We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Our cosy lounge with maple floor, beamed ceiling and arch picture window to catch the fabulous views Spacious kitchen/dining room,with underfloor heating,where everyone can enjoy a social meal together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spectacular views from the patio, stretching from Hadrians Wall to the Lake District & Scotland.
Our cosy lounge with maple floor, beamed ceiling and arch picture window to catch the fabulous views
Spacious kitchen/dining room,with underfloor heating,where everyone can enjoy a social meal together
The grass is not always greener, as the cows found out today, whilst checking out the new arrivals.
A really comfy bed with en suite, and your own private balcony & hayloft steps.
High pitched ceilings creating a wonderful sense of space & relaxation. En suite.
Cosy twin room with arrow slit window, beamed ceilings & antique furniture.
Crammel Linn waterfall, for the extreme canoeist when in full spate, not for the faint hearted
This is Sweep our faithful friend. Always keen and loves meeting new friends, hobbies include sheep.
The girls out for a stroll. Not quite sure what Betty,Doris & Mable think of it? Pretty unimpressed.
I took this shot while out feeding the sheep,the colours are fantastic, looking down into the gorge.
Private fishing in the spectacular Irthing Gorge.Site of special  scientific interest. Brown trout.
Local Blackface sheep enjoying the views across to Hadrians Wall.
Starry, starry, night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gilsland, Brampton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kittymumb...
lympne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this house. Amazing location for walking Hadrian,s wall. Chris and Paul very friendly. House comfortable and cosy. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Thank you so much.
We really appreciate your comments.
Look forward to seeing you in near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with three other couples and had a lovely weekend. Chris and Paul had left us some milk, the place was immaculate and the setting stunning. Easy to find and Chris greeted us upon arrival. Beautiful place for walks and the view from the garden is just amazing. Chris also helped me out after I managed to leave my whole bag at the cottage, she sent it straight on to me no bother at all. Recommended!

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
It is great fun welcoming & greeting our new guests.
We like to look after our visitors, especially with something as important as your personal luggage.
So good to hear the weekend was a success.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thethreeb...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Paul and Chris are the most wonderful people with a wonderful property hidden away in the hills of North England. It was a heavenly location with a great view. House was large with great facilities. It was clean, warm and spacious for our group of 6.

Paul and Chris were very helpful and accommodating and were on hand if needed, otherwise we were all alone in our slice of paradise. None of us wanted to leave. We hope to come back one day. Thanks again !

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you so much for those kind words.
We are really pleased you all had a great time.
That is what counts to us.
"Satisfied guests".
Awesome !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing