We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mechapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This location was ideal for our family of 4. We were there for 6 days and managed to get in a wide variety of the activities. The fishing from the panga was a blast with an excellent captain. Exploring the Parde Ramos estuary is also a must do. Getting to and from RBR is a fun part of the adventure, and getting off the beaten track is very worthwhile.
We stayed in palapa 3 for most of the time and upgraded to the 'house' the last 2 nights. The palapa was fine, but with 4 of us the house was really nice and is what we should have chosen from the start.
A big thanks to Mike and Stacey for going out of their way to making our stay really wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WYFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 208 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My 8-year old daughter and I spend three days at RBR at the recommendation of my family who have visited a number of times. The resort, hosts Stacey and Mike, and the surrounding beach exceeded our expectations. I was unsure if there would be enough activities to entertain my daughter, but between the beach, exploring the cliffs down the beach, catching crabs, and feeding Don Guido (the onsite parrot!), she was always busy and loved every minute. Stacey and Mike were excellent and always available to attend to whatever needs we had and full of entertaining stories. The food was fresh and excellent, the cabins very clean and quiet, and the other guests were a joy to get to know. We will definitely be returning and strongly recommend to anyone who is looking for true peach and quiet at an authentic beach resort.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Redwood beach Resort and we loved it! It is perfect for couples or families that want to totally relax and want also the possibility to do some different activities. We want kayaking in the mangroves which was beautiful, drove a motorcycle on the beach, went fishing out at sea and brought back 3 awesome huge fish (and enjoyed them for dinner... miammmm). We even went crab hunting the first night on the beach with Michael and then had a great crab soup the next day :). Our cabana was awesome super clean, with AC and all in cedar with a super hammock on the porch to relax.
Stacy and Mike are great hosts, they took good care of us, the meals were delicious and we had some good conversations around a beer with them and other guests.
We recommend this beach resort to all couples and family that want a good place to seriously get away from it all and still enjoy a lot of activities. The spot is awesome, it's not crowded at all.
We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melijarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Dan, and ex-Chicago steel worker and Stacy, his wife and X-Psychologist bought this place 8-9 years ago and have created a little paradise. The beach is on the tip of the penninsula that juts into the Gulfo de Fonseca; El Salvador is across the bay. The beach is remote and unpopulated with a small fishing village where you watch the boats go out and the sun set simaltaneously every night.

The rooms are small hand built (BY Dan) Cabinas, with nice beds and a tiled shower (cold water only). The central gathering space is a round open sided affair with a tiled roof. It serves as dining room, meeting place and afternoon cocktail event. A small kitchen/bar is attached and you log your drinks and sundries on a piece of paper under a magnet of the side of the cooler; pretty user friendly and on the honor system.

We went deep see fishing, rode horse back on a Spanish Land Grant hacienda, drank Flur de Cana rum; the best and walk endlessly on the beach. If you want to get off the gris, no cell service, internet or TV, this is the place. Dan and Stacy are the perfectly gracious hosts, and even allowed me to prepare dinner one night for the entire guest community, with fresh clams they had procured from a local, but had never attempted to use before.

All and all, this was the perfect end to our stay in Nicaragua. We spent three days, four nights, and left feeling like we we old and dear friends. I think of them often, fondly, and hope to return one day. This is a rare feeling as we generally look forward to the next adventure.

If you go, you will not be disapointed.

James Rickson

Room Tip: When you get to the end of the paved road, and enter the wash board dirt road, don't despair! E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrickson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just a few weeks after returning from a fantastic stay at RBR, we decided to return for another 6 nights (see our previous review from December 22, 2012).

When we arrived at the resort, we were welcomed like old friends and given a wonderful surprise. Stacy had upgraded us to the owners house. When we were last there, the house was undergoing some updating and it turned out really well. The upstairs has two bedrooms with a bath in between. The upstairs porch is huge – with a hammock, rocking chairs and a small seating arrangement. Underneath there is an open area with a pool table, small bar, rocking chairs, beach chairs and another hammock. The owners house has a small fridge (which was stocked with our favorite beverages) and a TV and DVD player (apparently there is cable, but we never even turned the TV on).

This trip we mostly relaxed and took a few rides on the motorcycles. We also watched some ‘outdoor movies’ (Mike sets up the TV and DVR in the tiki bar, and you can lay in a hammock and watch movies). Of course crab hunting was also on the agenda one evening (note to others – it is better when the moon is not full – apparently the little critters don’t come out so much on a full moon).

The food was excellent (as it was the first time) – fresh fish and vegetables. Tempura fish was great, as was the red snapper in a light coconut sauce. And there is something wonderful about crab chowder when you catch the crabs the night before!

The staff remembered us from our last trip and was very gracious about helping me with my awful Spanish.

All in all another wonderful and memorable trip. We are already planning our next return for my birthday in May!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have spent a significant amount of time in Nicaragua and are currently escaping the winter in Canada here for 6 months in a rented villa. When we need a holiday from our holiday we head north to Playa Mechapa, home to Redwood Beach Resort. We have visited RBR several times, and we always manage to stay much longer than planned. Owners Mike and Stacy, two of our favourite expats in Nicaragua, have created an incredibly beautiful, secluded, and peaceful hotel nestled amongst dreamy palm trees lining the beachfront property.

The pricetag is a bit more upscale for the well-appointed beachfront bungalows than the typical backpacker joints you normally find in Northern Nicaragua, but Redwood is clean, safe, and idyllic in so many ways that we really believe it is worth it. We have been spoiled with air conditioning, hot showers, delicious meals, great service, and genuine friendship each time we have stayed at RBR, never mind the fact that Playa Mechapa is truly an area of Nicaragua that has yet to be discovered, which could not be more obvious when you stroll down the deserted beach. *insert blissful sigh here*

RBR also has a fantastic restaurant that serves all different types of fresh food, including local seafood, as well as a wide variety of domestic and imported beer and other alcohol. Make sure you try the fresh oysters - they are huge, fresh, and to die for, especially when you add a splash of 4-year white Flor de Caña, one of Nicaragua’s finest rums! RBR also offers so many tours that you could keep busy for an entire week. Close to Mechapa you can hike to the summit of the Volcano Cosiguina, go on a kayaking tour of the Estero Padre Ramos, feel the sea breeze blowing your hair as you ride down the beach on a dirtbike, visit the cliff band down the beach where you can also get a view of El Salvador, catch your own dinner on a fishing trip, or simply lounge on a beach bed under the shade of the spectacular coconut trees and take a much-deserved siesta after all that activity!

Mike and Stacey, originally from the USA, have been in Mechapa for six years and it is impossible not to feel their enthusiasm about the community while listening to them talk about how much they still love living, while making a living, in Nicaragua. We have returned to RBR again and again, and plan to continue doing so in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 8 nights at RBR and had a fantastic time. We chose the 'Machapa Papa' experience with everything included which was great value. From the moment we arrived in Managua we were treated like family. Guillermo picked us up at the airport and drove the 4 hours north to RBR - not having to rent a car is part of the great value. We arrived at 5pm just in time for a glorious sunset, cold beverages (included, more value), and delicious fresh fish dinner. Cabana #1 is right on the beach with hot shower and fluffy white towels, a/c, and a super comfy bed with luxury linens. Stacey and Mike are wonderful hosts. We met wonderful fellow travellers and enjoyed great conversations the entire week - at every delicious family style meal we would share stories about a great day in the water, horseback riding, kayaking on the estuary, exploring the beach on the motorbike, fishing, or just hanging with a good book in the hammock (one on every cabana porch). Francis prepared great breakfast, Maria did a wicked lunch, and Sergio offered amazing dinners. Stacey overseeas the entire kitchen and takes charge of daily deliveries of fresh fish, fruits, tortillas, all from the local villagers. Young Michael climbs for fresh coconuts and mixes up delicious flor de cana drinks! Mike set up the Theatre Under the Stars which was super cool and he directed our evening fun and games - crab hunting, table crawl, even a game of pool! We learned a lot about Nicaragua in general, Chinendaga in particular, and Mechapa in great detail. All very interesting. RBR is a unique resort - the perfect blend of comfort, beauty, and adventure. If you are looking for a great vacation this is it - drive to the end of the road, then keep going 'till you hit the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechapa
33.6 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega
21.9 mi away
Marina Puesta del Sol
Marina Puesta del Sol
#2 of 2 in Aposentillo
48 reviews
18.1 mi away
Coco Loco Eco Resort
Coco Loco Eco Resort
#1 of 6 in El Viejo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cabanas Vistas del Pacifico
Cabanas Vistas del Pacifico
#2 of 3 in Jiquilillo
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Beach Resort

Address: 100 Beach Way | 65 km NW de Chinandega, 10 km W de Cosiguina, Mechapa, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Chinandega Department > Mechapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mechapa
Price Range: $113 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Beach Resort is located on the beach in Mechapa, Nicaragua. Each of our beautiful villas have a large private bathroom, private balcony, air conditioning, and a breathtaking view of a secluded, clean, and safe beach. Our oceanfront restaurant serves fresh seafood dishes and international cuisine. We offer the Mechapa Papa All-Inclusive Tour. The resort also offers adventure tour packages and activities, including ocean fishing, kayaking the Estero Padre Ramos, horseback riding, tours of the Volcano Cosiguina, motorcycle and quadcycle rentals, and more. Truly a Hidden Paradise! Our passion is customizing your vacation stay so that you leave with incredible memories and an unforgettable trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Redwood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Beach Hotel Mechapa
Redwood Beach Resort Nicaragua/Mechapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing