We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beavermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinbasket Lake Resort
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
“Great campground”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just returned from a weeklong camping vacation with another family at Kinbasket Lake Resort. The location is beautiful, we had great sites side by side overlooking the valley with power and water. We knew there was no sewer so used the toilets there so as not to have to move our trailer, which worked fine. The wash house was always clean and stocked with plenty of hot water and flush toilets. The kids had a blast riding bikes and playing at the park and we never worried about traffic because it was so quiet. The lake was low and not great for swimming yet, but Rick directed us to a beautiful sandy location further along the road which we really enjoyed. There were no Mosquitos! It was amazing to site out all day and night and not get eaten alive! There are trains continually, but I slept through all of them, so it didn't bother me! ;-). All the staff were great, Rick was awesome. He made sure we were enjoying ourselves and was very friendly. The guys soaked up the hockey stories! It is rustic, down a dirt road, in the forest, but that's how we prefer to camp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seenit75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    15
    15
    17
See reviews for
49
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hi guys, i just came from Kinbasket Lake resort awhile ago we stayed there for 1 night and 2 days. so let me tell about my experiences:

Amenities: they have very clean washrooms for boys and girls, always with toilet papers and hot and cold water its not far from the camping area that we have. we stayed in number 17 and 18 together with our friends. they also have a playground and a beautiful lake (even if its not yet full of water) since its only first week of june. i bet it will be perfect after couple of weeks. the places are clean and very quiet and most of all you have the privacy and cozy feeling even your away from home.

People: The owner is true they cater "mature campers" in such a way that people who come in this place know how to respect rules and we didnt encounter party animals in the campsite. very quiet, relaxing. the lady who welcomed us is very nice and accomodating including Rick the owner who helped cut the firewoods for our fire. If people in every camp site are like them everybody would always enjoy.

We drove all the way from calgary for 4 hours we didnt feel being tired inspite of the rainy weather because its all worth it once you reach the kinbasket paradise!

They also have electricity for charging cellphones and other things as well as water faucets within your own camping site so its very convenient even for first time campers like us. We even have a 16 month old baby with us, we dont need to worry since the place is mosquito free

ill post some pictures soon! and I would like to personally recommend this place to anybody and we would definitely go back soon..

happy trip! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enyale_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this resort for the May long weekend. Rick was very kind & accommodating. It is evident that he loves this place! Our beautiful campsite overlooked the river valley. We spent many hours enjoying the view from our camping chairs. We are looking forward to returning to the resort when the lake fills in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

In 2012 July we've had an opportunity to spend 1week at Kinbasket lake resort . It was absolutely awesome. Everything was just perfect ! And guess what? We were lucky to book and get a campsite at this amazing campground in coming August 2013 for two weeks!!!! Looking forward for relaxing holiday . We do deserve a little piece of paradise. ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at Kinbasket several times and have always enjoyed ourselves. Yes it's slightly rustic but that is part of it's charm. If you want ultramodern go stay in some of the campground in the Okanagon where some sites are so close to each other that you can't open your awning without intruding into the site next door. Rick is a great host and great person all around. Yes they have rules that must be followed, pretty standard stuff that you find at all campgrounds. For those who question Ricks people skills, I suggest you look at your own. We have stayed as a couple and as part of a large group and have always had a great time. The prices are fair and the service is great! Kudos Rick ( the hockey stories are a bonus, Where else can you meet a humble 5 time Stanley cup winner?) Those complaining about trains need a lesson in history and railroading, the tracks follow lakes, rivers and valleys all over the world and particularily in the mountains!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Surroundings were beautiful but the owner is a micro manager like the other review stated and if you are unlucky to camp close to where he sits on his deck, he will bother you. We are a quiet family with one small child, very respectful campers. The owner was on an ego trip, we felt harrassed and could not relax at all. Would never go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PassionforTravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beavermouth hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

** Dont listen to the 1 star reviews. If you cannot enjoy this place you will not be happy anywhere. Maybe stay in a hotel.
Every year we camp we are very careful to pick a campsite that will have some privacy, safety and views. We drove from calgary to Revelstoke and stayed in a hotel that night then the next day to shuswap/Salmon Arm and being disappointed with the camping we found there and further west had fire bans, we drove back to Golden and stayed in another hotel to regroup and find a campsite. The room was rough in Golden and was $189 a night. My wife found Kinbasket lake resort on the computer and the description sounded fantastic and just what we wanted. We drove there the next day which was only about 30 mins west and were very please with what we saw and decided to stay a week. We had no reservation but Rick found us spot 32 which was a private beautiful tent site over looking the river on top of a ridge. We loved the spot.(see pictures) Our other 3 days we switched over to a cabin, #1 as we got lucky and it was open. It was fantastic!! Big comfy bed in its own room, a futon couch that pulled down to a bed if needed, kitchen with everything you need, fridge, private washroom, Huge yard (cabin 1) and over looking the lake. It was only $115 a night. We wished we found this place a couple days earlier! Free shower house was perfect for a camp site shower house and like ANY public shower, be it the gym or out camping, bring a pair of flip flops you can get wet and wear them in shower. Duh. The out houses were not pit toilets they were flush toilets with lights in them. (nice touch and not stinky) I brought a bit of my own firewood but preferred the firewood they sold there. Very nice smelling and every night we would see a new animal (or alien) in the hot embers/wood. We started calling it the magical wood. I could write on and on, Just such a pleasant experience, I loved the trains and they brought up a lot of interesting conversations and goggling the history of the Canadian railroad. Rick was such a down to earth guy who I thought might have an ego being a 5 time stanley cup champion but let me get my picture taken with him and wear one of his rings. Did I return that? :-) Five times, are you serious!. Adam was great, helpful and single ladies (at time of this review) Dawn and Tim were a pleasure to be around and even borrowed me a cord I needed. (yes, I returned that) Thank you Lake Kinbasket Resort and we will be back!

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has the largest yard (huge) and can sleep the most people.(6) Loft for kids or adult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beavermouth
23.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
23.0 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
22.8 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
15.3 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 43 in Golden
62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#5 of 43 in Golden
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbasket Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbasket Lake Resort

Property: Kinbasket Lake Resort
Address: 1 Columbia West Forest Service Road, Beavermouth, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Beavermouth
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beavermouth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbasket Lake Resort sits alone on a 240 kilometer long lake in the BC mountains. It consists of 6 self contained cabins, 45 serviced campsites, 8 unserviced campsites, boat launch, docking, and seasonal beach. Hot showers, flush toilets and sinks are available to all guests. It is a semi-rustic location meaning you are not glamping and you are not roughing it, and a great many of our customers refer to it as "paradise". Our clientele is mature adults and families and of the 3,500+ camp nights we host each season a great many are returning customers. A number of those were just bumps in mom's tummy the first year, I've seen them every year since, and now they are teens. And then there are some you will read from that have a different idea of camping than we do or different expectations and will never again be a customer. C'est la vie! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinbasket Lake Hotel Beavermouth
Kinbasket Lake Resort Beavermouth, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing