We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinbasket Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beavermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinbasket Lake Resort
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not go back !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Kinbasket lake resort sounded fantastic and just what we wanted.

Firstly, I would like to say the positives with the campground:
- The scenery is breath-taking
- We found the campsite clean
- All the staff were friendly, Rick is a personable host
- Although a little rustic, the washroom were always clean, and had plenty of hot water
- There were no Mosquitos

Their website indicated:
- The road is a 5 km Forestry Service Road with switchbacks
- indicated there will be a combined time of horns of about 90 seconds per day, and the low rumbling of the trains for about an hour in total.
- Quiet Time is 10PM until 9AM - conversation level only, no music or excessive noise
- vigorously enforce rules about conduct & noise

What we encountered and experienced:
- the Forestry road was "extremely" hard to manouver on motorcycles (with a trailer)
- the condition of the road is beyond the resorts control, however road condition should "really" be identified as realistic possible concerns for all campers (as i did have verbal communication w/Rick when booking the camp site).
- The mountain and lake view is amazing
- for such a beautiful lake, there is no swim area
- the dust on the raodways and around the campground was extreme, again this is out of control of the resort as it hadn't rained in 6 weeks
- 27 trains/day travelled through the campsite 24 hrs/day, blowing it's horn and making noise.
- the noise from the train & tracks sounded like the train was at your doorstep, making it very difficult to sleep
- the train noise (occuring all nite long) should "really" be identified as realistic possible concerns for all campers and not a combined total of 90 seconds. (This is another insult as to not identify it as it really is.)
- there is no beach ! (calling anything around the campground a "beach" is an insult)
- the shower/bathroom house is maintained, but should really be upgraded for hygienics and better privacy for changing and showering.
- the campsites contained no grass, no pads, just dirt and no privacy
- the campground caters to "ATV's (Quads)"
- the quad operators all obeyed the speed limits and rules
- the campers mostly obeyed the rules and did not disturb others
- however, the loud partying noise from a neighbouring campsite was unbearable (till 4:00 am)
- the party animals had no concern about respecting any rules w/ noise and alcohol
- when requesting the partiers to quiet down in the middle of the night, I was told to go tell Rick (This tells me they didn't have any concerns with when breaking the rules (quiet policy)). I don't mind campers staying up all night quietly drinking & talking, but this was an all out party !
- when explaining to Rick the noise and behavior concerns from the night before, he indicated he is very tired after a 16 hour day and there is nothing he can do. Obviously, no one is walking through the campground making sure the campground is reasonably quiet.
- I later find out the noisy campers are avid ATV'ers and return yearly to the campground

To summerize, this is an "ok" campground, but the negative encounter we had with noise from partyers and the trains, really have turned us off from ever returning. We feel almost misled from the discriptions on their website. I would definately look at somewhere else to camp, you couldn't do any worse.

Poky & Gumby

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    15
    15
    17
See reviews for
48
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Would be a place to camp again. It is rustic and a little raw on the edges with a few amenities but that is what wilderness camping is all about. The scenery is breath-taking.The road is a little rough and dusty but if person takes their time, it is only a few minutes to the resort. A small price to pay for a remote get-away. Don't hear no highway noise while camping. There was a few logging trucks that pass by. There is a train that passes every hour or so that blows the horn because of the crossing. We understand that is the route the train needs to take in the Beautiful BC mountains. All part of BC's economy. Once again a small price to pay for a remote get-away.The owner was very pleasant and accommodating. He made every effort to put us as close to the cabins as possible[which our friends were staying in] for the most part of our stay. On a negative note, the shower stalls need to be upgraded to plastic for easier cleaning and better hygienics. Also, better privacy for changing and showering. Do not like the overhead shower heads. All in all, would return for some R&R.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just stopped by to check it out for a possible destination next year, but the amount of dust is unbearable. No grass, no pads, just dirt and no privacy. For such a beautiful lake there is no swim area. Worth passing by. Ps- I can see that there are a lot of rules.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernonite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beavermouth hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's down a loggin road a ways... No biggie but its not what you want your class A or super fifth wheel going down. The owner is a bit of a goof and has a chip on his shoulder. There's not much else around for camping so you don't have much choice but if you can wait an hour a d co to he to head west there's another campsite that seems family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Golden cabin from July 21-27, 2013. It has an excellent view. The cabin was clean and cozy. Rick made sure our friends were close to us (straight across in a huge camp site). We loved the whole place. Rick makes sure that all guests are treated excellent. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We love this place and will be sure to visit it again.
I read one negative comment and I believe we were there the same time. It is hard to please everyone but Kinbasket staff does an excellent job trying. Thanks Rick for an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: We found the Golden cabin to be the best but all the cabins (and I viewed them all) had each their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

DONT BOOK THE CABINS

If you want to stay one night or bring your camper then it might be an option but those cabins are so little!!!

We didint even have a table inside. What are we supposed to do if it rains?!? Eat on the floor inside?

An other point:
Its dirty. We had to clean food pieces out of forks and knifes and wash all the tables

Nothing was ready when we came
we had to prepare all our beds on our own

And what would you do if they welcome you drunk. Bad first impression

Over all its not a place to stay at the cabins !
Maybe if you there one night or with your camper

Over all just not a nice place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanco1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinbasketlakeresort, Owner at Kinbasket Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
As for the size of our lakefront cabins, they average 16' X 16' and include all amenities except the shower with customers returning year after year. The only time they get "small" is when you try to pack more people into a cabin than it was designed for. At our price of about $110.00 before tax I wouldn't think one would expect the Taj Mahal.

The new tables and chairs for the cabins arrived this week as every couple of years they need replacing - even so each cabin did have a coffee table so that our clients could sit at the futon and have a table, and not have to eat on the floor

As for cleanliness, If this was the case, and judging by other postings it is not the norm, we'd hope to have been provided the opportunity to rectify any issues but unfortunately it sounds as though we were not.

Bedding? As we advertise on the website, for the $10 rental of good quality linens, duvet, pillows, towels and washcloths, it is "bed in a bag"

Very tired perhaps after 16 hour days but never drunk, as it would be challenging to grow a business from 0 to 10,000 camper nights in that condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were there for from June 28th- July 4th. We stayed in campsite no. 39, which is across the road, but is more private, which was nice for us. It had power and running water at our site. We really enjoyed our stay there. It is absolutely gorgeous. The mountain and lake view is amazing. We hiked around the lake. We were there before the water rose too much, but it was rising daily. So we could hike under the bridge, but the next day, the trail was under water. The beach was different each day, as the water rising changed how it looked. Because the levels were low, it was a bit of a walk down to the lake, but we didn't mind at all, and one day we took our truck down to the boat launch area and relaxed there; however, the next day, where we had parked the day before was covered in water. The lake is super cold, but on a hot day like +33, a quick dip feels great. Rick is amazing and very welcoming. He is a great host/owner. They have a book swap, which is great too. The playground is terrific and always in the shade! My kids biked around a lot and had a lot of fun. We enjoyed seeing all the different birds and rabbits nearby. I would definitely recommend this resort. We drove all the way from Prince George to go there and enjoyed it a lot. The resort is very pet friendly, which I loved. There was also a huge bonfire to celebrate Canada Day. I do love the quiet policy, where it is quiet and calm after like 9pm or something - not counting the noise from the train the train which you hear as it goes by, and as it hoots its' horn several times. But trains and their horns do bother me, if anything, I find the train part charming. I did get woken up by it, but fell back to sleep easily. But if that bothers you, bring ear plugs, as the echo in the mountains is much louder than most places. It is definitely family friendly here.

Room Tip: I liked campsite no. 3, as you get a beautiful view of the lake but are not too close to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beavermouth
23.2 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
23.0 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#5 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbasket Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbasket Lake Resort

Property: Kinbasket Lake Resort
Address: 1 Columbia West Forest Service Road, Beavermouth, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Beavermouth
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beavermouth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbasket Lake Resort sits alone on a 240 kilometer long lake in the BC mountains. It consists of 6 self contained cabins, 45 serviced campsites, 8 unserviced campsites, boat launch, docking, and seasonal beach. Hot showers, flush toilets and sinks are available to all guests. It is a semi-rustic location meaning you are not glamping and you are not roughing it, and a great many of our customers refer to it as "paradise". Our clientele is mature adults and families and of the 3,500+ camp nights we host each season a great many are returning customers. A number of those were just bumps in mom's tummy the first year, I've seen them every year since, and now they are teens. And then there are some you will read from that have a different idea of camping than we do or different expectations and will never again be a customer. C'est la vie! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinbasket Lake Hotel Beavermouth
Kinbasket Lake Resort Beavermouth, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing