We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway that never dissapoints”
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dionysos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumlubuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our third time at the hotel, although this time we only had a few days before moving on to two other exclusive escapes properties. The setting and views are fantastic, either up at the main hotel or down at the beach club, the accommodation great, the pool, the best we've been in in Turkey, and the food always good. The whole place engenders a great atmosphere with the staff and guests and we have had many had great days and evenings with people we'd not met before. Equally it's not a problem if you just want to chill out on your own with a partner. Yes there are steps, and as a confirmed exercise nut, the jogging is not the easiest (especially up the mountain), but believe me it's a small price to pay.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from an amazing week away at teh Dionysos. Booked through Exclusive Escapes, exceeded our expectations in every way, it is truly a unique location with amazing views. We didn't do a huge amount apart from relax by the infinity pool by day and enjoy great food in the evening. As mentioned by a fair few reviewers, you are a captive audience so food and drink is expensive. No more than you would expect from most 5 star resorts though.

A little disappointed by the Sea Club (we're not fans of beaches anyway) but we did feel that it wasn't quite at the same standard as the main hotel - needs a bit of investment to bring it up to scratch. No bother though as we relaxed by the pool most of the time.

Many thanks for a great week.

Room Tip: Make sure you book over the phone rather than online and they will make sure you get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom_G_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments re the sae Club have been duly noted and would like you to know that the Sea Club will be moving to a new location on Kumlubuk beach for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

2nd time here, lovely rooms, food, staff and ambience. Very calming and quiet, rooms furnished to a high standard - A/C failed, and they replaced the whole unit for a new one same day. Spa excellent - all food cooked on the premises. Only downside is that with the exception of the beach club you are restricted in where you can go unless you rent a car or venture out on the local buses.

Room Tip: Rooms further back are much higher, have better views, but the steps can be a killer in 42C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that guests find Dionysos a peaceful and tranquil place to unwind and relax. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

June 2012 was my fourth visit to The Dionysos Estate and it impressed as always. My favourite things are:
-The views are so good as to be soul-reviving, sea and mountain views, beautiful infinity pool (always immaculately clean).

-The service is absolutely first class - nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff to help you with. The owner himself is often around and will happily answer any questions and is always there to thank people for coming and say goodbye at the end of the stay.

-The food - whether at the on-site restaurant or their sea-club restaurant on the shore is fantastic. I'd also recommend booking for their "Nar" restauarant which happens one day a week and is a tasting menu (it was 9 courses when i went this year, but it has varied year to year)

-Rooms. We have always stayed in a cottage suite, and they are beautiful - although we never actually use the kitchen area it's nice to have the extra room. They are cleaned everyday.

If you stay for a week, you could happily while away your time at the pool, or at their sea-club (20-30 min downhill walk but they run shuttle buses often), in the spa, by the bar etc - or if you were staying 2 weeks there are things to do such as see the Bodrum penninusla or the nearby small town of Turunc, canyoning etc etc.

The worst things i can say is that the beds are a little hard (for my taste) - but really such a small niggle.

I just cant say enough good things about it - feel free to message me if you have any questions, otherwise i say - just book it!

Room Tip: Make sure to check the "property map" before choosing your room as the top rooms are 183 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luba0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you at Dionysos again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a one bed villa and it was furnished to a high standard.
The infinity pool has great views across the bay and the bar is a good place to have a beer and cool down.
It's more expensive to eat and drink than in the local restaurants as you would expect, but it lacks the choice of restaurants in the local town of Turunc.
The hotel does provide a free minibus to Turunc, but the times set do not give you ultimate control of when you go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glennjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a great week here. The hotel is superb, lovely rooms, great food, fabulous pool and outstanding service. The beach is not great but it's potential has been maximised. The best thing is the peace and relaxation, but if you want distractions those are available too. Thoroughly recommend a week here, but two weeks might be too much.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms with the best views also have a lot of steps, ours was 180 from the main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennystrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We certainly would recommend that guests staying 14 days hire a car and explore the Bozburun peninsula. There are some beautiful villages and bays to visit and it would only enhance your Turkey experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A great place to relax. The Dionysos is a collection of buildings (rooms and cottages, 2 restaurants, outdoor bar, pool, spa/gym, tennis court, yoga 'deck') in an elevated position on an escarpment overlooking the sea. Consequently, the views and landscaped gardens are beautiful. From the warm welcome from the owners, to the food and varied optional activities (tennis, Marmaris shopping/lunch trip, Gentleman's Boat, Sea Club, farm lunch/dinner, live music, shuttle buses to the nearest village), there is very little we could find fault with.

The only niggle was that we weren't able to adjust our air conditioning to a lower temperature than that set by the hotel, and our bedding was far too warm. This meant that we could have slept better, especially given that the beds were comfortable and the bed linen was high quality.

We met some lovely people and this really enhanced our stay. My friend (who has stayed here many times) said 'if you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere'! So true, but don't expect to be bored as there are other things to do other than lie around the pool.

Room Tip: The site is in an elevated position so there are lots of steps. When booking, mention mobility as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treetopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diomanagement, Manager at Dionysos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're happy to hear that you found the hotel so relaxing and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumlubuk
2 mi away
Loryma Resort
Loryma Resort
#1 of 17 in Turunc
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Turunc Resort
Turunc Resort
#6 of 17 in Turunc
828 reviews
11.4 mi away
D Maris Bay
D Maris Bay
#1 of 1 in Hisaronu Bay
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#7 of 17 in Turunc
157 reviews
9.3 mi away
Selimhan Hotel
Selimhan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Selimiye
67 reviews
10.1 mi away
Loca Boutique Hotel
Loca Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Selimiye
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Address: Alic Mevkii, Kumlubuk 48740, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Kumlubuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumlubuk
Price Range: $193 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dionysos Hotel Kumlubuk
Dionysos Hotel Kumlubuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing