We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place on Exmoor”
Review of The Pack Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allerford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pack Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Packhorse is a great place with plenty of walks on your doorstep whatever the weather. Just park your car and leave it - get the bus to County Gate ( Bus Pass !) and walk back (downhill!!) along the coastal path.

The accommodation ( warm and cosy in winter) is kept to a very high standard being constantly updated and improved. Linda and Brian have an excellent website which has all the information you need.

Cream teas are served with bubbly (and bunting!!) if you are staying at the time of a Royal Celebration so if you are lucky enough to be there in July !!!

Thank you Linda and Brian for another great holiday.

M & T. Cornwall

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MargaretL302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have just returned from the Packhorse after another great week. That makes it 7 years now we have had our holidays down there at the PACKHORSE. That must say that Linda & Brian do a perfect job making sure the accommodation and your stay are memorable. We found this gem in 2006 and as we have dogs, can't resist the temptation to keep returning to explore the Exmoor areas and beyond.
You will find the apartments in excellent condition, clean, comfortable and cosy for your stay. We have tried several know, depending on the size of our group on each visit. So if you want a place to stay and self cater, this is the best. Don't just take my word for it, whether you have dogs or not give it a try. You never know you may then become a regular visitor year upon year as we do. Many thanks to Linda & Brian for looking after us again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had another wonderful stay at The Packhorse, this time we were there for 3 glorious weeks! We stayed in the Bridge Apartment, which is delightful. However, I have stayed in the Rose Apartment on another occasion and that is really great too. Linda & Brian are the perfect hosts and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. A welcome cup of tea on arrival and then every Friday Linda makes the best cream teas around! We ate ours in the lovely surroundings of their courtyard. If you're looking for a great place to chill, then you've found it at The Packhorse. Plus if you're into activities there is so much to do. The walks in the surrounding area are fab - lanes, woods or to the beach! You are bound to see deer when walking on Exmoor or around Porlock Hill. If you're lucky you may catch sight of the otters that sometimes visit the river next to the Packhorse, in late evening. I didn't see them this time but I most definitely heard them. However, I did encounter the 'eel family' when Brian enticed them out with some ham! Over the years, I have stayed in various places within the area and can honestly say that you feel so welcome and at home, you just don't want to leave! So that's why I've booked another 3 weeks in May 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A return visit to Stable Cottage at The Pack Horse proved that returning does not always prove dissapointing. It was still a perfect peaceful spot to unwind for a few days with the wonderfull area of Exmoor and the Somerset and north Devon coasts to explore.
Allerford is a very much unexplored little village containing much to interest the traveller and the great costal bus service gets you along the South West Coast Path.
The Pack Horse is set in a wonderfull courtyard setting with a stream flowing under a historic packhorse bridge where we watched barn owls emerging at dusk.
What more can you ask for. Here`s to the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackpackingRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allerford hotels
0.0 mi away
Cross Lane House
Cross Lane House
#1 of 4 in Allerford
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Cottage
Tudor Cottage
#2 of 4 in Allerford
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
#3 of 4 in Allerford
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Address: Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Allerford
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Visit Britain 4* specialty lodging in an idyllic location. Owner manager onsite 24 hrs Personal booking service, restaurants, leisure pursuits & transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse Allerford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing