We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
210
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detaillittle touchesat homeafternoon teaexmoor national parksmall hotelcar windscreenexcellent foodnational trustnothing is too much troublecomplimentary mini barmany thankslocal produceon arrivalevening mealwarm welcomewonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 210 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We recently enjoyed a short trip to Somerset as a birthday celebration and were advised that Cross Lane House might suit us. Having read previous reviews, we expected high standards and were not disappointed. This place is a gem !

A National Trust building with a very intersesting history, it has been beautifully restored without losing any of its character and charm. In fact, in our view, it is a template for a successful adaptation of an historic structure to provide the modern comforts and standards we all have come to expect.

We got a very warm welcome from our hosts, Max and Andrew, who have developed an exceptional product - with a restaurant providing a high standard of cuisine featuring locally sourced produce, together with really comfortable accommodation with great little design touches everywhere. Spotlessly clean throughout, coupled with excellent professional service from the entire team (thanks Tom) - we found it to be absolutely to our taste and we are already planning to return with some friends.

They even arranged wonderful weather for us - not easy in March ! Well done to all.

Allerford village is a small quaint settlement with an historic pack-horse bridge and is a great base for walks etc - with directional details to borrow supplied on laminated sheets by Cross Lane House upon request. Porlock - a larger village - is quite close (just over a mile distant) and has a selection of various shops/pubs etc if required and nearby Porlock Weir provides an interesting historic harbour setting with a selection of food/drink facilities.

Max and Andrew deserve highest credit for what they provide in Cross Lane House.

Room Tip: Choose any room available - you can't go wrong here in our view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RostrevorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I only ended up here because the first place the National Trust were going to put me up in was full and the second place had gone bust, so it was third time extremely lucky. The hospitality, courtesy and room were all excellent and the breakfast was absolutely superb. Although I didn't have dinner there, I met some clearly "well-off" locals who said the food was outstanding. I would love to take my wife there in future, she would be in her element!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Alastair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Third time luck for us as well, as it was a pleasure to meet and be of service to you. We very much look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for a leisure break with your wife. Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Cross Lane House is a delightful place to stay with the most attentive (but appropriate) service from Max, Andrew and the wonderful team. The house has been lovingly restored and is beautiful whilst still being comfortable and very welcoming. Max and Andrew are the best hosts in the world and seem to know what you would like before you have even realised yourself. They are building a fantastic team of local, young, enthusiastic people (both front and back of house) and they are making a great job of it. Tom who shares front of house with Max and Andrew and helps them run the restaurant is a great asset and I am sure will continue to be more so in the future. The restaurant is of a very high quality with a varied and interesting menu (plenty of veggie choices) and a great use of local produce. We ate there both nights and had wonderful meals, the fish stew and blue cheese souffle were 'stand out' dishes for me. Gary had a great local steak, perfectly cooked. I would definitely recommend Cross Lane House both for a meal and also for a stay, it is relaxing, charming and very good value for money.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms at present (although there are plans to add a few more) they are all lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manda_and_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely few days spent here, every attention to detail. Rooms excellent, comfy beds, lovely drawing room and cosy dining room. Friendly hosts and staff. This is a place not to miss. Will go back for sure. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiejarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for you generous comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Here are the reasons we think this place has had so many "Excellent" reviews: Great spot on edge of Exmoor. 16 th century character house with lots of original features. Interior design flair throughout. Great mix of contemporary and antique furniture and furnishings. Outstanding levels of genuine service. Great attention to detail - worthy of the very best hotels we've ever stayed in. Restaurant that offers good atmosphere and good food. Delicious full English breakfast. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Cowshed bath products. Space to swing a cat! Relaxed atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Good value. We plan to return and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

The Cross Lane House team really appreciate your review. The detail helps us research what is really important to our guests, so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews