We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tudor Cottage(Allerford)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Old Stables(Allerford)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
209
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detaillittle touchesvery special placeat homeafternoon teaexmoor national parksmall hotelcar windscreennational trustcomplimentary mini barexcellent foodon arrivalmany thankslocal produceevening mealwarm welcomewonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 209 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at this gorgeous small hotel. The hotel had such a welcoming atmosphere and our room was so comfortable. So much thought has gone into making this an exceptional place to stay. Wonderful bed, bedding, teas, bathrooms and toiletries. Andrew was so lovely, never in your face but always there when needed. The food too was very nice using plenty of locally sourced products. The hotel sits in a beautiful quintessentially English setting in a National Trust village, the house has real history and has been beautifully restored with so many thoughtful touches. Close to some wonderful walks and just 15 minutes walk to the coast. We really felt so comfortable we didn't want to go home. We want to return with the family for our anniversary next year. A very special place run by a friendly team, this hotel deserves to do well.

Room Tip: The rooms are all individual. We had the Fry room which was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and a very good size. It does face the main Coastal road which can be busy during the day but was very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chezla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLane, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We very much look forward to welcoming you back with your family next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at Cross Lane House. The rooms were lovely, with lots of additional thoughtful touches from the jars of jelly babies to the fresh fruit to the lavender pillow mist. The welcome and service we received from Andrew, Max and their team was excellent, the atmosphere was warm and homely. On arrival we enjoyed a pot of tea and homemade biscuits in the beautiful sitting room, lots of magazine and books to look through at the end of a long day sightseeing. Breakfast was without a doubt the best we have ever had, with local produce making it that bit more special, and a wide variety of choice from the delicious Exmoor breakfast to the homemade waffles with fresh berries straight from the garden. We had a wonderful time celebrating a golden wedding anniversary and finding Cross Lane made it all the more special. We just wish we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such an important event in your lives. We are just delighted that could do our part to make it memorable time for you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an absolute gem of an hotel. We stayed for two nights in early April and were made to feel so welcome by the owners and staff, who are justifiably proud of what they offer. Decoration and furnishings are of high quality - that very comfortable and comforting English country style. Lots of thoughtful touches like Nespresso machine in the bedroom, crisp cotton bedding, home cooked biscuits, treats for the dogs etc. There was a good choice for breakfast and it was plentiful. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and were spoilt for choice - everything was well cooked and beautifully presented. As the weather was so lovely we were even able to sit outside after dinner in the covered courtyard and enjoy our coffee, together with our dogs. This is a perfect small hotel and will now be our hotel of choice when we visit the Minehead area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLane, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are delighted that we were able to offer you a comfortable place to stay and good food. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

From arrival to departure, our overnight stay here was exquisite. We relaxed with tea and scrumptious cake on the front lawn, surrounded by a quintessential country cottage garden. Yes it is quite close to the road, but somehow this lovely, ancient house envelopes you and blocks the rest of the world out - we were never bothered by any noise whatsoever. Our room was extremely comfortable, with everything and more you may have needed. Our meal in the dining room that night was truly one of the best we have ever experienced. Tom, our waiter was charming and knowledgeable, a complete professional. Chef Gareth is an impressive talent. Thank you again. Andrew and Max thank you also - you gave us memories of a delightful stay that will remain with us until we return, as we will, for this magical and peaceful place is the perfect anecdote to the hectic outside world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gara358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLane, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Just delighted that we were able to offer you a haven from your busy lives for a short while, hope that you managed to re-charge and rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this place through the National Trust website and are so glad we were able to book the Acland suite for a couple of nights. The hospitality is second to none and the standard of service excellent in all regards. Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner were all wonderful, with a lovely menu selection, catering for all tastes. The house is beautifully and tastefully furnished and fitted, as befits its historic standing, and is in such an amazing setting, ideally located for exploring the north Devon/Somerset coast and Exmoor National Park. Thank you Andrew, Max and the team. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: The Acland suite has a double and a single room, with a private bathroom between the two, perfect for my husband and I traveling with my sister.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MID3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLane, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Your feedback is very much appreciated and also your positive comments. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews