We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
210
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detaillittle touchesat homeafternoon teaexmoor national parksmall hotelcar windscreenexcellent foodnational trustnothing is too much troublecomplimentary mini barmany thankslocal produceon arrivalevening mealwarm welcomewonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 210 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is stylish whilst still retaining that personal touch. The food was fantastic and complemented by an extensive and well chosen drinks menu. The staff were friendly and attentive without being overbearing and the location is spot on for those wanting to explore the moor or the coastal path.

Thoroughly recommended and we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My first job at the age of 12 was at Cross Lane House several years ago and my how it has changed since then! The hotel closed for several years and desperately needed a renovation, it seems that this renovation finally came about and has been done remarkably well. The rooms are stylish and modern but remain in keeping with the old National Trust building, colours are intelligently mixed with beautiful furniture and lovely decoration to create a relaxed ambience.

Location is excellent, situated in the National Trust village of Allerford making a perfect base to explore beautiful Exmoor.

Food was wonderful, however lunch was a little pricey- would recommend the triple cooked chips!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Many thanks for your reveiw, all feedback is very much appreciated. We are delighted that with your previous knowledge of Cross Lane House you were impressed with the progress in restoration. We find that al lunch-time our guests prefer a lighter lunch and our daytime menu consists of sandwiches, salads and pastas starting at £5.00 with the average main course at around £8.00-10.00. However, we have recently had a series of lunches where the host/ess have especially requested that only our full three course supper menu be available to to their guests at lunchtime, a request that we have positivley embraced. It could be that you were attending one of these celebration events and were un-aware of the special request that had been made. We would love to talk to you when you next visit of your memories of Cross Lane House. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Elegant and stylish rooms and beautifully cooked local dishes. Service was excellent, coping faultlessly with three generations from 12 to 80 and their differing dietary requirements. We enjoy fine dining and very much look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on bedrooms as we only used the restaurant this time.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here. All the food was amazing as was the whole experience. Luckily our friends live right nearby so we hope to repeat it all again. Note that we have rated the rooms because it forced us to although we did not stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleocleocleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This new venture of Max & Andrew is a real hidden gem in Somerset! I had the most relaxing weekend and by the way the Atlantic is only a short walk away. Every room and corner at Cross Lane House has been done up beautifully. Attention to detail is second to none! Stunning colours with wonderful furniture, lovely treats in the room, heavenly comfortable beds and amazing window seating with a view to die for! The food is yummy with a spectacular wine, gin & whiskey list. One felt at home, but at the same time being looked after by true professionals with lots of charm. Claridge's watch out! I can only recommend Cross Lane House and I shall be back regularly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews