We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely one of the best spas in Asia :D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Farm at San Benito
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Phils
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“definitely one of the best spas in Asia :D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you're looking for a quick getaway and serious relaxation, I suggest going to The Farm. We were here for an overnight stay only but I was very impressed especially with the Relaxation Massage that I got. The facilities are great and most of the staff are attentive to your needs. The place itself is also very conducive to those looking for peace and quiet with pools and a variety of places around the Farm landscaped precisely for this purpose.

Their food is strictly vegan and lactose-free which will appeal to most people serious with healthy-living in terms of taste and preparation.

Their Sulu Terrace is definitely not for the elderly and will best suit those that are physically able and active. You'd have to go downstairs to use the bathroom which is the only downside for me.

Overall, I'd suggest a trip here for those interested in finding a place where you could really getaway for peace, quiet, relaxation and more info on healthy living.

Great job to the staff and management of The Farm! :)

Room Tip: For the elderly, choose the Palmera Suites or other suites/villas. The Sulu Terrace is for people wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank platinumspg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    100
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
130
62
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Farm takes a few hours of adapting, especially if you have come from a stressful lifestyle, and suddenly find yourself relaxing in your villa overlooking the jungle with little to distract you other than amazing butterflies and birds.
I was staying in the most basic villa, which while simple, was charming and perfectly adequate for my 4 day stay. The yoga program was a great way to start the day, and overlooked the amazing grounds. Wandering around I came across a stunning waterfall pool set amongst the trees, and had this to myself throughout my stay.
Other activities varied, including power walking and cooking classes. The program was limited as I was visiting off season.
I found the food delicious and never felt hungry. And since I wasn't on a detox program per se, I was able to have a glass of organic wine with my evening meal.
The spa is amazing, with a wonderful array of treatments. The only downfall was that because parts of it were open mosquitoes were slightly problematic, and the outdoor bath treatments were not appealing in hot weather.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited for 6 days including a 4 day detox. We loved the ambiance, the service and the food (albeit not very much of it during the detox). The yoga in the morning was wonderful as were the various treatments from the Spa which, in summary, was excellent. I had the BEST Thai massage I've ever experienced anywhere ... it was outdoors by the pool in the evening under the stars. The food is amazingly inventive and incredible tasty considering its completely vegan. Both of us lost a few kilos during our visit .... and they didn't return! The hotel is a convenient and fast connection from Manilla Airport. Fans of Asian health retreats might find this one a little more rustic than some others and I would rate the spa highly but not the medical treatments, but all-in-all we had a wonderful time and returned to Singapore very relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tazmaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

To call this simply a "farm" is quite an understatement. My wife and I spent 3d/2n and wanted to stay longer - but our 3 little kids were waiting for us back home. This place is not simply a detox destination - we were simply on holiday and enjoyed every minute of it.

Let's start with accomodations -
we booked the Sulu Terrace room and were allowed to check-in early (like 10am). The stand-alone room (w/c resembles a house) is really nice and comfy - our unit (#10) seems to be newly renovated with a newer triangular roof compared to the one posted on the site (reminds me of a darth vader helmet). But be mindful though that the bathroom is downstairs - you really have to go down and out of the room to get there (definitely not for senior citizens). We were content with the room but then around 3pm it started to rain and i was worried about the stairs getting slippery so i requested the front desk if we can be upgraded to the Palmera Suite if no one was using it. Since we checked-in on my birthday, they granted my request and gave me a cake as well! More on the food later...
The Palmera Suite (#1) is likewise nice. Every suite is connected to another suite (1&2, 3&4, etc) so there is less privacy compared to the Sulu since you have a connected "neighbor". Honestly my wife and i like the Sulu better (so much more character) were it not for the bathroom debacle.

Now the food:
I'm a carnivore at heart and i'm still at disbelief that during the 3day getaway I DID NOT MISS MEAT AT ALL. We were blown away by the food - it's really no surprise that the ALIVE! resto has won so many awards. Not simply for creativity but with taste as well. It's a real eye-opener for me and a lifestyle change now doesn't seem so far-fetched. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it. Most of the food is served Raw (heated below 40 degrees Centigrade) but some entrees are cooked (like pesto). But really, go with the daily specials. You can get carbonara anywhere - but Coconut Pad Thai? It's a memorable treat. Oh, don't forget their insanely good tea as well. (in the morning, you can order a refill of the tea/coffee since it's part of your breakfast)

The activities:
Whenever my wife and I go "alone," our 1st question we always ask ourselves is "can we bring the kids next time?" Sadly the answer (FOR NOW) seems to be No. Kids are generally not allowed on the North Side of the Farm (this is the Spa and detox areas) and the South Side currently has a outdoor pool which is unheated. I've requested a peek at The Anahaw Family Villas, and in my opiion these are really meant for bigger kids (teens perhaps) since the beds in the 1st floor are apart from each other, and the stairs leading to the loft are quite tricky to navigate. Aside from that, just to get to these units, you need to go down several steps which can also lead to accidents for kiddies. On a lighter side, i've been told though that they are about to expand - plans are on the way to build more villas with their own pools (hopefully heated!). TO BE FAIR, the Farm has never represented itself to be kid-friendly - the main market are really adults needing detox, healing, and some alone time. And be assured, they will deliver on all of them.

Activities abound - yoga and meditation, flower arrangement, power walking, etc - note though that not all listed in the site are offered everyday. We noticed that yoga instructors do 2 day shifts on different time slots - so we got Anusara yoga and my wife loved it. Since we only stayed 2 nights, we were not able to try other styles of yoga. Not a deal breaker though. Their gym equipment's looks fairly new and functional.

The Staff:
From the reception, down to the waiters, to the housekeeping, and even the sweepers/gardeners - ALL are just courteous, attentive, and efficient. Special mention to Reagan, Pie, Rose, Tony, Leslie, Ofelia, Mark - and all the nameless ones out there. Thanks for the superb A1 topnotch service. To the manager, you also deserve credit for having a great staff. Take care of them!

Overall, we would definitely go back in a heartbeat. Start the expansion so we can bring the kids!

Room Tip: The Palmera Rooms (1-8) are very near the Amphitheater where most yoga classes are done. They are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erikalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have been a regular for a few years and love the place. The resort is peaceful and well set up. The vegan food is excellent. In the last 2 years the management of Michael and Jenniffer brought also the service level up to 5star standard still maintaining the great personal touch of all staff. Also the rooms have been renovated and are lovely.
I will be back and can fully recommend the resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

actually i have visit the farm at san benito, lipa, several times, the first time in 2008. it's where i feel so welcome!
in a really breathtaking environment you will recover from stress, illness and/or overweight, with the assistance of a excellent staff, in a outstanding atmosphere. the farm offers you a superb detox program in combination with all kind of very enjoyable massages, exercise and meditation. also the medical staff is highly professional.
the kitchen - where they prepare only raw food, is 100 % slow food oriented. maybe it sounds unbelievable but this kitchen/restaurant is of a very high standard and can challenge at least a two star michelin restaurant.
after a period at farm of at least a week you feel rejuvenated, energized and (more) healthy ... don't pass by, go there, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: if you can afford it ... you should choose a garden villa ... very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank covanderhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We loved our stay here. We got a 3d/2n deal for 10.5k for a Sulu Terrace but to our surprise, we got upgraded to the Palmera Suite upon arrival!

Enjoy the sounds of gecko's at night but also watch out for lizards in the rooms. Of course you can always have these unwanted visitors relocated. The Sulu Terrace had its toilets outside of the room and this is one one thing to avoid if you took in a lot of tea and biscuits.

Upon entering the room, we found a newsletter, personalized with my name, showing you the itinerary for the following day as well as discounts that you can avail. (massage treatments go down by 20%). We booked our massage in advance but we had the same discount with the promo we got.

Its best to plan out your activities for the next day and make time for the free yoga sessions to complete the experience. I never thought of doing yoga in my life but the ambiance and the great instructors are really helpful not just for first timers but also the older people.

The food was top notch. Although some of my friends were complaining about being hungry after, me and my companion were very happy with their offerings. Its not theusual healthy fare, and we loved how the food was a memorable experience in itself. Just be prepared to shell out for their set menus, although everytng is worth it!

The massage was great and worth every penny! It is one of the best massages, better than The Spa. We loved the couples room with its glass windows where you can see the night sky and the trees. We dont recommend the massage under the stars, it seems over priced for a massage by the poolside.

We'll definitely go back, although I doubt there would be a similar deal in the future. If you want a relaxing getaway and wants to try out the healthy lifestyle, a visit here is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whatsupricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa City
39.5 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
26.4 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
#4 of 7 in Lipa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
21.5 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
17.0 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at San Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at San Benito

Property: The Farm at San Benito
Address: 119 Barangay Tipakan, Lipa City, Luzon 4217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lipa City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at San Benito 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the Philippines’ Batangas hinterland, The Farm is likened to health nirvana. Choose between pool, garden or jungle-style accommodation before sampling our fresh, award-winning gourmet menu.Practice sunrise/sunset salutations at our lakeside amphitheatre or hit our well-equipped ‘jungle gym’. Our specialists administer complementary and integrative medical therapy within a serene environment and first-class facilities.We don’t do boot camps or subscribe to deprivation. Retreat to The Farm for nourishment and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Farm at San Benito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm At San Benito Hotel Lipa City
Farm At San Benito Batangas
The Farm At San Benito Lipa City, Batangas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing