We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Attended the Gilsland Spa recently for a function, and was impressed by the hotel and its surroundings. After my sat-nav took me the wrong way, managed to find the hotel without problem.

It's set in lovely grounds with ample parking. Staff were attentive, food was of a really high standard.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
44
73
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during a charity event and reall enjoyed our stay.
Tha staff were very friendly and were really flexible with our requirements for out of hours breakfast.
Thanks to all there for their hospitality and support.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randomcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went for a belated birthday meal ,the staff were very friendly and polite.The food was lovely and the service was great,very comfortable chairs and amazing views outside,hotel is lit up at night and looks beautiful.Would go back wonderful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed with our group for two nights. The staff are friendly and everyone went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable but it was also tired and dated with a dubious pink carpet and the most basic of furniture. We had a room with an internal view which just looked at the wall oposite, there are rooms that take advantage of the lovely outside views available for an additional cost. Our room was £95 per night B&B, I didn't consider it to be good value.
Although there were a few younger people there and our group are all over 50, I felt that I was staying in a home for the gentile retired. In the evening there is entertainment which on Saturday was musicians and old time dancing and on sunday was bingo followed by music. It was aimed squarely at the over 75's. There seemed to be tour companies using the hotel but at the prices they were charging I though that the elderly clientel could make their pension go further elsewhere. There is a set price dinner but there is only one serving at 7pm. There is carvery available in the bar but this is only available until 8pm. The bar does not have an extensive selection of either wines or beers. The breakfast was adequate and served buffet style.
I am sure the hotel serves a niche market but I don't yet feel old enough to fit their target demographic and won't be returning.
Don't be fooled into thinking this is a spa hotel, the hotel is located in Gilsland Spa

Room Tip: We were in room 139 which had an internal view. Some of our group were in smaller rooms. The rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I feel as a coach driver arriving at the hotel, I was welcomed by the manager who got on board on the coach to welcome the guests and explain to my passengers the entertainment, breakfast and evening meal.

Unloading the luggage to deliver their luggage to their rooms which I thought was a big plus, their evening and breakfast was very good all my passengers loved the hospitality the views from the hotel were stunning and on the morning of departure the porter was excellent to deliver the luggage on time, I feel that this hotel needs a 4 or 5 star rating to all the excellent staff within this hotel. Thank you very much, Charlie, Elcock Hollidays

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently had our wedding here. We had a brilliant day. Louise and the team did a great job. The service, arrangements and the food especially the dessert at the wedding breakfast was the best some have had at a wedding! The location is beautiful and we were very lucky to have a clear day and it snowed at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend highly for a wedding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandsarahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Extremely clean and tidy in a lovely location with great scenery! Staff are very friendly and even remembered what drinks you like to order from the bar. The rooms were comfortable and warm and the food was tasty with lots of choice! I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidandjoanne1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
4.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
4.0 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
102.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
35.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.3 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Hall Hotel

Property: Gilsland Hall Hotel
Address: Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AR, England (Formerly Gilsland Spa Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilsland Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gilsland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilsland Hotel Gilsland
Gilsland Hotel Brampton
Gilsland Hall Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing