to rebuild their house in an amazing hotel, with lots and lots of atmosphere. Since the family-life also finds place in the hotel, the stay feels really warm, local and personal. The location is really nice: quiet and you can take a bus (81&82 runs every 10 minute or so) to Valetta an back, a taxi to the airport takes about 10 minutes...

If your looking for a 4-star hotel, look further, otherwise this place is recommended: we were with a party of 10 and we all enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Since alll rooms have very different character, be specific on forehand on what you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

this is what i heard from another guest after the dinner we had with the burrow family (dinner cooked by Chiara)...and believe me, it's hard to hear 'i'm satisfied'.....
Chiara & Frank offer what they are to every guest: an example of 'being yourself' also if you are running a business....doesn't sound like 'staying at home'????
Laura S.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lablacksaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daughter and me had a fantastic time on Malta and it was the best decision to stay at The Burrow. The family with the five wonderful children was incredibly hospitable and the house is a piece of jewelry. You can reach easily every part of the Island by bus and visit the Tarxien Temple by foot. We really felt homelike!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea29052005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our time in Burrow. The house is really beautiful and it was nice to stay with a family. The breakfast was simple but good quality. The location is good - it's situated in quieter Tarxien close to the Hypogeum and Tarxien temples and a short bus ride from Valletta. It's also very close to the airport. It was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you want to know how Maltese are, you certainly never forgot your stay at The Burrow. Very good family, funny girls, you'll feel like at home, or even better !
Very few kilometers from
Valletta, Rabat, you'll enjoy the real Malta experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedrodeFrancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Right from the beginning let me say that some travelers might not have the problems we did, or be bothered by them. But what we read by other residents of this B&B did not match our experience.
W called B&B from airport as Chira had suggested and she said she’d be there in 15min. After 45 min, nothing. Then a guy in a broken down old Fiat (couldn’t open one door from outside, couldn’t open another door from the inside, windshield wipers didn’t work - he went out and manually swished it across the window, inside was filthy . . . .) stopped and said “Jim?”. It was Frank, but we didn't know this. Got to B&B, which seemed OK, but he took us to wrong room (not en suite as booked) on 3rd floor (with all our luggage). He called his wife, then took us back down to correct room on main floor. Nice, but cold. They have 5 kids, I think maybe 3 less than 10y, and the two littlest ones repeatedly entered our room (no door locks). They also had frequent crying or tantrum spells, and this went on until after we had gone to bed later that night. Had dinner, was supposed to be something fantastic (based on reviews) that we paid extra for . . . after nice apps, dinner was a bowl of soup, then rice with some curry flavor. No meats or fish. Dinner did include wine, which was nice. Three other people were there, around the small dinner table, and conversation was quite pleasant , but Chiara went on and on about her miscarriages and meds she had to take. . . We finally excused ourselves, noting we had to get up at 5:45 for 6:15 return to airport. We asked about heat (my wife's feet were like ice) and were told heat would cost an extra $15. We were guaranteed a wake up at 5:45, and Chiara said she was always in the kitchen by 6am. Fortunately, we woke on our own at 5:30; after dressing and pakcing we went to main room . . . no one else there. At 6:05 I starting calling the Franks’s name up the stairs . . . he finally came down, very groggily, and we got into his “shuttle” car (no mention ever made about coffee or anything resembling the “B” in B&B; we were offered nothing and received nothing). At that point he asked if we had the exact change for our bill. He said that, in addition to the room and extra dinner charges, we had to pay 10-15€ each way for pick-up and return to airport. This had never been mentioned before, with all indications that the “shuttle” was included in the basic charge (“shuttle” was listed with their B&B description). Fortunately he relented and we were off. Got to airport with much traffic, but with no delay.
So, the B&B was loud, crowded, cold, with less than the great dinner we had read about on TripAdvisor (we had had an excellent quail and rabbit dinners the night before in Mġarr for less than we paid here); lots of confusion, and a scary "shuttle". Certainly not what we had expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vibrioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiaraperesso, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Jim,
Thank you for taking time to review us. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. We try to make our potential guests aware that we are a hosting family and it is clear in all our reviews that we do have our own children and also that guests with children are welcome. I wish to clarify that you booked your room for one night by phone and did not request an en-suite bathroom and it is for this reason that you were initially given a double bedroom without en-suite. When you asked otherwise we happily accommodated you as we had another room available. We had agreed that you would call from the airport and that we would collect you however you did not give a specific time thus the delay to collect you twenty-five minutes later. Upon arrival to The Burrow you were offered tea and given some advice about visiting the temples and our guest walked you to the bus stop showing you how to reach Marsaxlokk and how to return back. You asked if you could join us for dinner at four thirty. Had you asked for quail or rabbit we would have sadly declined as it was too late to change our menu and other guests had requested otherwise. Regarding your comment about the children walking into your room may I point out that you left your door wide open and my son and I merely introduced ourselves at the door welcoming you and offering you to join us at table for a glass of wine. With reference to your wake up call it was agreed that Frank would take you to the airport leaving The Burrow at Six fifteen which he did, only delaying slightly to point out that you had forgotten your spectacles and to settle the bill. I beg you to point out on which website you have seen that our airport transfer is offered free of charge so that I may correct it as I am not aware that it appears that way on any of our websites. In any case as in the case of he room we did not press you to pay the 35 Euros that were due for our quoted service. Our table which seats eight is a place where individuals from all over the world gather to share experiences and cultures, guests who opt for dinner seek precisely this experience. Guests who on the other hand seek the peaceful privacy of their room are happy to take our recommendations of nearby restaurants. Once again I apologize if you found our setup or conversation inadequate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
1.3 mi away
Julesy's BnB
Julesy's BnB
#1 of 2 in Cospicua (Bormla)
142 reviews
6.3 mi away
Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants
6.3 mi away
Artemisia B & B
Artemisia B & B
#1 of 1 in Mosta
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Palazzo Violetta
Palazzo Violetta
#1 of 14 in Sliema
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Lodge
Harbour Lodge
#3 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrow

Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarxien
Price Range: $74 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrow Malta/Tarxien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing