We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Step Back in Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilsland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a group - some of whom were at a conference in the hotel.

It is a large imposing building situated some way out of the village of Gilsland and we were lucky to have a front room with a fabulous view.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and pleasant.

Anyone who has to stay in touch with the office or with the modern world will not be happy here - the mobile coverage is spasmodic and wi-fi is only available on the ground floor.

Anyone who wants a trip back in time to the 60s with retro bedrooms and bathrooms will LOVE IT!

Yes the decor is faded, the plumbing antiquated, the carpets old fashioned and the entertainment dire - but the food is brilliant and plenty of it. The hotel is extremely warm for saying it is located on a hill on the moors and there's plenty of room to sit about and spread out.

Our bathroom was funny - it was a blue bath, bowl and loo and a formica surround to the bowl. Very 60s retro. Quite why the loo roll was screwed right alongside the loo making it stick into one's hip I do not know!

The towels were plentiful and there was a heated towel rail which is very useful for drying other items of hand washing.

The bed was warm and comfortable.
The TV was microscopic but we were out and about and didn't watch it apart from catching up on the news first thing in the morning

Excellent cooked breakfast served buffet style with eggs, bacon, beans, tomatoes, sausages and mushrooms. Unlimited toast, coffee and tea.

I would definitely recommend this stay to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race or have a warm and comfortable base for exploring Hadrian's Wall and surrounding areas.

They do need to sort out about having 2 keys for twin/double rooms though. There were coach parties of elderly people using the hotel and they seemed to enjoy the bingo and comedian and the dancing - there was plenty of room to escape this in the bar where there was a pool table and adequate room for groups of friends to sit and chat.

I would definitely stay here again if in this area.

Room Tip: Front views are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
44
72
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Owned by the Co-op and an ex maternity and convalescence home. An imposing building in its own large grounds in beautiful rolling county side, but step inside and its a different story .Its still a home for the aged, nothing wrong with that, but a hotel well! The décor is faded and in need of the hotel inspector to give advise on coordinating colours and designs. the rooms are dated with creaking floor boards. Its so old fashioned, much like staying with an elderly Aunt. The breakfast was average except porridge was on the menu, which I enjoyed for its novelty value. My biggest bug bear is the evening meal, or more like, bar food only. The Orangery had tables set with white cloths and ready for dinner But not for the likes of us ,No we could only order over the bar and sit amongst people drinking. Elderly coach parties receive the better treatment, a two tier system, and that's from who- the CO- OP. They need to decide on their priorities, what are we and what do we want to be .A nice B & B knocks spots off this hotel. The grounds are lovely though.

Room Tip: A very quiet location we never heard a squeak after ten o clock. The hotel bingo and dance was long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A minor thing, but there was no shelf below the mirror in the bathroom to put make-up or make-up bag, and there was no seat. I had to put my make-up in the sink. Bathroom was huge, so there would have been room for a chair. In the bedroom, there was a dressing table with chair, but no mirror over the dressing table. Also if you opened the bedroom curtains, there was no blind or net curtain to allow privacy. This was room 119 which was partially overlooked, so i had to close the curtains and put the light on. Other facilities were excellent, breakfast was good, but had to put my hand up to catch the waitress's eye after waiting a while, to ask for tea and coffee, then again for toast. I usually expect them to be looking at the guests to see if they need anything. Venue excellent, but it is the room facilities that matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGran64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Wedding-Venue side of business at this hotel is obviously their primary concern as all the related facilities appeared to be very good. However, the coach-trip side of the business, which seems to be their 'bread-and-butter' is less attractive.
We had a double room on the first floor, which was very cramped, and only had one small hard chair as seating. The room had no added comforts at all, and the bathroom was basic. It was difficult to climb into the bath in order to use the shower attachment, as the grab-handle was in the wrong position. And we are both able-bodied people with no health concerns. Both rooms were seriously in need of a deep-clean, and dusty cobwebs revealed their huge inhabitant 2 nights after we arrived!! Beware also of the midges that enjoy coming in through open windows whilst you sleep! A restful stay this was not.
This hotel is in dire need of an up-date, and the young waiting staff in need of some customer-relations training.
However, the meals were good, and the porion-sizes adequate.
The evening entertainment is either Bingo or vocal-acts, neither of which was particulary inspiring. But tv is available in a lounge or in the bedroom as an alternative if it is too cold and dark to stroll outside.
The hotel is in a beautiful location, but we would not visit again as we were too disappointed with the standard of the room for the money that we paid. Had we not been on a coach-trip, we would have left after the first night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if booking independantly. Coach-party travellers have no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here with my mum as part of a coach tour. I,d requested a room with a view-we were allocated room 114 to the front of the hotel. The room had very comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. The view was amazing.The hairdryer wasnt working this was rectified promptly. Breakfast was self service and good. Evening meals were very disappointing-starters-packet soup??!! orange juice-3 chicken nuggets and dip?? The dinning room very brightly lit and no atmosphere like school dinner time for the elderly!! mains were chosen at brekfast-extremely low budget and bland and rushed. I can only assume this was because we were with a coach pary. I hope that this would be better if one were booking directly with hotel?
Entertainment was fine for the age group and there is a seperate bar where you can escape this if you want to. Bar prices were very reasonable £9 for a bottle of decent red wine and non acoholic drinks are £2.
Grounds are well kept and beutiful. Service is friendly. Lots of wonderful places to visit-you,l need a car to do this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. There are many elderly people staying most in groups. But you can use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise635679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group.
Just can't fault this hotel.excellent staff .
What can I say about the meals,Brilliant !
All home made and top quality ingredients....
A really good stay.
Just can't fault it.

Room Tip: You have got to try the custard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just spent a weekend at this beautiful hotel. Although it looked a little austere from the outside, the inside was beautifully decorated and clean throughout. It almost gave us a feeling of going back in time! We were lucky to have been allocated a room on the 2nd floor which was on the corner of the building, with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside. We had a double bed, with a single alongside; table, easy chairs and the usual wardrobe and dressing table. Tea/coffee making facilities (plentiful), thick white fluffy towels, hairdryer, clock radio, large screen tv., were all in the room. Then we found another smaller bedroom with yet another single bed, wardrobe, dresser, towels, tea coffee. Then next door to that a lovely modern bathroom, with complimentary shower soap. It felt like a suite! The package we had for the weekend was bed, breakfast and evening meal, and the food was great! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and if it's peace and tranquility you crave, then this lovely hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nova E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Hall Hotel

Property: Gilsland Hall Hotel
Address: Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AR, England (Formerly Gilsland Spa Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilsland Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gilsland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilsland Hotel Gilsland
Gilsland Hotel Brampton
Gilsland Hall Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing