We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hill on the Wall whilst hiking along the national trail in March 2013 (in the snow). Ian and Elaine were so friendly and welcoming and although we only stayed for one night it really did feel like a home from home.

The initial welcome from Ian was great, room was spacious and VERY well equipped and breakfast was lovely too. Dinner wasn't served on the premises but not only did they book us in to Brookside Villa B&B for food (which is just down the road and very nice too), they also took our food order, phoned them through and offered to drive us there as well.

We really did feel like nothing would have been too much trouble. All in all i cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: 'Caligulas Chamber' has a lovely view of the front garden and Hadrian's Wall in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 651AndyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
151
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

From the welcoming tea and cake to the fantastic full month breakfast, Elaine made us feel at home. The room was comfortable with tremendous views across to Hadrian's Wall. Dinner isn't served on the premises but she recommended another bed and breakfast down the road which served a hearty meal. The location is ideal for walkers who are tackling the trail along the Wall but it also made a pleasant stop for us on our way to Scotland. We will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PenguinRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Both times I've stayed with Elaine I had a truly wonderful time, I couldn't ask for a better stay. Stunning views and beautifully furnished rooms, A very good breakfast with lots of choice and Elaine herself makes you feel completely at home and couldn't be more generous. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_W24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've been involved in touring theatre for around thirty years and have stayed in hundreds of B and Bs and hotels, and I can say unreservedly that this is one of the very best.
From the moment you enter the place, Elaine makes you feel like family - serving tea and cake (and even a bottle of wine the last time I visited), and making you feel more than welcome in her beautiful house.
The rooms are spacious, warm, and have everything you could need: lots of different teas and coffees, sweets and biscuits, TV with DVD player - and plenty of DVDs to borrow from the lounge.
The bathrooms are first-class, and cosy dressing gowns and slippers are even provided.
Ian, who comes in to make breakfast, is charming, and serves up the most delicious grub to start off your day.
The building is set in the most gorgeous, rolling green countryside and is close to Hadrian's Wall.
Can't recommend this place enough - it will be the highlight of any holiday or business trip.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Elaine's stunning home cannot be bettered. We wished to visit the area including Hadrian's Wall and were not disappointed. We were the only guests at the end of the season and stayed in Caligula's Chamber on Sunday 4th November. We were spoilt from the moment of arrival until departure. Every item of furniture was of the highest quality; comfort was second to none and breakfast was a delight with no item overlooked. It was also a pleasure to meet Ian, (Elaine's Man Friday) who is essential to the smooth running of the large property and garden. Some background music during breakfast would have been welcome but had there been other guests, we would no doubt have been chatting around the fantastic table anyway. A definite return is on the cards, Thanks again Elaine.

Room Tip: If the other rooms are of similar quality,it really does not matter which you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked this at the last minute to give us a taste of Hadrians Wall. The house is set back from the road with stunning views from beautifully furnished rooms. Elaine was the perfect host greeting us with tea and cake. The breakfast choice was huge and the portions set you up for the day.
You can walk from the house to Birdoswald Fort and it is only a short drive to Vindolanda or Housesteads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Beautiful house and surroundings, inside and out, attention to detail in the personal touches, cleanliness and food fantastic. This B&B is a gem can't recommend it highly enough, never felt so welcomed and cared for as I did at the Hill on the Wall. Elaine made our stay such fun, a truly lovely lady and made the weekend of my son's wedding all the more memorable and special. A very big thank you to Elaine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.0 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 27 in Brampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#6 of 15 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
14.2 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Property: The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing