We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dreaming Off the Wall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to be able to walk [part] of Hadrian's wall - this B&B is exceptional -for its location in the middle of what is considered a very special part of the wall( Housestead , Vindolandia, Sygamore)- and rooms and the common spaces available(lounge, garden ) and finally the breakfast prepared by Dick whihc gave us the approrpiate energy through to dinnenr. Best part of the real Wall is just accros from Hill on the Wall in Gilsland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willlem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in 'Flavian's Folly'. It was a wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was huge. The views from the garden at the front (overlooking Hadrian's wall) were fabulous. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious. But most of all - the friendliness of everyone there, in particular the amount of fascinating information about the old 16th century house made us determined to go back again as soon we can. We were on a road trip tour of the North for 10 days and this was by far the best place we stayed at.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have nothing but praise for this guest house. We stayed for 3 days and received a friendly, warm welcome, greeted with tea and cream cakes on arrival. Very impressed with the high standard of accommodation and the many extra treats provided to make our stay even more memorable. The breakfasts were second to none.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early for the rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Beautiful views to Hadrian's Wall from the front facing rooms. Excellent breakfast to a very high standard; huge choice of menu. Elaine, the proprietor truly values her guests and aims to help them in every way she can.

Very highly recommended

Room Tip: Hadrian's retreat has a separate bathroom opposite. Caligula's chamber has an en-suite. We d...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187059John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have never ever stayed in a place like this. Everything is top drawer. We were treated like royalty. We had left our walking sticks in a village hall and mentioned it to Dick. 15 minutes later the sticks were back. We still do not understand how he did that, magic. The view from the luxurious bedroom across the valley was the icing on the cake. By the way, the cake itself was super, as was the tea and all the other food. The price-quality is absolutely brilliant. If you happen to be in the area and do not stay there, you only have yourselves to blame, we have warned you.
Margriet and Huub Stollman from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

About half an hour east of Carlisle this lovely home is yours to share for a night or two. We had 2 rooms for one night, a double and twin with friends. Both were beautiful rooms, the double ensuite the twin with own bathroom across landing. Lots of extra touches in room including tea and coffee in various 'flavours'.
A breakfast award is boasted by certificate on wall and it was very good. Another couple were staying over too and we all had a good chat exchanging travel tales. If there was one criticism - we found the breakfast area a little cramped between table and sideboard for everyone to get their cereal etc but all good quality food. Would suggest just bringing mixed toast to the table if full rather than trying to do to order - got a little confusing.
Location is rural although not quite as close to 'The Wall' (hadrians) as I thought it may be. Lovely countryside view.
Lovely large lounge to relax in, lined with books and dvds, cosy chairs, luxurious homliness

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at The Hill on the Wall was perfect. Having thought about what can be improved I cannot think of a thing. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Elaine who was helpful and informative. The whole accommodation was beautifully presented, with elegant furnishings. The room and en-suite were both good sizes, clean and had everything we could wish for. Many varieties of teas, coffee, bottled water, biscuits and a bar of chocolate, the bathroom had slippers,dressing gowns and a plentiful supply of toiletries. Breakfast was an array of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and we had the cooked breakfast, which was excellent. All in all, excellent accommodation with a lovely host, would definitely stay here again and recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
12.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
15.5 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,012 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
274 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range: $50 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing