We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
210
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detaillittle touchesat homeafternoon teaexmoor national parksmall hotelcar windscreenexcellent foodnational trustnothing is too much troublecomplimentary mini barmany thankslocal produceon arrivalevening mealwarm welcomewonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 210 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely few days spent here, every attention to detail. Rooms excellent, comfy beds, lovely drawing room and cosy dining room. Friendly hosts and staff. This is a place not to miss. Will go back for sure. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiejarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for you generous comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Here are the reasons we think this place has had so many "Excellent" reviews: Great spot on edge of Exmoor. 16 th century character house with lots of original features. Interior design flair throughout. Great mix of contemporary and antique furniture and furnishings. Outstanding levels of genuine service. Great attention to detail - worthy of the very best hotels we've ever stayed in. Restaurant that offers good atmosphere and good food. Delicious full English breakfast. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Cowshed bath products. Space to swing a cat! Relaxed atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Good value. We plan to return and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

The Cross Lane House team really appreciate your review. The detail helps us research what is really important to our guests, so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay in such a lovely hotel. The attention to detail was unbelievable, The staff were very attentive and friendly without being fussy. A very good selection of breakfasts was offered and cooked to perfection as was the evening meal. This was a small hotel and it was very homely with a log burner and its warming glow welcoming us when we arrived, with a much needed cup of tea and cakes. Unable to fault this hotel and can only give the rating that it deserves, which is excellent in all departments.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris503782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Cross Lane House and are delighted that we were able to play our part, in what was I am sure a well earned break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Last summer we enjoyed a wonderful lunch, in the sunshine, outside, in the beautiful courtyard. The tables were exquisitely set and the meal was first rate. Now we have enjoyed afternoon tea - a sumptuous meal which rivalled anything in London - we sat by a roaring fire and ate sandwiches - tiny cakes - scones and much else. A wide choice of teas and full and hot teapots appeared at regular intervals. Andrew, our host, was charming, and nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to go back. Dinner next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for visiting us for Afternoon Tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you for dinner very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place, attention to detail was second to none. Our only problem was the noise of the cars on the road. We are use to living away from the road. Otherwise, wow! what a place, beautiful setting. The meals we had were gorgeous and the porridge was to die for!!

Room Tip: Choose the Ackland Suite, we will next time, slightly off from the road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for you kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the porridge! We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews