We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five enjoyable days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilsland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five enjoyable days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having read some reviews of this hotel we wondered what we would find here.. We found a lovely large room, with spectacular views, spacious bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space and lots of coat hangers, staff who were extremely helpful- in short, we had a great holiday! The food was well-cooked and varied, and whilst we didn't stay for much of the entertainment those who did seemed to enjoy it. The bedroom was warm and comfortable - three chairs, table, desk - the bathroom had plenty of room for toilet bags and the towels were large and soft, the shower simple and effective. We came with a coach party from our local area, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    79
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
44
72
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A group of us visited the Gilsland Spa Hotel, ( for the fourth time ) for a five day winter's break. We received the same great welcome from the staff there, as we have had in the past. Visiting Gilsland is like going home. It is surrounded by picturesque scenery and is a few hundred yards from Hadrian's Wall. The reception area of the hotel is spacious so there isn't pushing and shoving when you arrive to get the room key. The bedrooms vary in size but are warm and easy to get to by lift. Our room faced south and the views from our windows were spectacular. Tea and coffee facilities were in all rooms and plenty of wardrobe space and drawers.
The dining room was huge, very pleasant, with plenty of staff and excellent service. The food was great with a good variety of foods and wines. The hotel also has a comfortable coffee bar that serves tea, coffee, cakes and sandwiches. The bar was open until after 11p.m. and the bar staff very helpful.
Entertainment was okay with singers, bingo and dancing. It was more to the older person's taste of entertainment. We had a great holiday, more than made by the staff at Gilsland Spa Hotel. Well worth another visit .

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms at the front of the house with the lovely views. Then when you open the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwickupontweed
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gilsland spa and found it to be a very good location for visiting surrounding areas and places of interest. The hotel was more than adequate for a short break. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and of a good standard for the money we paid. The food was also well presented and portions good. We will certainly be going back

Room Tip: it seems you can't ask for a specific room but we were shown a couple and they all seem to be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

A useful,rural location for local attractions in East Cumbria/West Northumberland and Northern Pennines but do not expect luxury. It has reasonable facilities especially if you like dancing, bingo etc.It has a large ballroom, an adequate bar and has the capacity to host conferences/functions etc. Depite its new facilities it is in need of more updating. It's bedrooms reminded me more of a comfortable B&B but lacked the touches that would justify a good or higher rating e.g no long mirror in the room for partner to ensure her appearance met her standards- an essential if the hotel wants to be serious about hosting conferences and functions.

We did have a new bed- we stayed in the same room the previous year and noticed the difference. It,nevertheless, was a bit on the hard side.

Despite other reviewers' complaints about the cold we found it too warm( cold outside) and had to open windows in the dining room and bedroom

The local countryside is full of wild north country charm and proximity to Hadrians Wall,Talkin Tarn( beautiful on a sunny March day) 1.3 mile walk around the lake and cafe with good choice of snacks etc,Brampton (Cumbrian Antiques centre featured on Antiques Road Trip Show) Lanercost Priory ( English Heritage) and many other more distant visiting opportunities for a longer stay.

The food is perhaps worthy of a good rating. Not cordon bleu or michelin star but solidly traditional .Meat was v tender and veg well cooked and tasty.Staff are v friendly too.
The hotel is about a mile from the village, dowhill - nice cafe to prepare for the return hike uphill ( v steep in parts) esp after an excellent breakfast.

Although not my 'cup of tea', the hotel was v. good for the v. large group that had organised the weekend function and very good value for what we got.

Overall,it will probablybe more attractive to the older, more traditional of that generation, who are more traditional in taste and enjoy dancing/bingo etc as entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I came to Gilsland as children when her grandfather worked on the railway in the 1950's. The Spa Hotel was considered very posh and in those days ordinary people like us could not afford to stay there. For my 65th birthday our son arranged a special weekend and having heard us talking about the Gilsland Spa booked a weekend for us. What a disappointment. Having travelled from London we arrived late about 6.30pm although we had phoned ahead to confirm our arrival. Having booked in without seeing the room we were told that there was no table available in the dining room that evening as dinner was almost over. We were advised to drive into Carlisle - this was after spending 8 hours on the road already and as my wife and I were both tired we simply went to our room. Next morning we slept in and did not go to the breakfast room until 8.15 (Sunday Morning) when we were told most guests had already eaten. There were some cereals left and some luke warm porridge but the coffee was either instant or stewed beyond hope. Stunned by the graciousness of our northern welcome we returned to our room and for the first time noticed the overwelming smell of animal urine or at least that is what I thought it was. As if a previous guest had kept a large dog locked in the room. We had been so tired the previous night we had not noticed. In daylight the room was dirty and the hinges of the cupboards broken. A previous guest had used the soap in the bathroom and a large hairy ape had appeared to have used the shower as it had moulted and blocked the drain. Never again. The room had been paid for in advance by our son but we didnt stop and left that morning without claiming a refund as my wife was so upset. We havent told our son yet as he worked hard to pay for this holiday and birthday present for me. Do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience we have had. Arrived on 30th Dec 2012 by coach (GLine) to freezing cold hotel ,only ballroom was heated. Evening meal was mediocre biffet with tasteless frozen vegetables. Entertainment was mainly bingo and sequence dancing in ballroom. This was the same morning, afternoon and evening for the 3 days we were there including New Years Eve!
Breakfasts were good with hot well cooked food. Finger bufffet served New Years Dasy consisted of 2 types of sandwiches, pork pie, mini "Iceland" type savouries and a pathetic variety of "buns" for dessert or alternatively a paltry cheese selection. Hotel would not provide clean plate for dessert and we were told to use our main course plate! Unbelievable! Room was very dingly with poor cheap quality pince furniture and outdated pink bathroom.
New Years Eve gala served at 6.30 when only difference was a candle on table and a small flute of cheap white wine. 2 starters which were melon (no choice) followed by soup or fruit juice. Don't know ehere they get the 4 star rating from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It is a bit of a time warp in here. Great if you were born about 70 years ago. Old time dancing etc. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly, food is very good - good choice at breakfast. The rooms are very dated indeed but were comfortable and clean. A bit tight on toiletries (had no soap on our last day in the dispenser). The view we had from our room was exceptional. It looks like there are lovely walks in the area, we did not wonder as guess what it was raining again and the walks were very muddy. We attended a turkey and tinsel break and although there were decorations around, there was not a very christmassy feel about it! We did see a very good act one night in the entertainment, she was called Holly Wood and very good she was too. We also found the manager to be very good too, he was always there at breakfast and dinner he was very friendly and always seemed available if you had any queries. It was a good hotel but a little old worldie for me!!! It is a very quiet hotel.

Room Tip: try and get front room because views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Hall Hotel

Property: Gilsland Hall Hotel
Address: Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AR, England (Formerly Gilsland Spa Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilsland Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gilsland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilsland Hotel Gilsland
Gilsland Hotel Brampton
Gilsland Hall Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing