We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to stay in France.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Impasse du Temple
Ranked #1 of 3 Leran B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was my second visit after 5 years and as there were 3 of us, we stayed in the Ecurie or converted stables which was pretty much self contained. It was also located next to the garden near the pool which was perfect as the weather was hot for most of the week we stayed. The Ecurie was perfect: immaculately clean, charming decor with comfortable furniture and well equipped kitchen. The first night of my stay I was on my own so I organised to have dinner at the table d'hote. It's funny but when you have had a wonderful first experience, you always hope it will be the same or better - this was even better than I remembered! Great food, company and wine. John and Lee-anne did a great job looking after us and Lee-anne is a fabulous cook! We drove all over the local area and just had a great holiday. Can't wait to go back and take my husband with me this time. Thanks for a wonderful stay, John and Lee-anne!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiaffeMoorooduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Once again we luxuriated in the relaxing ambience of L'Impasse du Temple created by John and LeeAnne enjoying, what we assume, is John's 'typical' Austrailian hospitality.
Lee Annes evening meals are superb and of high quality. The rooms are large and typically French with magnificant views of the Pyrenees Mountains. The garden is a haven of peace and tranquility with the new installation of a swimming pool. The village of Leran is ideally situated and an easy drive to Lac Montbell, the Pyrenees Mountains, Cathar history and the 'old world' village of Mirepoix. We drove down over a couple of days from Calais but Toulouse and Carcassone Airports are only a couple of hours drive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjbask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I chose this place because it seemed to offer a peaceful and tasteful escape from the relentless hassles of modern life. There was no TV or phone in the room (bliss!!!) and the restoration had been done with good judgement. All the necessary comforts were provided - plenty of properly brewed tea, big soft towels, nice comfy bed (wool blankets and proper cotton sheets), lovely big deep roll top bath and plenty of hot water to fill it up with, lovely tall windows looking out on peaceful corners. Everything was fresh and clean. I ate, among other delights, the best asparagus tart I ever had around a congenial table with good wine and our hosts even saved us the trouble of fetching our own cold beer while draped near the pool with our books. Nearby are delightful towns and villages, little pretty hills framed by big snow capped mountains and Leran itself is a gem. Leave your mobile at home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sturdyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

John and Lee-Ann Furness' L'Impasse du Temple was a lovely home-away-from-home from which we were able to visit the Pays des Cathares, enjoy a village mediaeval festival and share fine food and great company around a table with Lee-anne's Aussie take on traditional French cooking.
We arrived in the village of Leran in time for the Friday night market and the weekend of the fête mediaeval and were warned that parking would not be simple after 6pm. In fact, it is wise to avoid arriving too close to 6pm if you want to set your bags down in front of the B&B, or you risk being accosted by angry natives, serious about their festivities!

The front façade of the former Maison bourgoise in the village of Leran is quite deceptive - it gives little clue as to the generous proportions inside. The buffet breakfast and the evening meals were served in a large dining room just off the entry which is capable of seating 10 or more very comfortably.

We stayed in the enormous Lierre bedroom which overlooks the beautiful green garden which is next to a rather ordinary back lot. The youth of the area congregate here on summer nights so our sleep was a little disturbed by their noise, but they seemed pretty harmless.

The room itself was charmingly decorated with French antique furniture and floral materials and was easily big enough to fit the 4 of us comfortably, even with my tendency to overpack. The Furnesses will also take your laundry and return it to you very quickly for a small fee. Ironing is not their thing, but an iron is available to do it yourself.

A perfectly functional white bathroom (with a shower only) completed the room which also had a kettle to make a cup of tea, while you pore over the large folder full of extremely useful information about day-trips both in the area and a bit further afield. John was a wealth of information, advising us on our best route to Andorra (Europe's version of '80's Singapore without the cuisine and with the world's surliest people), day trips to beaches and beautiful local driving or walking circuits.

That is, if you can bear to leave the place, because the garden is just magnificent, the cool blue pool very inviting against the backdrop of the ruined tannery and down the road from the village is a beautiful lake where you can swim, go for a pony ride or sail a boat on a sunny day.
Between John's kind hospitality and Lee-anne's wonderful food, (and her kindly feeding the kids separately so the grown-ups could have an adult conversation at least once a day), we left both relaxed, spoiled and a little less homesick.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome and relaxed. Our room was spacious with traditional French decor and furniture, lovely big bathroom and bath. The table d'hote was fantastic! We ate 4 courses with good wine at a leisurely pace out in the courtyard on a lovely summer night, just perfect. The pool and garden is very private and tranquil, it's what i would call 'country style' garden not too formal and surrounded by the impressive old temple walls.

John and Lee-Anne have a wealth of knowledge about the local area which we explored to the max in a week. Stunning scenery and just a few mins away from Lac Montbel where we spent 2 days mountain biking and swimming. Also Carcassonne is close enough for a day out, worth seeing the old city and also an easy drive to the airport. There are so many places to see within an hour of Leran but you do need a car, parking is easy here. We stayed here because of a wedding in nearby Camon which was ideal.
Overall an excellent stay, would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of visiting this area and it's worth staying a bit to get to know this couple they really make you feel part of their home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caro333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My wife and I stuck a pin in the map and found Leran, and this B&B. Didn't we do well, this has been one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The owners, two friendly Australians, John and Lee-Anne are the most conciderate hosts, really helpful but never too intrusive. Breakfasts were excellant, plenty of choice and the best cup of tea in France. Dinner was even better, totaly unrushed and really good. Lee-Anne is a brilliant cook, and the wine list excellant. The house is perfectly restored, and very comfortable, the private garden and pool were smashing, especially when it got hot. To be in this area and not stay here would be a serious error. We arrived as strangers but I felt we left as friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leran
4.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Chalabre
65 reviews
18.6 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
187 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Relais de Mirepoix
Relais de Mirepoix
#1 of 6 in Mirepoix
22 reviews
8.5 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel le Castrum
Hotel le Castrum
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve-d'Olmes
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Impasse du Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Impasse du Temple

Address: Impasse du Temple, 09600 Leran, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Leran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Leran
Price Range: $95 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Impasse du Temple offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautifully restored maison de maitre (1850) in the lively village of Leran. Perfectly situated for visits to Cathar chateaux, walking, riding or driving through the Pyrenees, or just to discover this gem in a hidden corner of France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Impasse du Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing